We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Hyatt Chicago
Ranked #6 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Awesome Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed here while I traveled on business July 2014. The property is amazing. Staff completely awesome and accomodating. We decided to updrage rooms after seeing our first room with no view of the water with a simple call downstairs. So, we upgraded for $40/night for a view of the Lake. Our room looked directly over the water tower and onto the lake. It had a wonderful view of Michigan Avenue. The room had a bench seat at the large picture window which was perfect for people-watching or just stretching out on.

The room was quite large, nicely appointed as you might expect. Pocket doors open up to allow you to open the wall between the jacuzzi tub and the sleeping area which allows you to look out the picture window or watch TV while in the tub. The bathroom also had a seperate TV over the vanity area. Besides the jacuzzi tub, there was a seperate shower with multiple shower heads, and two lavoratory sinks. A small fridge in a 'bar area' was also nice. We unloaded it of the beverages so we'd have room for our 'doggie bags'...some of the area deep dish pizza makes for great late-night snacks! Housekeeping brings ice to your room during the turn down service. The room was always impeccably made after morning made service as well. Given the price you pay, I would expect it would be Five Star. Bathrobes, slippers, safe, etc., everything you would expect in a high-end hotel. And the location, it's the best! Maybe two blocks or so away from the 'L'---the Red Line 'Chicago' Station, and Holy Name Catholic Cathedral a few steps away too. Of course, Michigan Avenue and the Water Tower right out the door.

If I had one thing to change, I would get more lighting in the lobby area. It just seemed kind of dark, but a trivial comment given the overall experience.

Room Tip: We upgraded for $20/night for a larger corner room which looked onto the Water Tower Square, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BryanBoerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,000
    218
    56
    16
    7
See reviews for
210
429
75
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed there 4 days. The location is great and the staff is very helpful and friendly. Special thanks to Karen the chief concierge for great advice and help. The hotel is very well soundproofed There was a family with young kids next door and we did not hear them at all through the walls. The bar on the terrace is also quite enjoyable.
Olivier & Veronique

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OlivierVeronique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

I could not decide if this was a high end 4 star or a low end 5 star. I chose the hotel based on location and a special rate available for elite customers. I would have been let down if we paid the full price. We had issues with the shower plumbing but the front desk said they would comp us some extra points. They have a coffee/refreshment area in the library at the lobby level but it was always in need of replenishment. We were loaned a nice umbrella during a rainstorm. The hotel is not conducive to sound sleep due to ambulance traffic and noise from the outdoor bar. The spa was nice and there is an indoor pool. I Would only stay again for a low rate or Hotwire. If you are looking for a true luxe 5 star place I can think of 3 within walking distance. Soap and amenities were average. The room freshness was a drab brown and black and was not my style. The house keepers were very kind and dashed in to clean the room as soon as we left. The basic room light switches also require an electrical engineer to operate efficiently. Sorry I wanted to love this place but in the end had an average experience. Request a room away from the elevators.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gwera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Very prime location. Nicely appointed rooms. Very comfortable. Am a repeat guest. The quality of the linens is excellent and there were plenty of towels and toiletries. Would recommend to any traveler.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Daria P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

GREAT location, modern sleek vibe, with gorgeous artwork everywhere you turn. This hotel is comfortable, chic, with great service. Did I mention location? Across from the old water tower, and the John Hancock building ( a must) with spectacular views of Lake Michigan. This hotel is right in the middle of everything! Great food, terrific shopping, beautiful city. Don't miss the dinner cruise, the navy pier, the Shedd Aquarium and if course Wrigley field. A quintessential American city. Just fabulous!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor, for a view of Lake Michigan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TvTeacher50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Just finished a fantastic stay at the Park Hyatt Chicago. The staff and service were excellent. The room was comfortable and beautifully furnished. The blackout drapes and comfortable beds are great for getting a good nights rest. Breakfast in the restaurant is delicious and, if you are in a hurry, served very quickly. I was seated and served in 10 minutes. I seldom give 5 star reviews to hotels but this property truly deserves a top rating.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Decided to celebrate our wedding anniversary at one of our favorite cities. We've stayed at the Pennisula before but decided to give the Park Hyatt a try. We were not disappointed! The staff was very courteous and knowledgeable and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. The room was great eventhough it was smaller than expected. The bathtub with views of the skyline cannot be beat. We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Some higher floors have lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike0steff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,656 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,217 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#2 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 2,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#7 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Property: Park Hyatt Chicago
Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chicago
#2 Green Hotel in Chicago
#4 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#5 Family Hotel in Chicago
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing