We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Hyatt Chicago
Ranked #7 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Iowa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Wow. This is a great hotel. It is so artistic and beautiful. We had an 11th floor King room for two nights, using Hyatt points.

Pros (well, some of them -- there are so many!): The room was gorgeous. There was no lake view, but our city view was lovely. The window seat was a nice touch. There were electric blinds and also black out blinds. The bathroom was amazing, with so many amenities and a two person jacuzzi tub for two, complete with bath salts and candles. It was a getaway without kids, so the romantic room was appreciated by my husband and me. The bath amenities were so nice. The staff were warm, friendly and helpful. The restaurant, NoMi (named for North Michigan) was beautiful with huge windows looking over the city and lake. We had a wonderful lunch (salmon for me and sushi for my husband) that was to die for. We later had an equally impressive breakfast, and even got to shake the hand of a serious, big time celebrity two tables down from us. The afternoon lemonade and iced tea was greatly appreciated as the temperatures soared to 100 degrees. The hotel is wonderfully located on the Magnificent Mile, walking distance to the river, the lake, the beach, Navy Pier, House of Blues, the Hancock Center, and scores of restaurants and retail shops. We took an architectural cruise and a bike tour and walked to both. We saw a show at Second City - we walked there (about 1.4 miles) and took a cab back.

Cons: Almost none! There was no coffee machine. Though coffee was available in the lobby it would have been nice not to have to shower and dress before getting that first cup. Street noise was a minor annoyance. A higher floor would have been nice, but it would certainly not stop me from coming to this hotel.

Heck, I'd like to move in!!

Room Tip: Try for a high floor to avoid noise. I'm sure a lake view would have been beautiful, but the ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,121
    240
    66
    18
    9
See reviews for
249
488
81
440
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel was SO beautifully decorated and nicely themed. It was such a joy to be in the hotel, even when I was in the heart of Chicago. The outdoor terrace was so nice to enjoy during the summer whether it was for drinks or the GREAT Sunday brunch.

Normally, I find the Amex Fine Hotels and Resorts Program to be a scam but it was actually nice to have this time. I was given a great room on a high floor, great views, and a lovely bathroom. Breakfast was also included plus $100 to spend on drinks or food-I spent it on the Sunday brunch.

Service was excellent as usual and the concierge was helpful. Definitely returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler5161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Park Hyatt Chicago and sharing your review on Trip Advisor. I am very glad to hear that you found comfort in your room and appreciate your compliments about our team. We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed drinks and brunch at NoMI Garden. We look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations once again!

Kind regards,
Peter Roth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I booked our room and then immediately regretted it. From the photos and other reviews, the hotel did not seem kid-friendly, and we were traveling with a six-month-old and a six-year-old. Fortunately, on such a busy Chicago weekend and week, we couldn't find accommodations elsewhere with which we were satisfied, and that ended up being fortuitous for us. We loved the Park Hyatt so much that we extended our stay. In fact, I began writing this review when we were still in the hotel -- I couldn't wait to sing their praises. The staff, rooms, and services are second to none.

We had a room with two double beds. It was lovely and spacious. They deep bathtub was luxurious, and the whole family each got their soaking time (even the baby). The beds were soft and comfortable. But the pièce de résistance was the huge window looking down over the Water Towers and Michigan Avenue and out to Lake Michigan. It was gorgeous. My son was so mesmerized by all of it that he took the cover off his bed and curled up in the window seat each night. We had to wait until he fell asleep and then carry him to his bed -- he wouldn't budge from his perch. I will always remember that.

Their staff is not just polite, they are warm. The rooms are magnificent, and the view is indescribably beautiful. My son curled up in the window seat every night to watch the lights of Michigan Avenue below. He asked the attendant at the registration desk for a room up in the sky, and that's what we got!

The registration attendants gave my son a backpack with crayons and activities when we checked in, and they delivered two gigantic lollipops and a sweet note on our second day there. We had breakfast on Monday morning, and we were the only people there with kids. My daughter fussed a bit, and I felt a little self-conscious about that; however, I think that was just me. The waiters were really great, and the food was excellent. My son ordered another waffle after polishing off the first.

Besides for the restaurant, I used their gym one morning. The facility was clean and functional, and I didn't have to wait for a machine. The valets were always quick with the car and helpful when unloading and loading, which made the $62 a day for parking a bit less disturbing.

My only complaints: we could hear our neighbor on our second night. We heard every word he said. Also, there was a large safety pin in the lovely blanket I took from the closet and used to cover our baby. Definitely a choking hazard. However, when I made them aware of it, they called the housekeeping manager and asked him to check all the other blankets to ensure that there are no more pins in the blankets. Like others, we heard a lot of street noise, but we didn't care because the quieter rooms don't look toward the lake. Besides, what do you expect when staying in a hotel that is smack in the Magnificent Mile?
We will definitely return to the Park Hyatt in the future, as we visit Chicago fairly regularly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gigiguneyli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
224 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Yes, this is a great hotel. Excellent service. And the food...see further below. But the first question you need to ask yourself, before you sign up for the high price to stay here, is: "Are you stylish enough?"

If this was a Clint Eastwood movie, I would add, "Well, are you punk?"

However, this isn't a spaghetti western. Think of it as a Fellini movie. Yes, one set in Chicago and updated with a sushi restaurant and vaguely-Armani clothes on all the staff. (Real Armani is a few steps away, if you need it.) Even the food looks good. Fortunately, it also tastes great. Even breakfast is great. The wine is overpriced, but the view is terrific from the 7th floor restaurant, which is confusingly named the same name as the spa.

There are a few annoyances with all this style. For one thing, the corners and turns to navigate the place are often really tight, and confusing. Don't turn right out of the 7th floor elevators to go into the restaurant. Yes, that is the restaurant, but there is a big glass and chrome door there and it is closed for part of the day. Instead, go the other way around. Try to find the coffee in the morning without asking anyone. (If you do it in less than two elevator trips, you beat my record.) And, some of the bathrooms have screens that open up to the windows and the rest of the room. Try to remember to close them. If you don't, any room visitors might be staring at you.

But, this is a Fellini move, and you'll look great.

Arrivederci!

Room Tip: If you have difficulty moving around, have small children, or need to use a walker or wheelchair, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plamichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed on the 10th floor of the Park Hyatt for a long weekend of business meetings mixed with some pleasure. Although our hotel room was somewhat small, the bathroom was nothing short of grand. The hotel had the most deepest marble soaking tub I've ever seen complete wiht lux bath products and even candles. It was the most luxurious, relaxing bath I've ever had! We loved the area surrounding the hotel which included nice shopping and restaurants. We had a few hiccups with room service, but the rooom service manager, Pam Ireland, invited us to the high end hotel restaurant NoMi for complimentary breakfast. The breakfast was outstanding, and the food was truly a labor of love for Pam and her staff. Fresh eggs, Neuske bacon, and the best waffle my husband has ever had! Our served Luiz could't have been kinder. The Park Hyatt has a rooftop cocktail bar with amamzing views and unique handmade cocktails which was a great way to end our night. Our room had a great view and a very comfy bed, so I shall be sad to check out later today. If you're ever in Chicago, the Park Hyatt is truly a hotel experience not to be missed. From the time I slipped into the hotel's Frette robe until the time we checked out after breakfast, the entire time at the hotel was outstanding. I highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: The higher floors have the best city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Julie,
Thank you for choosing the Park Hyatt Chicago for your recent trip Chicago. I am happy to hear that our location suited you well. I apologize for any incidents with room service but I am glad that Pam helped to resolve any issues. We greatly appreciate this honest feedback as we always look for ways to improve guest experience.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Peter Roth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
110 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

This property is impressive, with imposing lobby, large and comfortable rooms, well-equipped bathrooms, large showers, and good quality amenities. The outdoors bar on the 7th floor is attractive and has the right vibe. The gym and lap pool are all you need to stay in shape. The staff is helpful. I needed a iPhone charger and quickly got one. My only complaint was that my room 302 was lovely with a great terrace, but noisy. I could hear every siren and other traffic noise. Overall my experience was excellent. I will return because the hotel and the location are excellent. As I have said in other reviews, I have recently turned into a Hyatt fan. This hotel gives me plenty of reason to stay loyal!

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Laura,
Thank you for your continued loyalty and support of the Hyatt brand. It is a pleasure to know that we are able to deliver the high level of service that you expect. I am very sorry for any inconvenience that the traffic noise may have caused you during your stay.
We appreciate you taking time to review the hotel on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Park Hyatt Chicago!

Sincerely,
Peter Roth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed here for my birthday (worth the trip from the north suburbs)...Excellent location right on the Mag Mile, across the street (well, almost) from Water Tower Place. The view from our 10th floor room across Michigan Ave to the lake was wonderful, both day and night! Large soaking tub, Eames-style lounge chair - very relaxing. My only gripe was parking - $54!!!!

Room Tip: Request a higher floor (to avoid street noise) facing the lake (East).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#11 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,128 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Property: Park Hyatt Chicago
Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611-2105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Chicago
#2 Business Hotel in Chicago
#4 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#5 Family Hotel in Chicago
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing