We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great room, great service, great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Hyatt Chicago
Ranked #6 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great room, great service, great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Our schedule worked out so we happened to arrive at the hotel early, around 9:00 am. We hadn't asked for early check-in, so expected the desk staff would hold our bags and tell us to get lost for a while. Instead, we were quickly sent to a beautiful room with an amazing view. From that point on, every moment at the Park Hyatt was just terrific. Service of every kind was impeccable and quick. The desk people were welcoming and friendly; every bellman or room service waiter was knowledgeable and apparently anxious to help; even the doorman went out of his way to enthusiastically recommend restaurants and give us detailed directions. The rooms are sleek and beautiful, and, if a bit on the small side, shrewdly laid out so every square inch counts. The extra long window seat, piled with pillows, makes for lovely spot to sip a glass of wine and watch Chicago go by. Be sure to ask for a room on the lake/water tower side, and make sure it's high enough to clear nearby buildings if you want a view of the lake. The hotel is so well located, you can easily walk to shopping/Millennium Park/Art Institute/restaurants. A wonderful hotel staffed by warmhearted professionals.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank twinlions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne O, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Park Hyatt Chicago and taking the time to send your feedback about your recent stay. I truly appreciate your kind remarks about our team and am glad to know that they met your needs. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your room and view. We look forward to welcoming you back again and hope to exceed your expectations once again.

Sincerely,
Walter Brindell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,019
    222
    58
    16
    9
See reviews for
216
438
77
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We are in a lovely room with a window seat and a very firm, comfortable king bed. The room has great lightling, including two bedside lamps that turn off quietly. There are both sheer and darkening blinds which raise and lower remotely. The bathroom had twin sinks and a wonderful showerhead. The only downside is that the closet is a little small if one wanted to hang up a weeks worth of clothing for 2 people. The hotel provides complimentary water in the room and coffee and tea on the first floor. The fitness center is great----many cardio machines, strength machines, free weights, mats and medicine balls. It's also cooled to a nice temperature. There is pool that is a couple lap lanes and long enough to really swim.

The restaurant has a nice view, but is really expensive. Around the corner is an Einstein's bagels and a tea shop, both of which are a less elegant but more moderate way to have breakfast. However, it depends on what you want. The hotel is across from Water Tower place and also close to bus and metro stops. There is valet parking---

I paid for this with airline points and I don't know what it costs in dollars and so whether it's worth it. Of course, that depends on what you want. There's no doubt, it is much nicer than a Hampton Inn and many others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank summercruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed at the Park Hyatt for a few days on business and was very happy with my overall experience. The service at this hotel is impeccable!

I checked in VERY early (7am) and was quickly given a room with no questions asked. The room is spacious and modern and comfortable with a large bathroom with separate toilet area, glass enclosed shower and large soaking tub. Bathrooms and beds are the most important areas in a hotel room for me and both were great. The large window bench overlooking Michigan Avenue below and Lake Michigan in the distance was a great place to sit and type out some morning emails.

I ate breakfast twice in the restaurant and the food was fantastic. The manager of the restaurant was amazing and went above and beyond in accommodating me after I was given wrong information by the front desk about when breakfast ended.

The hotel is perfectly situated if you enjoy shopping. Michigan Avenue has many high end stores within walking distance and Rush street is a few blocks away.

I would highly recommend this hotel!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Lake Michigan. Such a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Bottom line: One of the better hotels to stay at for comfort and service, with Michigan Ave location that simply can't be beat, BUT the price is out of sight unless luxury prices are your range. The bar and restaurant at the top are excellent meeting points for drinks and/or business.

I stayed at the Park Hyatt when Hurricane Sandy canceled my flight back to the East Coast, and had to scramble for a Michigan Ave hotel. Only the Park Hyatt had a room available at short notice, but I paid full fare (in excess of $400) for a suite. This is absolutely one of the best suites I've *ever* stayed in, but I could not justify the price in the end. If you stay here, try getting a deal through an online service, but even then it's going to be pricey.

Service is superb - reception, concierge and baggage are all responsive, helpful and prompt. The room was large and very modern with a comfortable bed and a thoroughly luxurious bath sporting a jacuzzi tub and two(!) mini tv monitors in addition to the giant flat screen in the main room. Separate shower and toilet. The closet was more like an old school valet trunk; I haven't seen the sheer number of men's and women's grooming and clothing accoutrements in any hotel outside of a Gulf five star. I half expected Jeeves the Butler to leap from a side door.

The top of the hotel sports a cool bar/restaurant with free wifi that is worth knowing even if you don't stay at the Park Hyatt. The bar serves up a good cocktail and great appetizer-type foods and sandwiches. A little pricey, but worth the indulgence for a business meeting or perhaps meeting friends for a drink/date before moving on. There's a great wall-line window that shows Michigan Ave (nice in the evening). It's on the same floor as the (unbelievably well-appointed) spa. The restaurant is equally comfortable and a little pricey (to be expected). Food is sort of an international fusion, and I found it quite tasty.

At the end of the day, I just couldn't justify the price outside of the emergency I had. If you're the type of person who is willing to pay luxury prices for the privilege of retiring to a place that sports such amenities, then this is your place. Me, I think Park Hyatt's a great hotel, but if I go back it will be because I found a steep discount.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FSOTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
123 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Park Hyatt Chicago is the crown jewell for the Hyatt Brand, as far as I am concerned. Everything that you could want in a downtown business hotel is here....the location is perfect, on the famed Miracle Mile at the Water tower...the exterior is sleek and modern....the rooms are tastefully decorated and have all of the most modern amenities....the bed is one of the best you will ever sleep in (I ordered the bedding from the hotel for our home)....the shower and toiletries are wonderful....the gym is not large but well equipped with free weights and modern cardio equipment as well as at least 10 different universal machines....the Restaraunt Nomi is amazing. It may sound strange but I don't believe that I have ever had a better tasting egg white omelette than at this hotel....Now aside from all of this, the people here are some of the best in the Hyatt system from the doorman that greets you when you walk in to Donald, the concierge, who is as friendly as his is knowledgeable about Chicago, and he knows just about everything to do and everywhere to eat in the city. If they could only turn up the outside temp by about 50 degrees in January. If you are in Chicago on business, you will NOT find a better place to work, eat, work out and sleep!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Lake Michigan
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. The lobby is stylish and...I guess serene is the best word. To walk in off the hustle and bustle of Michigan Avenue is pretty awesome. Great restaurant. I especially enjoy the view during breakfast while reading the paper. In the summer, they have an outdoor bar that's great for a Friday cocktail. Service is excellent.

Room Tip: Views of the lake or Michigan Avenue are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our room of the Park Hyatt faced Michigan Avenue and a beautiful view east to the lake. The rooms are modern and cozy with top notch furniture. The hotel is located in the heart of the best shopping in Chicago and and tons of fabulous restaurants on the Gold Coast. Threes a small eating area off the lobby for breakfast food but not much room to sit in. It's busy, however. There's not much sitting space in the busy lobby ,however we were there in July and found it comfortable. The rooms were always done when we returned from our daily goings on.

Room Tip: Our room was midway up and dead center to a green area below and the lake straight ahead. The hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,734 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#2 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,249 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#3 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 2,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#7 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Property: Park Hyatt Chicago
Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611-2105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chicago
#2 Green Hotel in Chicago
#4 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#5 Family Hotel in Chicago
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing