We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value through Trip Advisor!”
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raffaello Hotel
Ranked #102 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
“Great value through Trip Advisor!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Hotel has great location for those who want to be on the Mag Mile. Booked through Tripadvisor/Booking.com. Great value. Room was spacious 440 sq.ft for a double bed room; bathroom-spacious and very good condition and quality fixtures, including a vanity for the ladies. Stayed twice in one week, 17th floor double bed room and 4th floor King Deluxe Suite. Mattress on Sofa bed in the King Deluxe was tortureous even for our 20 year old pettite daughter. But Suite was spacious estimate 650 sq.ft. Otherwise, everything was good at the Raffaello. . Bellman Diego is a great welcoming host. For the rate i got through Tripadvisor..you can't beat it!

Helpful?
Thank Jaime S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

2,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    859
    773
    281
    134
    94
See reviews for
528
725
106
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I booked the Raffaello Hotel for a week at the beginning of March 2013 after reading reviews about its brilliant location and good value. However I was disappointed. I began to have concerns prior to our trip. I was travelling separate to my companions and so tried to contact the hotel via email to alert them to this fact. My two emails went unanswered. I tried calling on several occasions but they too went unanswered. I then tried their Twitter and Facebook accounts, but sadly received no response there either. When I did finally get through on the phone I felt rushed and was unable to fully explain the situation.

The location is brilliant; right next to the John Hancock Centre (where Signature Room is located) and a minutes walk to Bloomingdales and Macy's. However, our stay was let down by poor customer service. Despite knowing that 3 people were staying in the suite there were never enough mugs or glasses; we had to request extra every evening and one member of staff made it quite clear that she was unhappy about having to bring extra to our room; so very disappointing. The hairdryer supplied in the room kept tripping the electrics (despite us trying several different power outlets). On top of this, the heating would not work; the maintenance man even told us it probably wouldn't be much better if he took a look at it, giving us the general impression that he was just not interested.

Most of these things seem trivial, however I do not enjoy having to contact housekeeping or the front desk on a daily basis. This was made worse by the fact that we were offered no apologies, and were made to feel that it was our fault.

I read all the other reviews and wonder if we just timed it wrong and the staff were having a bad week. It is a shame as the hotel could be brilliant, given it's excellent location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy_JayP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvette V, Public Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent visit. Perhaps you will give us another opportunity in the not too distant future. I do apologize that you had to go through many channels of communication to contact us and not get a timely response. The service you described above is not acceptable and not a typical experience for our guests. We have shared your comments with our management and staff as a tool for training. I do hope you try us again so we can show you how we stand out among other hotels in Chicago.

Please do not hesitate to contact our Operations Manager, Sharonjoy Edgecombe regarding a future visit so we can redeem ourselves.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Here's what you get: a lovely suite in a European-style hotel in Chicago's ritzy downtown for less than you'd pay for a roadside motel in many places. Here's what you don't get: a restaurant that serves breakfast or the ability to adjust room temperature without opening a window. (And the in-room internet didn't work for me either.) Can anyone be heard to complain at these prices? I think not. The Raffaello is truly a gem, and the delicious Glazed and Infused donuts sold in the lobby are delicious, if cloyingly sweet. This is a great place to stay when in Chicago.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickynotsnooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvette V, Public Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Raffaello Hotel. We appreciate your wonderful compliments of our decor and location. Pelago Ristorante is open for lunch and dinner only but during your next stay, please keep in mind that we do have room service for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I do apologize for the inconvenience of not having internet and having room temperature problems. This is definitely something our Engineering team could have assisted you with. We are available at anytime to make your stay comfortable.

I am glad that you had a great stay despite this setback, and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Raffaello is our go-to hotel when in the Windy City. Its style and elegance has old-school charm while it as all the technology a business traveler will need. We love the high-end neighborhood and the short walking distance to hundreds of upscale boutiques and dining options.
Raffaello staff is exceptionally attentive and its restaurant Pelago, is a European culinary showcase. The DrumBar rooftop bar is beautifully designed and attracts a fashionable clientele that adds its own style to the mix. Very worthwhile.

5 (FIVE) stars. Period.

Room Tip: Rooms numbered "XX05 or X05" depending on floor level are I believe the Grand Executive Su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvette V, Public Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback about our luxurious 4 star Hotel located near the Mag Mile. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and referred us as your go-to hotel in Chicago! Not only are we steps away from shopping and dining but do not forget about the lakefront which is wonderful to visit during the Spring and Summer. Pelago Ristorante and DrumBar are indeed great additions to the Hotel. We have also added SpaBar to enjoy massages and more and Glazed and Infused doughnut shop. A full service hotel!

We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagersville, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

An Excellent Hotel. Very Friendly staff and updated rooms. I had a great sleep, with very little traffic noise. A 2 Minute walk to the Magnificent Mile. With a Donut Shop Glazed Infusion on site. With Donuts very big and tasty. Worth staying here every visit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geminiguyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow upon Humber, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Visited Chicago for the 1st time 2-8 March and this hotel was perfectly placed for shopping, tourist information and the hop on/off tours. The room was clean, the king bed comfortable but the sofa bed was atrocious - we had to request a mattress topper; it has to have been the most frustrating hotel stay ever encountered; 3 of us shared a suite and every single day bar one i had to call housekeeping for items that had been missed or not replenished. On the last occasion items were brought to our room still lacking the correct amount, the staff member returned with the last item and a bad attitude! Electricity continually tripped and the room was cold until we requested someone look at the heating system. No one seemed to care that our room was not being serviced correctly despite mentioning it at the front desk. The door guy was lovely though! It is a lovely hotel just let down by incompetent staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueBloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was in Chicago for a conference and stayed at Raffaello with a colleague ( we shared a double room). While the amenities are simple, but clean, the service is perhaps one of the most incompetent- in every possible way. This can make your stay at Raffaello a frustrating affair.
I do not recommend Raffaello to business travellers, but it may be acceptable to someone looking for a budget accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanja O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#75 of 190 in Chicago
1,539 reviews
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#104 of 190 in Chicago
1,647 reviews
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffaello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffaello Hotel

Property: Raffaello Hotel
Address: 201 E Delaware Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#61 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Family Hotel in Chicago
#70 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Raffaello Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago’s only completely non-smoking 4-star boutique luxury hotel has the best location of any 4-star hotel, just steps away from Michigan Avenue in the heart of the Gold Coast. The famed Magnificent Mile, is just steps from Raffaello Hotel’s front door, as is shopping, theater, nightlife, restaurants, clubs, Navy Pier, Hancock Observatory, museums, zoos, and beaches. Amenities include breakfast room service, massage treatments, manicure and pedicure by Windy City Massage, concierge services, 24-hour business center, PC computer kiosks, 24-hour fitness center, valet parking, valet laundry, mini-bars, microwaves, rain forest showerheads, flat screen LCD TV’s, DVD players, in room safes, luxurious bathrobes, all cotton terry bath towels, 350 thread count sheets overlaying goose down duvets. 18th floor meetings and convention center. Every guest room is non-smoking as are the public areas validating our claim to being Chicago’s only completely non-smoking luxury boutique 4 star hotel, just off Michigan Avenue, the Magnificent Mile. Our newest addition, Drumbar, sits atop the 18th floor. Drumbar is a multi seasonal destination with a speakeasy style inside lounge and outdoor garden terrace. Designed as a drinking establishment to deliver warmth, style, and an energetic spirit of old meets new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raffaello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffaello Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing