We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Shelf Hotel”
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Hyatt Chicago
Ranked #8 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Top Shelf Hotel”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

If you are looking for a quality business hotel in Chicago this is the place.
Location: behind the landmark Watertower on the Magnificent Mile in the heart of Chicago. Great restaurants and shopping just outside the door.
Rooms: Beautifully appointed, luxurious bed, great views of the city
Dining: good but there are many spots to explore around the hotel\
Lounge and Patio: excellent patio lounge, great serving staff especially Stephanie who was fantastic with a razor sharp wit. Worth drinking there just for the banter with her.
Gym and Pool: excellent especially the 3 lane lap pool which is a full 25 metres. Loved it.
Staff: Professional and courteous.
Great Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,219
    253
    69
    20
    10
See reviews for
279
517
87
484
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

The service in this hotel from the gentlemen at the door, reception and housekeeping was fabulous. There was a great capsule coffee machine in the room, free drinks and snacks including hot cider in reception which the children loved. We stayed just after Christmas and through New year and some touches like the complementary banana bread in the room were lovely. As the weather was cold and snowy the location was perfect close to many restaurants, a Starbucks for breakfast and always huge welcome when we returned. We LOVED this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay for a lake view upgrade if you can.. it was special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eco_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2014

There are few hotels capable of serving up the gracious elegance that embraces you like a home, inside the city. Park Hyatt, Chicago Water Tower shines in this aspect, with modern interiors, wonderful art, impeccable service and overall efficient design. We loved how the Park Hyatt felt like an extension of a great house, with amenities on par to settle you right in. An example would be the NoMi Kitchen, an open-concept restaurant to relax as you would at a weekend house. And the neighborhood! Walking across the street to Ralph Lauren for shopping and lunch was a bonus!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank 440pamelag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed here for business in mid-July, 2014. Two nights.

I needed a place near a conference I was attending and while there are cheaper alternatives nearby, the Park Hyatt really delivered on all fronts. The room was beautiful, with a tremendous bathroom that had a unique sliding door pass-through which almost let you reach your bed from the large bathtub. I know it sounds odd, but it is really interesting, and if I were a bath person, would have been fun to try.

The bed was large and comfortable and had great controls over the window shades (one is a blackout shade, the other is sheer). The room was quiet and very spacious.

The workout center was fairly large for a hotel and was not crowded. Chilled towels, fruit-infused water and an attentive staff were highlights.

The location right near Michigan Ave was perfect and I was able to walk everywhere.

Last, the lobby follows recent trends of being "atmospheric" rather than focused on service, but I found all the people to be friendly and helpful -- from the front door, to the desk, to my smiling turn-down lady.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I proposed to my girlfriend at this hotel, and the staff helped me set everything up. The concierge helped me pick out restaurants, arranged flowers, and got me a car. Great service and wonderful experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed at the Park Hyatt while attending a meeting in Chicago and was disappointed by the overall feel of the hotel. While the room was beautifully decorated and had a lovely view of Lake Michigan, the staff was cool, and not at all welcoming or helpful. The location is great for exploring Michigan Avenue - an easy walk to many fun parts of Chicago.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I will start with the good points (and there are many)
Hotel location is great being right in the heart of the Magnificent Mile close to all the shops and nightlife.
Hotel staff are every friendly and very helpful.
Restaurants/bars/lounge are very good and the food is of an excellent standard. The sushi in the lounge bar is very good and we had this both nights we were in Chicago.
Rooms are decorated in a modern style and are fitted out with classic designer furniture.
The bathrooms work well with a bigger than average soaking tub and separate glass enclosed shower. Bathroom toiletries are excellent with shampoo, soap, conditioner supplied by Le Tabu of New York.
Wifi is free and is very fast.
So what is the problem?
Well lots of hotels fall down when it comes to bedding or more particular the mattress. Unfortunately, it seems to happen to 5 star hotels just as much as it does to 3 and 4 star hotels.
Those of you who have read my review of the Park Hyatt Tokyo will know that the mattresses there are too hard whereas the mattress at the Park Hyatt Chicago is too soft. This is not an uncommon problem - I am writing this review from a Four Seasons hotel which has been equipped with the new Four Seasons Signature mattresses and guess what they are too soft.
The problem with a mattress that is too soft is that it does not offer the correct level of support for the spine when sleeping either on your back or side. Unfortunately, guests at hotels often confuse softness for comfort particularly as mattresses which are too soft are often equipped with a pillow top.
So overall this is an excellent hotel which would get 5 stars if the mattresses were up to the standard of the rest of the hotel

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the water tower on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scillyisles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 189 in Chicago
1,444 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
2,302 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#7 of 189 in Chicago
235 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 189 in Chicago
1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Property: Park Hyatt Chicago
Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611-2105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Chicago
#2 Business Hotel in Chicago
#4 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#5 Family Hotel in Chicago
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Prestigia, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing