We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Staff Makes the Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Hyatt Chicago
Ranked #7 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Trenton, New Jersey
1 review
“Superb Staff Makes the Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

There are a lot of excellent hotels in downtown Chicago. However, the customer service at the Park Hyatt makes this hotel exceptional. The hotel itself is very unassuming from the outside. But when you enter the hotel, you are inpressed. The staff could not do enough to accommodate me. The rooms are above average and the hotel restaurnat was fine. It is the excellent customer service which makes this hotel special.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,191
    244
    68
    19
    9
See reviews for
272
505
84
470
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

OK. How about a very helpful and friendly staff staff, a surprisingly good exercise facility for a hotel and an excellent bar with a killer view for a late night drink.

Located just off Michigan Ave. at the old waterworks, this is a terrific hotel. The staff are uniformly friendly and helpful, and the rooms are just great. The furnishings are modern in style and are really comfortable. East side rooms have a distant view of the harbor. There is a nice rooftop deck for outdoor relaxing
.
This will be our go-to hotel in Chicago.

Room Tip: For a distantg view of the harbor and a good place to watch the sunset, get an east side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drfunutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Park Hyatt Chicago and posting your feedback. I am delighted that you were able to take advantage of NoMI Lounge and our fitness facilities during your stay. I am happy that you found comfort in your room and our location convenient.
We hope for the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon!

Regards,
Peter Roth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Being welcomed by the staff, from the curb through the check-in, to a beautiful hotel in the heart of the Miracle Mile section of Chicago made our 3 day stay delightful. The concierge was extremely helpful with direction, restaurant suggestions and tour ideas. The rooms are luxurious, beautifully decorated an very comfortable. The pool is a pleasure for swimming or aqua-exercising. I highly recommend the Park Hyatt.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy4334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Nancy,
Thank you for posting your kind remarks about your experience at the Park Hyatt Chicago on Trip Advisor. I am very glad that you found our team polite and friendly, they are a tremendous staff and are appreciative of your compliments. I am very happy that you enjoyed the pool as well.
We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit!

Regards,
Peter Roth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great location and very nice staff. Room layout is great and when I asked the front desk for a coffee maker they brought one up.

I really enjoyed our stay but...my wife and I kept shaking our heads.

1. We were on the 12th floor overlooking the lake....you can hear every fire engine or police siren...drove us a little nuts and woke us up!

2. Request a coffee maker- unless you want to walk down to the lobby each morning...this is a little unreal...for what you will pay a coffee maker with good coffee is a given at a 4 star hotel.

3. We were "napping" during the days...but the house keeping would knock on our door at different times...ignoring the do not disturb sign..to ask for turn down service or fresh towels.

Would I go back? Sure....but request a much higher floor and make sure house keeping understood what the do not disturb sign means.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

The location is amazing. In the hearth of magnificent mile on Michigan Ave. with restaurants and shops all around. Within walking distance from Lake Michigan and Oak Street Beach Ask for upper level with east or northeast view. The view of magnificent mile and the lake is to remember for long time.

Room Tip: East view or north view is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mostafa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Park Hyatt Chicago and posting the review of your stay on Trip Advisor. I am so glad that you enjoyed our location and stunning views of Lake Michigan.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,
Peter Roth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Wife and I stayed at the Hyatt in July 2013. The hotel is wonderful with very helpful and polite staff. The tub is awesome. Kettle cookie was an insanely good room service treat. We would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 360markg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I arrived on a Sunday evening after a long day of traveling to find an impeccable level of service. From the doorman to the front desk personal, all were warm, welcoming, and professional.

Staying for four days for business I was usually out in the early morning. Prompt room service arrived to start the day with a smile from the delivery server brining in my two complimentary papers. After pouring my cup of coffee asked if I needed anything, reminded me of complimentary pressing and shoe shine. Coming home late in the afternoon a sparkling clean room with a fresh bucket of ice. Refreshed I would head to Nimo for a quick drink at the bar then off to a dinner meeting. Leaving again the doorman who cheerfully hailed a cab, was always inquiring if I need directions for shopping, restaurants, etc. always first class service!

Weather was iffy for time of year else I would have headed to the outdoor patio for. Late night drink. Location perfect for Michigan avenue shopping. Negatives- I wish they had a more expansive room service breakfast menu, boo-hoo. Priced under the peninsula and four seasons, this upper mid-priced hotel is where I would stay again for either business or for a romantic weekend trip.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank cohibatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Park Hyatt Chicago and sharing your wonderful review. I truly appreciate your kind comments about our staff. I am very glad that you that found them genuine and accommodating. We always strive for authentic hospitality.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to Chicago!

Sincerely,
Peter Roth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
Streeterville
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Property: Park Hyatt Chicago
Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611-2105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Chicago
#2 Business Hotel in Chicago
#3 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#5 Family Hotel in Chicago
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing