We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect girls weekend!”
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Raffaello Hotel
Ranked #108 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Great, centrally located hotel with the friendliest staff I have ever encountered!! Cute little donut shop in front lobby was a bonus! Spacious suite was great for a girls weekend in the city. Parking was a grear deal, too.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kristenp113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,460 - 1,466 of 2,225 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our 1st visit to Raffaello in Aug 2012. Wonderful stay. 2nd visit in Jan.2013 very poor. Room not cleaned, No towels, No coffee, no glassware, Lumpy uncomfortable bed, Staff was bland and not attentive even though we were returning customers. Forget using the hotel umbrellas, they are all broken and ripped. (Not that it ever rain/snows in January in Chicago) Plenty of other choices in the same price range and convenience of location. I would recommend looking elsewhere for a more enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The rooms are incredibly hot and unable to regulate heat other than opening windows which didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nonni1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

The Raffaello Hotel was perfect for our family. We stayed 1 night so we could go to American Girl Doll the next day. The hotel is a block from Michigan Ave and all the shopping. We had a King Suite which was spacious and clean. I would recommend the hotel to anyone who is looking at shopping on Michigan Ave. we would have liked to check out the rooftop bar but since it is Feb in Chicago we did not get a chance.

One drawback was the lobby and lower level was very small

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmodaff52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Raffaello Hotel is perfectly located just behind the Hancock tower right off of Michigan Avenue. It's PERFECT for walking the Magnificent Mile as well as finding the greatest restaurants. (Now when we go to Chicago, we forget the rental car and take a taxi from the airport and then WALK from our hotel to our desired destinations.)
The Raffaello is very clean, up-dated, and first class. It definitely has become our 'hotel of choice' when in Chicago. The hotel staff are excellent, as well. Raffaello is a great little find at a great price in the winter months!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel was not bad. Friendly staffs with clean room. It has great location to access Michigan Avenue, the hotel building just right behind the John Hancock. But one thing i should mention, their elevators are very tinyyyy!!! only fit in 3 people with two small luggages. and their AC in the hotel room is not really working. Even thought we had turned it to the coolest. but still dont feel any cool air. Beside of these, everything is fine at Raffaello Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mieah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I love the decor and cosy feel of the hotel lobby, and the location is perfect. Minutes from Water Tower and Michigan Ave. The staff are friendly and we found a great hotel price online so it was good value for money.

The rooms were nicely decorated in a traditional 'hotel style' and there was a small kitchenette with microwave and fridge which is great. My problems would be the bathroom, it definitely needs to be re-done. It looks like they tried to give it a very cheap face lift and it is falling apart slightly. Bad tiling, and shelf falling off the wall so you cannot put any toiletries on it as it all falls down.

The internet connection in the room is also terrible. I paid for internet and then was unable to access it. When I asked about this, the the maintenance guy suggested I stand by the door to get a better signal - thats not really practical when trying to work. They do however offer free wifi in the lobby. So for the remainder of my stay I went down to the lobby.

I would recommend the hotel should you need a short stay for tourist purposes as it is a lovely little hotel, well priced in a great location. The bathroom and lobby internet is manageable. For a longer stay I do not think it would be so practical.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamLovesSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Right behind the Hancock building and a 2 minute walk to the Magnificant Mile, perfect location. Staff friendly, these are hotel rooms as well as privately owned apartments, so I am not sure if all rooms are the same decor wise. The decor was nice, modern, the shower is stupid, no enclosure so water gets everywhere (european design) there was a makeup mirror/vanity area, but the lighting was poor, so it was hard to see while getting ready. The fridge was useful. The bed was HORRIFIC! They really need to get new matresses and new pillows. The pillows were so high that my neck was completely strained and I needed to visit a chiro the next day (put a cramp in our plans) The matress was similar to a water bed where you could feel every little thing, if my husband got up to use the bathroom, I almost fell out of the bed it was bad. Gym was good enough to get the job done (I am am avid health nut though so may be enough for a regular workout). Otherwise, the room was clean, room service was quick and friendly. There is an awesome place to eat breakfast/lunch & snacks right on the corner of Delaware & Michigan ave, 2 min walking, called L'Appetito. Really great sandwiches and cookies! Overall, I would recommend this place if you have a great back...mine wouldn't be able to take those beds again, so I personally would have to find another place...but perfect location!

Room Tip: Not sure if all rooms are the same as they are privately owned condos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank briannareviews702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
#123 of 191 in Chicago
954 reviews
Gold Coast
Ambassador Chicago
Ambassador Chicago
#101 of 191 in Chicago
1,706 reviews
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#78 of 191 in Chicago
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffaello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffaello Hotel

Address: 201 E Delaware Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1713
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Chicago
#60 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#66 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#70 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $90 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Raffaello Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago’s only completely non-smoking 4-star boutique luxury hotel has the best location of any 4-star hotel, just steps away from Michigan Avenue in the heart of the Gold Coast. The famed Magnificent Mile, is just steps from Raffaello Hotel’s front door, as is shopping, theater, nightlife, restaurants, clubs, Navy Pier, Hancock Observatory, museums, zoos, and beaches. Amenities include breakfast room service, massage treatments, manicure and pedicure by Windy City Massage, concierge services, 24-hour business center, PC computer kiosks, 24-hour fitness center, valet parking, valet laundry, mini-bars, microwaves, rain forest showerheads, flat screen LCD TV’s, DVD players, in room safes, luxurious bathrobes, all cotton terry bath towels, 350 thread count sheets overlaying goose down duvets. 18th floor meetings and convention center. Every guest room is non-smoking as are the public areas validating our claim to being Chicago’s only completely non-smoking luxury boutique 4 star hotel, just off Michigan Avenue, the Magnificent Mile. Our newest addition, Drumbar, sits atop the 18th floor. Drumbar is a multi seasonal destination with a speakeasy style inside lounge and outdoor garden terrace. Designed as a drinking establishment to deliver warmth, style, and an energetic spirit of old meets new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Raffaello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffaello Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing