We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going down hill.”
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Raffaello Hotel
Ranked #100 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Going down hill.”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Raffaello a couple of years ago and it was a very nice hotel at that time, however, not so much any more. The room was clean and the staff was always friendly but it really needs some updates. We had a suite and it just felt run down. Paint chipping off of the baseboards, outlet not working for the coffee pot, bathroom grout chipping and stained.

We stayed two nights and we didn't get any coffee the second day and the mini bar fridge that I raided didn't get replenished either. The location is great and the price was right ($120/nt) so that made up for the shortcomings. I would stay again if they made some effort to keep it updated, but there is no shortage of hotels to choose from in this same area. Overall it was still a nice weekend getaway and we weren't really in the hotel that much anyway.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwing01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    779
    285
    135
    95
See reviews for
533
731
106
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I travelled to Raffaello in January, 2013. The accomodations were OK. Staff were not overly helpful. After I returned and got my credit card statment, the hotel had charged my for items from the mini-bar, which I had NOT purchased. I had to make 2 phone calls to finally talk to someone about this. They promised a return call but never did call back. Email would have been preferable, but there is no email contact on their website. Since I did not hear back, I called my CC company to dispute the charge, only to find out they HAD credited the amount. It would have been nice if they could have notified me. Again, not impressed at all with the service at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Great, centrally located hotel with the friendliest staff I have ever encountered!! Cute little donut shop in front lobby was a bonus! Spacious suite was great for a girls weekend in the city. Parking was a grear deal, too.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristenp113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our 1st visit to Raffaello in Aug 2012. Wonderful stay. 2nd visit in Jan.2013 very poor. Room not cleaned, No towels, No coffee, no glassware, Lumpy uncomfortable bed, Staff was bland and not attentive even though we were returning customers. Forget using the hotel umbrellas, they are all broken and ripped. (Not that it ever rain/snows in January in Chicago) Plenty of other choices in the same price range and convenience of location. I would recommend looking elsewhere for a more enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The rooms are incredibly hot and unable to regulate heat other than opening windows which didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nonni1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

The Raffaello Hotel was perfect for our family. We stayed 1 night so we could go to American Girl Doll the next day. The hotel is a block from Michigan Ave and all the shopping. We had a King Suite which was spacious and clean. I would recommend the hotel to anyone who is looking at shopping on Michigan Ave. we would have liked to check out the rooftop bar but since it is Feb in Chicago we did not get a chance.

One drawback was the lobby and lower level was very small

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmodaff52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunn, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Raffaello Hotel is perfectly located just behind the Hancock tower right off of Michigan Avenue. It's PERFECT for walking the Magnificent Mile as well as finding the greatest restaurants. (Now when we go to Chicago, we forget the rental car and take a taxi from the airport and then WALK from our hotel to our desired destinations.)
The Raffaello is very clean, up-dated, and first class. It definitely has become our 'hotel of choice' when in Chicago. The hotel staff are excellent, as well. Raffaello is a great little find at a great price in the winter months!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel was not bad. Friendly staffs with clean room. It has great location to access Michigan Avenue, the hotel building just right behind the John Hancock. But one thing i should mention, their elevators are very tinyyyy!!! only fit in 3 people with two small luggages. and their AC in the hotel room is not really working. Even thought we had turned it to the coolest. but still dont feel any cool air. Beside of these, everything is fine at Raffaello Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mieah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#76 of 190 in Chicago
1,557 reviews
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 190 in Chicago
2,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffaello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffaello Hotel

Property: Raffaello Hotel
Address: 201 E Delaware Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#61 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Family Hotel in Chicago
#70 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Raffaello Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago’s only completely non-smoking 4-star boutique luxury hotel has the best location of any 4-star hotel, just steps away from Michigan Avenue in the heart of the Gold Coast. The famed Magnificent Mile, is just steps from Raffaello Hotel’s front door, as is shopping, theater, nightlife, restaurants, clubs, Navy Pier, Hancock Observatory, museums, zoos, and beaches. Amenities include breakfast room service, massage treatments, manicure and pedicure by Windy City Massage, concierge services, 24-hour business center, PC computer kiosks, 24-hour fitness center, valet parking, valet laundry, mini-bars, microwaves, rain forest showerheads, flat screen LCD TV’s, DVD players, in room safes, luxurious bathrobes, all cotton terry bath towels, 350 thread count sheets overlaying goose down duvets. 18th floor meetings and convention center. Every guest room is non-smoking as are the public areas validating our claim to being Chicago’s only completely non-smoking luxury boutique 4 star hotel, just off Michigan Avenue, the Magnificent Mile. Our newest addition, Drumbar, sits atop the 18th floor. Drumbar is a multi seasonal destination with a speakeasy style inside lounge and outdoor garden terrace. Designed as a drinking establishment to deliver warmth, style, and an energetic spirit of old meets new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raffaello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffaello Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing