We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the Park Hyatt”
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Hyatt Chicago
Ranked #19 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 8, 2005

We really loved this hotel. It felt cozy and intimate and subdued. Not bold and flashy. The concierge was very help to my husband and get an anniversary present shipped to the hotel without my knowledge. The staff was very friendly, upbeat and warm.

The rooms were very nice and just our style. Our views from our window were wonderful of the Lake and the Watertower and the John Hancock building. We were on the 13th floor in a Grand Deluxe king room over looking Michigan Avenue.

The location couldn't have been better. We had drinks at the Signature Room Lounge in the John Hancock Buidling to watch the sunset (nothing as beautiful as the Florida Sunsets we have here).

And the food, service and VIEWS from the NOMI Restaurant were great. I don't know why the restaurant doesn't get better press. It's very romantic and breakfast was gorgious sitting at the windows looking at the lake.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank FloridaGirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,764)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,648 - 1,654 of 1,764 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2005

Overall this hotel is in a great location but is not worth the high price. We got a decent price using our AAA card including breakfast. They charged us $10 per person to have the breakfast delivered to our room instead of eating in the restaraunt and the food was so-so, rather cold. Our room had a nice view b/c they gave us an upgraded room on accident but it was a connecting room which we specifically asked on check-in to not have. Once they realized, they called up and asked if we wanted to move but we were settled at that point. The shelf in our room was falling off the wall but otherwise the room was in good condition. My biggest complaint is that I (who have blond hair) found a few long black hairs in my brush after housekeeping had been in our room-GROSS!
We've stayed at the Four Seasons up the street and would recommend them over the Hyatt. We have also stayed at the regular Hyatt across the river after getting a room through a bid site and that was worth the $39/night but not their standard rates. The place was a zoo but the staff was great. They ended up putting us in a Club level room b/c there were no other rooms when we checked in and while the room was nice, I shudder to think of the cost vs benefit of that room. We could hear the guy in the next room talking on his phone and what he was watching on tv.

10  Thank noagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2005

This hotel is truly amazing. First off, the location is probably the best in the city. Just blocks from the lake and within close proximity to the best shopping, restaurants, and recreation.

The staff is wonderful (the only complaint was the concierge seemed a little snooty) and attentive. The rooms are amazin. Wonderful tubs and great (although a little small) showers. The best part of our room was the window weat. A deep seat in front of the large window where both my wife and I could sit for hours and read or watch the city go by.

The work out facility is easily the best in the city (at a hotel). There is a LCD tv at every machine, cold towels to relax, a wonderful lap pool and spa amenities everywhere (robes, slippers, etc).

We wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank lucycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2005

my husband and i just returned from a weekend trip in chicago (aug.18-21). we decided to stay at the park hyatt mainly based on reviews from ta and i'm glad we did. the hotel location is great. we were directly across the street from the water tower, one block from neimans and saks and for you american girl lovers you are directly across from the front door. being a mother of two boys i don't understand the american girl phenomenom but families were lined up down the block prior to the store opening so get there early.

honestly, i thought the room would be a little bigger but due to the long hallway and foyer i guess it is larger than a standard hotel room. we had a beautiful view of michigan ave. and the lake, the window seat and eames chair are a great touch. the bathroom is great (except we couldn't figure out the light switches, way to many). loved the davies gate bath products.

the staff is very generous. we had continental bkfst. included with our stay or you can apply the cost to bkfst. of your choice. my husband is a southern man so it has to be a full bkfst. the next morning to our surprise the staff gave us 3 more certificates under our door. it was very very thoughtful.

we loved the conceriege on staff both nights they were very accomodating worked to get us dinner res. at the time we suggested without any questions.

but most of all we loved the driver ramon. my husband attended a conference at the marriot down the street and he was there each morning happy to take my husband so he didn't have to catch a cab. he also was available to transport us to dinner both nights. he was very charming and enjoyable.

i highly suggest this hotel you can't go wrong.

p.s. the bed is fabulous!

11  Thank ncw4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2005

Perfect Place. Rooms are perfect. Very Hip! Super clean and ultra-modern. Super comfortable bed. Kids are allowed in the indoor pool (but its a lap pool) and they are allowed in the whirlpool.
Compared to the Four Seasons - rooms are smaller at the Park Hyatt, but updated to the max!
You wont go wrong with the Park Hyatt.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank droller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2005

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank INeedFlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2005

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Criticaltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
1,583 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 192 in Chicago
2,601 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#11 of 192 in Chicago
2,450 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611-2105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chicago
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#5 Family Hotel in Chicago
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#9 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $243 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelPower, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing