We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Special Place for a Priceless Trip”
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Hyatt Chicago
Ranked #9 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
“A Special Place for a Priceless Trip”
Reviewed November 11, 2005

I took my 10 year old daughter and my 72 year old mother to Chicago for an American Girl weekend. The Park Hyatt was chic, very comfortable and extremely friendly. I forgot my toothbrush and they brought one up to me along with mouthwash and toothpaste on a silver platter. They were great and their staff is included in my wonderful memory of a very special trip.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,208
    249
    68
    19
    10
See reviews for
276
510
85
480
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2005

What can I say? I've stayed here many times and have never been disappointed. Beds are the most comfortable I've ever slept in. Staff is always knowledgeable and courteous. Location can't be beat. Price is a bit high but you get what you pay for. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank c5kirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, KS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2005

Just returned from a two-day seminar at the Parky Hyatt in Chicago. Excellent hotel, service, food, room, everything! Would stay there again in a new-york minute, even though it's pricy.

Helpful?
6 Thank travelingksgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 9, 2005

After reading all the reviews on Trip Advisor, decided to stay at the Park Hyatt. I think I must have been staying in a different hotel than the rest of you. Room was small and plain with no large screen TV, not that I came to watch TV but that's what was advertised. I had to call housekeeping up to clean the door to the toilet closet, and I don't like toilet closets. They are okay when I go to Europe, I expect that, but don't like them personally. The bed was comfortable and lots of pillows. Positive also that they use duvet covers that get changed everyday rather than bedspreads. Absolutely dread bedspreads, pull them down off the bed, minute I come in the room. They are full of germs.
So all in all for the money, wasn't that great and wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2005

We really loved this hotel. It felt cozy and intimate and subdued. Not bold and flashy. The concierge was very help to my husband and get an anniversary present shipped to the hotel without my knowledge. The staff was very friendly, upbeat and warm.

The rooms were very nice and just our style. Our views from our window were wonderful of the Lake and the Watertower and the John Hancock building. We were on the 13th floor in a Grand Deluxe king room over looking Michigan Avenue.

The location couldn't have been better. We had drinks at the Signature Room Lounge in the John Hancock Buidling to watch the sunset (nothing as beautiful as the Florida Sunsets we have here).

And the food, service and VIEWS from the NOMI Restaurant were great. I don't know why the restaurant doesn't get better press. It's very romantic and breakfast was gorgious sitting at the windows looking at the lake.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank FloridaGirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2005

Overall this hotel is in a great location but is not worth the high price. We got a decent price using our AAA card including breakfast. They charged us $10 per person to have the breakfast delivered to our room instead of eating in the restaraunt and the food was so-so, rather cold. Our room had a nice view b/c they gave us an upgraded room on accident but it was a connecting room which we specifically asked on check-in to not have. Once they realized, they called up and asked if we wanted to move but we were settled at that point. The shelf in our room was falling off the wall but otherwise the room was in good condition. My biggest complaint is that I (who have blond hair) found a few long black hairs in my brush after housekeeping had been in our room-GROSS!
We've stayed at the Four Seasons up the street and would recommend them over the Hyatt. We have also stayed at the regular Hyatt across the river after getting a room through a bid site and that was worth the $39/night but not their standard rates. The place was a zoo but the staff was great. They ended up putting us in a Club level room b/c there were no other rooms when we checked in and while the room was nice, I shudder to think of the cost vs benefit of that room. We could hear the guy in the next room talking on his phone and what he was watching on tv.

Helpful?
10 Thank noagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
1,681 reviews
271 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 677 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2005

This hotel is truly amazing. First off, the location is probably the best in the city. Just blocks from the lake and within close proximity to the best shopping, restaurants, and recreation.

The staff is wonderful (the only complaint was the concierge seemed a little snooty) and attentive. The rooms are amazin. Wonderful tubs and great (although a little small) showers. The best part of our room was the window weat. A deep seat in front of the large window where both my wife and I could sit for hours and read or watch the city go by.

The work out facility is easily the best in the city (at a hotel). There is a LCD tv at every machine, cold towels to relax, a wonderful lap pool and spa amenities everywhere (robes, slippers, etc).

We wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank lucycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 188 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#12 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
Streeterville
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Property: Park Hyatt Chicago
Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611-2105
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Chicago
#2 Business Hotel in Chicago
#4 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#5 Family Hotel in Chicago
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing