We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could stay longer”
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Hyatt Chicago
Ranked #22 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 3, 2010

I had plans to surprise the hubby to go see his favorite band in downtown Chicago and decided a hotel stay was a must too (we live 40mins outside Chicago). I LOVED this hotel! I loved the style, the service and the views of this hotel. I highly recommend it, we would stay again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luv09life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,495 - 1,501 of 1,775 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2010

We won a free night in the Park Hyatt Chicago, so we decided to make it a family trip since it was right in the heart of Michigan Ave. We had a room overlooking the original water tower and Michigan Ave. Lots of things for the kids to look out at. The hotel wasn't exactly kid friendly, but they do try hard with DVDs to "rent" and video game systems to use. The pool was very modern and small, but we tried it for about an hour. We didn't eat in the hotel, rather we ate at a Lettuce Entertain You restaurant in the lower levels of Water Tower Place. Great time exploring hotel and area!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrwyKdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

this hotel is good and has a good location, we had good time and the breakfast is really good and complete, the place look very clean

Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
Thank haydee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We've been staying at this gem of a hotel for the past 10 years and just keep on coming back for more....The Park Hyatt Chicago is a classic, like a Cartier watch or a Mercedes, understated, yet elegant, timeless, yet powerful, small, yet stunning in all details. Rooms with Water Tower views are a must and we never get tired of sitting by the windows and gazing out…to the tower, the lake, the bustling intersection below, the signs & lights of the surrounding buildings. It's meditative and addictve all at once. And then...THE BATHTUBS….I think we would choose this hotel just for their luxurious bathtubs! Add the phenomenal food from Nomi's with their world class wine & champagne selection (Nomi delivers to your room, even if it’s just one glass of Champagne!), the amazingly comfortable beds & linens that would flatter any emperor, the enticing bath products from Master parfumeur Blaise Mautin....and you got heaven on earth. Can’t wait to return!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guavamoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkchicago, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2010

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Park Hyatt Chicago. Our bathtubs do have a lot of raving fans. I'm glad that you were able to enjoy one of them. I look forward to welcoming you back real soon.

Mahalo,
Paul E. Cardona
Executive Assistant Manager - Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

The Park Hyatt could not be located any better. It is in the perfect spot for sightseeing, nightlife, etc. The pool and restaurants are amazing. The rooftop bar should not be missed, assuming the weather is cooperative. The rooms are beautiful and spacious, with a gorgeous bathroom setup.

Unfortunately, not all is well with this hotel. I would guess that this hotel does not receive many 20-something customers. For the caliber of the hotel and the value of the Park Hyatt name, I thought the service was seriously sub par. It might have been because I was younger, but I was continually looked down upon when I was entering the hotel. The 50 year old couples were catered too exclusively, while I was left to open doors for myself.

My expectations depend on the price and caliber of the hotel. If this had been the Sheraton Chicago Towers, the service would have been on point. But, Chicago has numerous 5 star options. The Peninsula, Ritz Carlton/Four Seasons, Trump, and even Omni are all comparable properties and consistently show strong customer service skills.

I recommend this hotel for those that fit into their target demographic. For those of us that work hard and like to splurge during our youth, there might be better options.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkchicago, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2010

On behalf of the Park Hyatt Chicago please accept my sincere apologies. The details you have provided are very important to me and I am disappointed that our team was unable to deliver the experience that I know were capable of providing.

I have taken the time to meet with the entire service team to share your feedback and to reiterate the expectations of delivering our service standards consistently. I have implemented a mandatory training and development plan for our entire front of house associates so that future incidents of this nature do not occur again.

Sincerely,
Paul E. Cardona
Executive Assistant Manager - Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Stayed the night for our wedding anniversary getaway. The service was perfect, the rooms are modern yet luxurious, and the restaurant NoMI was an experience of art.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AveryWatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkchicago, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2010

Thank you for allowing the Park Hyatt Chicago to be apart of your special day. I look forward to welcoming you back real soon.

My very best,
Paul E. Cardona
Executive Assistant Manager - Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Can't go wrong here...a great experience! Staff was very kind...beautifully appointed rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fsusports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#4 of 191 in Chicago
1,608 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Streeterville
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
#28 of 191 in Chicago
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#13 of 191 in Chicago
2,469 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 191 in Chicago
2,666 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#10 of 191 in Chicago
2,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611-2105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chicago
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#5 Family Hotel in Chicago
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#9 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $297 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing