We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our New Favorite Chicago Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hyatt Chicago to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611 (Magnificent Mile)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #6 of 184 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Our New Favorite Chicago Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed at a neighboring 5-star hotel for several years, but the Park Hyatt Hotels have formed a relationship with our credit card company, so we thought we would try them. We booked a "Terrace Suite" on the 3rd floor with a very large outdoor terrace that overlooks Michigan Avenue and Water Tower Park. It was the warmest weekend of spring thus far and we kept the doors open to the terrace most of the time when we were in the room. The street noise can be loud at night, but the mornings and daytimes were quite pleasant.

Things we really liked (that aren't available at our former favorite):
1. Large open shower and jacuzzi tub in our suite with a large window.
2. Free coffee and espresso in the lobby.
3. Free NY Times and Wall Street Journal in the lobby and at NoMi restaurant each morning.
4. NoMi Restaurant is great! We got a breakfast package and really enjoyed the calm atmosphere.
5. No attitude from the Doorman, Front Desk, Bellman, and Room Service.
6. Since the tip is included in the Room Service bill, there is no "uncomfortable" signing of the check or sense that you should be tipping (again). You don't sign anything. The pleasant young man simply delivered the food, set up the table, and thanked us for staying at the Park Hyatt.
7. I had flowers sent to the hotel for our room. They were delivered while we were out shopping rather than waiting for us to return. It was a pleasant surprise.
8. We were celebrating a birthday, so I mentioned it in the "comment section" of the onine reservation. When we returned from shopping, a plate of cheese, dried fruit, nuts, and crackers had been delivered---along with a bottle of champagne.
9. The hotel is located directly across the street from RL Restaurant, our favorite restaurant in Chicago.
10. The wifi internet service is FREE. No password required. Just log on.

Room Tip: We love the terrace suite, but I think it is only available on the third floor. A lake view room (o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WinchesterTrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    998
    217
    56
    16
    7
See reviews for
210
426
75
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Walking distance to the lake.
Request for lake view room.
The beds are amazing to sleep on. They are state of the art beds with Egyptian cotton bed sheets.
A bit pricy so dont order room service. All kind of service charges in there that pissed you off. Bring your food from outside.
Parking is expensive so avoid taking your own car.

Room Tip: Get the room and request for free parking instead of breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is the best hotel I have ever stayed at! They had a lovely bar/restaurant overlooking Chicago, the lakes and water tower. The rooms were delux!! If you forget anything from toothpaste to hairspray they provide this complementary. Staff were very friendly. I would definately stay in this hotel again. The location was excellent to all the shopping.The beds were very comfortable.

Room Tip: Get lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
371 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Staff is very good, location is great, lake view rooms are stunning. Nomi restaurant is quite good and has a beautiful view of Michigan Avenue, water Tower and Lake Michigan.
At the lobby you can always get great complimentary coffee and tea.
Concierge is really helpful.
Location is great, just steps from all the shops, restaurants, the museum of Contemporary Art, the lake, bus stop, Red Line,etc...
We were moved to a better room even as we has reserved another type of room. I have been many times in Chicago and tried many hotels and for the moment this is my favorite.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viajeramx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter B, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Park Hyatt Chicago and taking the time to send your feedback about your recent stay. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and we hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Sincerely,
Walter Brindell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Seriously, the Park Hyatt deserves 10 stars plus. I had the divine privilege of staying there recently for four blissful days/nights and I didn't want to leave. It's that good. I've been lucky to stay at many great hotels around the world, but Park Hyatt Chicago is the best ever. Why? The rooms are gorgeous, the view is too and the food is beyond excellent. But the most wonderful aspect of the Park Hyatt is the staff. Their service ethic is phenomenal, especially in this country. While I was there for a business meeting, the new Pope was announced. I left the meeting to go up to my room to work and watch the Pope's emergence on the balcony. There was a knock on my door and it was the housekeeper. She said she would come back but I invited her in and said it was fine with me for her to clean. Long story short, she was quiet at first but then we struck up a conversation. Her name was Yvette. She told me she had started working for Hyatt on her birthday six years earlier and it was the best birthday gift she ever had ever been blessed to receive. I knew she was sincere. I thoroughly enjoyed getting to know her. It was an extraordinary travel moment. That night I received a gift from Yvette with a hand-written note that I have now shared with my husband, friends and anyone who will listen. In travel, it just doesn't get any better than that. Every person on the staff that I encountered was equally awesome - understated, kind, interested and cheerful. I want to return again and again. Thank you, Park Hyatt Chicago, for resurrecting my belief in gracious hospitality.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Michigan Avenue side have a view of the Water Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShannonI_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter B, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Shannon,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Park Hyatt Chicago and taking the time to send your review on Trip Advisor. I appreciate your kind remarks about our team, we always strive for authentic hospitality. I am very glad that they made your experience at the hotel so memorable. We hope to welcome you back again very soon!

Regards,
Walter Brindell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Having previously lived in Chicago, I haven't had many occasions to stay at a hotel there. When it came time to choose, Park Hyatt stood out for it's central location. Steps away from the Water Tower, Michigan Ave (Mag Mile), the Red line, not to mention dozens of restaurants and bars, it is an ideal choice. The hotel lobby and common areas are impeccable. The pantry in the lobby has self serve cappuccinos and beverages. The gym and spa/pool areas are beautiful and equip with every machine you would want. NoMi restaurant is delicious if you're willing to shell out some $$$ for great food and a great view. I used Valet for the week and had my car waiting for me every time I went out.

The rooms are amazing. Although not huge, the space planning is excellent, making for a peaceful escape. The beds are insanely comfortable. Window shades are controlled from a bedside panel. There is a very large TV in the bedroom and one in the bathroom. Bathrobes, A Two-headed shower, and a large soaker tub add to the relaxation. The closet, minibar, and desk area are perfect. Free Wifi too! (I never understand why other expensive hotels charge for this). It goes without saying the rooms are very clean and twice daily housekeeping maintains this.

This hotel is perfect! Would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mzqb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I live in Chicago but my house was under construction and I needed a place to stay for about a week close to work in the Loop. I wanted to make a nice week of it so we decided to stay at the Park Hyatt. I've always wanted to stay here but never had a reason to considering I only live 2 miles away. The hotel seems enormous but has a boutique feel with the smaller lobby and very private elevator. The rooms are spacious, modern and elegant with an enormous bathroom, huge tub and great views of Michigan Avenue if you are lucky. Room was spotless, absolutely spotless every day. Everything in place.

The staff were amazing. I had a great deal for a free breakfast every morning. The maid never left the little breakfast card so I would call for room service before going to sleep the night before. They remembered my order and asked if I'd like "the usual." Great touch.

The gym is spotless and very clean. Valet polite and prompt. If you are a tourist, couldn't be a better location for shopping, dining or lake activities and you have several public transportation options within a few feet of the entrance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eyehearttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 184 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,644 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 184 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,211 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#2 of 184 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 2,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#7 of 184 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Property: Park Hyatt Chicago
Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chicago
#2 Green Hotel in Chicago
#4 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#5 Family Hotel in Chicago
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing