We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good value”
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Hyatt Chicago
Ranked #8 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great location and good value”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

The Park Hyatt Chicago is well located for shopping and bars/restaurants on the Magnificent Mile and Oak St. Hotel check-in and check-out were efficient and the lobby has complimentary drinks (coffee / tea / water / soft drinks) which is convenient and thoughtful.

The rooms are large, clean and well appointed, although the layout of my corner room didn't feel luxurious. I was on the 9th floor, with a view of the backstreets and adjacent to audible roof top air conditioning units. The view and dull drone weren't pleasant but as I was on cheap corporate rates, I can't complain too much! For those who can, its probably worthwhile upgrading to rooms on higher floors with a view. The free wifi is available throughout the hotel, and very useful!

I went to the popular Nomi bar on the 7th floor and was impressed by the cocktails and bar food. I'll have to try a full meal next time.

Overall the Park Hyatt at Chicago was a pleasant experience, although it didn't deliver the 5 star luxury that I've come to expect from Park Hyatt's in Australasia.

Room Tip: Higher floors with views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,236
    259
    72
    21
    10
See reviews for
286
530
87
490
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2014

So views are at the top of my list of importance when choosing a hotel room. My room at the Park Hyatt faced directly in front of the iconic Water Tower with the Hancock building to my left and Lake Michigan in the distance. I never wanted to leave my room in the morning because there is a comfy window seat in front of the large windows showing off the best of Chicago's Magnificent Mile.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

What a fantastic surprise. I have stayed in many hotels in the Windy City. I checked out of the W on Lake Shore due to their construction noise and checked into the Park Hyatt. Staff was uber nice and professional, rooms tasteful and more than luxurious. Food at hotel could not be beat. I have already booked two more reservations and looking for excuses to go to Chicago to be pampered at this wonderful hotel. Great location but the staff could not be better!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Businessalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2014

What a great stay, from the doorman to the front desk to the spa and café personnel a true exceptional experience. I had an early check in and a late check out, no problem. Wish I had been on a higher floor, but failed to ask a the front desk, when leaving they said that would of been no problem.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank TravelDoc6901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Truly an excellent stay at the Park Hyatt. We did note that it was our anniversary so they went above and beyond (kudos to the concierge) to make us feel special. Building itself is very nice, rooms are very modern and cool, clean and all the amenities you could imagine. If we had to nitpik - the lighting in the room was not very ideal and I thought it was awkward that you had to walk past a very trendy eating spot to get to the spa/gym/pool. Although, must also say that Nomi in the hotel has EXCELLENT food - my husband was raving at the sushi. Great location as well.

Room Tip: I would imagine a room facing Michigan Ave would have a cool view - we were top floor but faced the...
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent, definitely noted they were environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jv0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2014

A superior boutique style hotel in an excellent location on Chicago's "Miracle Mile." A well managed hotel with an unpretentious staff that responds to guest requests in a truly caring and efficient manner. The outdoor Nomi Lounge is a perfect spot for a relaxing light meal, drinks, or afternoon tea. The rooms are spacious,pleasantly tranquil, and include both comfortable beds and a wonderful leather lounge chair. The bath features well-stocked luxury amenities and both a shower and large spa tub. In all, a superior hotel that meets the needs of the business traveler, as well as couples or families looking to spend a special night or two in one of America's greatest cities.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed there for a quick getaway. Service was impeccable and the food at the Nomi Kitchen was amazing. Rooms are very modern and up to date. The staff was extremely helpful and we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank bobbygniu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 190 in Chicago
1,468 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,347 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,806 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#9 of 190 in Chicago
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Property: Park Hyatt Chicago
Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611-2105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Chicago
#2 Business Hotel in Chicago
#5 Family Hotel in Chicago
#5 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing