We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay on the Magnificent Mile”
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Hyatt Chicago
Ranked #17 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were here for our anniversary and it was one of the best hotel experiences of our life. Way above First Class. The location, the quality, the staff, and the food were exceptional. If you have the chance, stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank GolfingGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,725)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

985 - 991 of 1,725 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2014

Park Hyatt Chicago lived up to it's reputation as one of the city's finest hotels. The service was unmatched - helpful staff from the doorman to the maids. I travelled with a child, who at check in was greeted by name and given a Park Hyatt Backpack filled with goodies. Candy, binoculars, water bottle, playing cards - all made her feel like a guest of honor.

I could not think of a better room to come back to after a day filled with 12 hours of walking the town. The lobby has a side 'pantry', stocked with complimentary beverages (both bottled and freshly brewed) along with freshly cooked desert snacks. The beds were unmatched in quality, & the leather Eames chair was absolutely delightful. The bathroom toiletries & robes were of the highest quality.

Lastly, the location deep within the Magnificent Mile and right next to the Water Tower truly could not be beat. The location, amenities & service left a memorable impression on us, we can't wait to be back.

Room Tip: Water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

If you are looking for a quality business hotel in Chicago this is the place.
Location: behind the landmark Watertower on the Magnificent Mile in the heart of Chicago. Great restaurants and shopping just outside the door.
Rooms: Beautifully appointed, luxurious bed, great views of the city
Dining: good but there are many spots to explore around the hotel\
Lounge and Patio: excellent patio lounge, great serving staff especially Stephanie who was fantastic with a razor sharp wit. Worth drinking there just for the banter with her.
Gym and Pool: excellent especially the 3 lane lap pool which is a full 25 metres. Loved it.
Staff: Professional and courteous.
Great Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

The service in this hotel from the gentlemen at the door, reception and housekeeping was fabulous. There was a great capsule coffee machine in the room, free drinks and snacks including hot cider in reception which the children loved. We stayed just after Christmas and through New year and some touches like the complementary banana bread in the room were lovely. As the weather was cold and snowy the location was perfect close to many restaurants, a Starbucks for breakfast and always huge welcome when we returned. We LOVED this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay for a lake view upgrade if you can.. it was special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eco_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

There are few hotels capable of serving up the gracious elegance that embraces you like a home, inside the city. Park Hyatt, Chicago Water Tower shines in this aspect, with modern interiors, wonderful art, impeccable service and overall efficient design. We loved how the Park Hyatt felt like an extension of a great house, with amenities on par to settle you right in. An example would be the NoMi Kitchen, an open-concept restaurant to relax as you would at a weekend house. And the neighborhood! Walking across the street to Ralph Lauren for shopping and lunch was a bonus!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
1  Thank 440pamelag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed here for business in mid-July, 2014. Two nights.

I needed a place near a conference I was attending and while there are cheaper alternatives nearby, the Park Hyatt really delivered on all fronts. The room was beautiful, with a tremendous bathroom that had a unique sliding door pass-through which almost let you reach your bed from the large bathtub. I know it sounds odd, but it is really interesting, and if I were a bath person, would have been fun to try.

The bed was large and comfortable and had great controls over the window shades (one is a blackout shade, the other is sheer). The room was quiet and very spacious.

The workout center was fairly large for a hotel and was not crowded. Chilled towels, fruit-infused water and an attentive staff were highlights.

The location right near Michigan Ave was perfect and I was able to walk everywhere.

Last, the lobby follows recent trends of being "atmospheric" rather than focused on service, but I found all the people to be friendly and helpful -- from the front door, to the desk, to my smiling turn-down lady.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I proposed to my girlfriend at this hotel, and the staff helped me set everything up. The concierge helped me pick out restaurants, arranged flowers, and got me a car. Great service and wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#2 of 192 in Chicago
1,552 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,528 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#10 of 192 in Chicago
2,396 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611-2105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chicago
#3 Green Hotel in Chicago
#5 Family Hotel in Chicago
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#10 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $307 - $555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing