We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double/double for 3 nights MidWeek-Spring Break”
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raffaello Hotel
Ranked #101 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Ne Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Double/double for 3 nights MidWeek-Spring Break”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Can't beat the location, easy access to transit (CTA), walking distance to lots of restaurants, and good value. Assigned a lovely corner room on the twelfth floor. Two windows faced the Hancock Bldg and one faced an adjacent building (nice light). Very spacious for two adults and two teenage girls. Beds were comfortable. Elevators were fine ... occasionally a brief wait ... never an issue for us. Mornings were busy, so we just took the stairs down after letting two full (elevator) cars stop and proceed from our floor. Checked out the roof deck just steps from the top floor bar. Caught a couple glimpses of boats on the lake. BONUS! Had no bug sightings of any kind as a previous reviewer stated. Everything seemed as clean as we would expect in a hotel that gets nearly constant use by a wide variety of people. We also never heard any sounds other than an occasional siren on the street. The room was quite warm at first, but we eventually got it regulated. Front desk allowed us to check in about an hour early. Overall ... a very nice 3 night stay. Will definitely consider staying here again. The location is unbeatable!

Room Tip: Room 1202 was a corner room with three windows. Two double beds very comfortable for two adults and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoupNazi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Front Office Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
On behalf of the entire hotel, we are humbled and pleased to hear of such an amazing experience you had while staying with us. Your stay represents exactly what we all work so hard here for, a memorable guest experience. We look forward to your next stay with us so we may continue to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    778
    285
    135
    95
See reviews for
532
731
106
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have always stayed at large chain and luxury hotels, but after staying here I am now a huge fan of boutique hotels. It's a great location only about a block away from the Water Tower mall. The lobby is wonderfully decorated and cozy. I liked the doughnuts and coffee from the doughnut bar in the lobby, but I do wish there was a little more selection breakfast wise. The elevators being so small did get annoying when I had to wait longer for an elevator because the one I tried to get on was full with only four people. The valet is EXCELLENT. Always open the doors for you, are very polite, and helpful with getting a cab. Although I was with family, the hotel had a romantic feel. Each floor only has about 20 rooms and you feel secluded which was nice. I never heard noise from outside on the streets or any other room. I stayed on floor 16 and the view was of another apartment complex backed up to this which was somewhat disappointing because when I stay in the city I like to have a view. The room was very clean and spacious. It got quite warm at night, but it wasn't a huge problem. ALSO, we arrived about 3 hours early and the staff waved the early check-in fee and also let us check-out an early late which was VERY helpful and appreiated. Overall, I would definitely stay here again. Wonderful pick that you wont regret!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyM492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We were very pleased with the location and appearence of this hotel. Very conveinent, bed was comfy too. The day of our departure as we were getting ready for the day I discovered two different kinds of bugs! I believe they were roaches. One was a light brown color on the carpet the other was dark brown or black in the bathroom. I am completely disappointed and outraged. Four star???! I will never stay here again. I hope there are no bugs in my bags!

Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sean F, Front Office Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
First I would like to say thank you for taking the time to reflect on your stay. It sounds that you did indeed enjoy your stay up until the disturbance on your departure day. I sincerely apologize for that experience. I also want to assure you that is not at all, a typical experience for our guests while staying here. We take pride in our attention to detail and cleanliness we provide for our guests. We hope that you do consider staying with us again so that we have the opportunity to show you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The hotel was an excellent choice for being close to everything and the room was perfect. We stayed on the 15th floor and never heard a sound from anyone else. Clean, comfy, and very good service. I love to walk so this was a great spot. It is not close to the train really, but cabs are easy.
The view from the roof was a nice feature too. I would stay there again when in Chicago!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boatchick9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.louis
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Room was nice,clean,very spacious.Doughnuts in lobby "Glazed &Infused" shop were awesome!Only minor issues were ones that have been stated over and over....slow,small elevator,hot rooms(we turned the heater in room completely off the entire weekend and it was 25degrees outside).Staff was friendly and helpful.Perfect location!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckypSt_louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Raffaello Hotel is the perfect location for a weekend getaway. It is in the heart of the city and it is surrounded by restaurants and nightlife. It was a one block walk to the Rosebud steakhouse and two blocks from Rush Street. We received a free room upgrade upon checkin and the room was clean and well laid out. The staff is friendly. You can get a great cup of coffee and a donut in the little corner shop in teh lobby. There is convenient across the street parking with in and out privileges for only $31.00.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Overall more relaxed than nearby luxury chains. Rooms vary from closet sized to expansive, all well appointed and up to date. Service is a little spotty. Overall, I'd probably choose to stay here and avoid the hubbub of the nearby luxury chains.

Older building,but rooms are all updated. Clean & excellent location, 1 block East of Westin, 2 blocks from Drake, 1 block from Ritz. Rooms have a microwave & mini bar with granite top; refrigerator. Drake wins the elegant lobby prize. Marriott or Hilton win service prize. Raffaello wins Shower competition. Rain type with handheld and plenty of hot water (did I say plenty). Rooms vary in size from smallest king I've ever seen- (I think it is mainly an add on to make a 2 bed suite) to extremely spacious. Beds linens and pillows up to par with Westin dream bed, but mattresses are only adequate, standard hotel fare. Elevators are small, so be good friends or introduce yourself if more than 3 in the elevator, but wait is less than in the Westin.
Heating was barely adequate, thermostat didn't seem to make any difference in room temp. Windows do open for fresh air (when it's warm enough)
Internet is 9.95/day, wired or wireless.
Desk chairs look good, but are too short to be able to work comfortably at the desk.
Service was polite but spotty. Compared to Marriott / Westin-- Staff does not answer phone with your name. >50% of time was put on hold by front desk. Several times during my stay, no answer at the front desk.
Good donut shop for cappuccino and fresh donuts off the lobby, other than that, breakfast is room service. Restaurant looks nice, but did not try. Lots of great restaurants & shopping only 1-2 blocks away. Drum Bar is quiet, nice view, would be a good place for a relaxed drink & be able to talk with the wife or friends, not a singles scene.
Gym is standard hotel type with a few cardio machines, some dumb bells and a small multi station gym. Massage can be scheduled.
Heating and spotty service were only reasons I did not give 5 stars, but overall, I'd still probably choose to stay here over the nearby luxury chains next visit.

Room Tip: Be sure you know what room you are getting. The 07 seems to be the closet add on for an 05 room num...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WVdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#76 of 190 in Chicago
1,557 reviews
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 190 in Chicago
2,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffaello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffaello Hotel

Property: Raffaello Hotel
Address: 201 E Delaware Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#62 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Family Hotel in Chicago
#70 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Raffaello Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago’s only completely non-smoking 4-star boutique luxury hotel has the best location of any 4-star hotel, just steps away from Michigan Avenue in the heart of the Gold Coast. The famed Magnificent Mile, is just steps from Raffaello Hotel’s front door, as is shopping, theater, nightlife, restaurants, clubs, Navy Pier, Hancock Observatory, museums, zoos, and beaches. Amenities include breakfast room service, massage treatments, manicure and pedicure by Windy City Massage, concierge services, 24-hour business center, PC computer kiosks, 24-hour fitness center, valet parking, valet laundry, mini-bars, microwaves, rain forest showerheads, flat screen LCD TV’s, DVD players, in room safes, luxurious bathrobes, all cotton terry bath towels, 350 thread count sheets overlaying goose down duvets. 18th floor meetings and convention center. Every guest room is non-smoking as are the public areas validating our claim to being Chicago’s only completely non-smoking luxury boutique 4 star hotel, just off Michigan Avenue, the Magnificent Mile. Our newest addition, Drumbar, sits atop the 18th floor. Drumbar is a multi seasonal destination with a speakeasy style inside lounge and outdoor garden terrace. Designed as a drinking establishment to deliver warmth, style, and an energetic spirit of old meets new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raffaello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffaello Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing