We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay...”
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Hyatt Chicago
Ranked #22 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is one of the best hotels I've had the pleasure of staying at. The staff was friendly, helpful, and courteous. My room had an amazing view of the lake, and Michigan Avenue. The location was excellent and very central to many landmarks and shopping. Do yourself a favor and treat yourself to a stay at the Park Hyatt.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room, there is a fire station on this side of the building, but it didn't bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turcottejt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter B, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Park Hyatt Chicago and taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Sincerely,

Walter Brindell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,282 - 1,288 of 1,775 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

We checked in The Park Hyatt with Michigan Avenue Water Tower view! Unbelievable customer services from the Valet to Check out! Flawless delivery of services. We ate at Nomi which was top notch! This was our engagement night. Thank you Park Hyatt for the memories!

Stayed in the Park Hyatt for our Anniversary. Again, they consistently delivered. You cannot go wrong with hotel. By far the most warmth hospitality, compared to the Ritz or Five Seasons which tend to be so snobbish.

Room Tip: Definitely utilize their concierge services and valet parking. Trust me... you will have nothing to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cvcrna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Truly magnificent! I am finally writing a review after staying here countless times! If you have to be in Chicago, staying here is a must! Without even considering how convenient it is to everything on the magnificent mile and downtown, I would still say this has to be one of the best places to stay! Service is spectacular and rooms are immaculate. Look no further for luxury and comfort.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Layla200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne O, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continued loyalty and support. We are so pleased that you were happy with our service and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,
Walter Brindell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed at the Park Hyatt for a quick two night trip from the Bay Area. My husband had a business. We typically stay at The Peninsula (have stayed at the Waldorf Astoria as well), but we thought my accompanying him on this trip would be nice since the next night was Valentine's Day. The curb service is on top of arrivals and departures. The lobby is contemporary and very nicely done.
Other Pros are the room was very nice, so you do walk in first thing and have a very good impression. We had a lake view which made for a pretty view. The bed is definitely good quality and very comfortable. The 9th floor will allow some traffic noise that was tolerable and I'm sensitive to this issue. The big bath tub that can accommodate two has double sliding doors that open into the bedroom to create a very spacious feel and access the lake view. The location is perfect for downtown shopping and good restaurants.
Cons - if you are traveling with someone the doors of the closet and bathroom and drawers are awkward and somewhat of an annoyance. If drawers are open, the closet door has to be open and blocks passage to the closet, bathroom or door for the other guest. If you are showering and the bathroom door is open, you will bang it soundly against the shower which is pretty jarring. The doors open onto each other. When accessing drawers, closets, or taking a showers, you need to be mindful or you will experience the clashing of doors and block the other guest from access.
This is livable. We just found it odd to design the room that way. I'd stay here again for the economic value. Beautiful hotel, terrific Concierge (made hair appt for me quickly), front desk works efficiently. Friendly staff. Like I said pretty room. It's about $100 less than The Peninsula which remains our favorite. For quick trip mixing business with pleasure, it's a great value.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I recently stayed at the Park Hyatt Chicago. Even if i had been to his restaurant Nomi in the past it was my first stay on property. The staff was very welcoming and helpful with my luggage and boxes. I got an upgrade to a lake view room and it was nice to wake up in the morning overlooking the lake (i was on the 13th floor). When lot of hotels are still charging for internet, Park Hyatt offer it on complimentary basis to his clients, I absolutely love it.

the location remain for me one of the key of the hotel, you are right in the middle of everything.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thibaut a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Our schedule worked out so we happened to arrive at the hotel early, around 9:00 am. We hadn't asked for early check-in, so expected the desk staff would hold our bags and tell us to get lost for a while. Instead, we were quickly sent to a beautiful room with an amazing view. From that point on, every moment at the Park Hyatt was just terrific. Service of every kind was impeccable and quick. The desk people were welcoming and friendly; every bellman or room service waiter was knowledgeable and apparently anxious to help; even the doorman went out of his way to enthusiastically recommend restaurants and give us detailed directions. The rooms are sleek and beautiful, and, if a bit on the small side, shrewdly laid out so every square inch counts. The extra long window seat, piled with pillows, makes for lovely spot to sip a glass of wine and watch Chicago go by. Be sure to ask for a room on the lake/water tower side, and make sure it's high enough to clear nearby buildings if you want a view of the lake. The hotel is so well located, you can easily walk to shopping/Millennium Park/Art Institute/restaurants. A wonderful hotel staffed by warmhearted professionals.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank twinlions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne O, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Park Hyatt Chicago and taking the time to send your feedback about your recent stay. I truly appreciate your kind remarks about our team and am glad to know that they met your needs. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your room and view. We look forward to welcoming you back again and hope to exceed your expectations once again.

Sincerely,
Walter Brindell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We are in a lovely room with a window seat and a very firm, comfortable king bed. The room has great lightling, including two bedside lamps that turn off quietly. There are both sheer and darkening blinds which raise and lower remotely. The bathroom had twin sinks and a wonderful showerhead. The only downside is that the closet is a little small if one wanted to hang up a weeks worth of clothing for 2 people. The hotel provides complimentary water in the room and coffee and tea on the first floor. The fitness center is great----many cardio machines, strength machines, free weights, mats and medicine balls. It's also cooled to a nice temperature. There is pool that is a couple lap lanes and long enough to really swim.

The restaurant has a nice view, but is really expensive. Around the corner is an Einstein's bagels and a tea shop, both of which are a less elegant but more moderate way to have breakfast. However, it depends on what you want. The hotel is across from Water Tower place and also close to bus and metro stops. There is valet parking---

I paid for this with airline points and I don't know what it costs in dollars and so whether it's worth it. Of course, that depends on what you want. There's no doubt, it is much nicer than a Hampton Inn and many others.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summercruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#4 of 191 in Chicago
1,608 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Streeterville
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
#28 of 191 in Chicago
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#13 of 191 in Chicago
2,469 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 191 in Chicago
2,666 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#10 of 191 in Chicago
2,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611-2105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chicago
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#5 Family Hotel in Chicago
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#9 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $297 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing