We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect... for one hard to please!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Hyatt Chicago
Ranked #6 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect... for one hard to please!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just stayed 3 nights at the Park Hyatt for a girl's weekend. Stayed in a Park/Lake View Double and the view was phenomenal. As a previous resident of this neighborhood, the hotel is ideally located in the heart of the Magnificent Mile.

The room itself was perfect. The show/bath area is wonderful. The beds are extremely comfortable and the windows open out. While the minibar is limited in treats, there is a small self-serve kitchen off of the lobby that supplies soft drinks, water, and a chocolate treat.

The SPA is very, very nice. I had a envelopment wrap and a massage and both I would recommend. There is also a very nice lap pool w/ floor to ceiling windows, hot tub, and steam in the women's locker. Friendly, helpful, staff.

The Bar has wonderful snacks, great selection of scotch and other spirits. The restaurant and/or room service from NoMi is phenomenal!!!

Room, Staff, Spa, View, all a 10+ for one very hard to please!

Room Tip: If you would like a lake view, ask for an 06 or 07. If you would like a Park view room ask for low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fromatltony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    228
    60
    16
    9
See reviews for
226
451
78
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Love this hotel. It is my favorite in Chicago and in a great location. The rooms are lovely and the bathrooms beautiful. The concierge was very helpful and they have a courtesy car to take you anywhere within a 2 mile radius- very nice for getting to a restaurant on time! It remains a top notch hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter but the high 09 rooms face Michigan Ave.and the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank particulartraveler-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights over Thanksgiving and it was a calm respite from the shopping crowds at the Magnificent Mile. Appreciated the self service pantry at the lobby area. Staff were friendly and efficient. The rooms are large with a very comfortable bed. There's free bottled water everyday but no coffee facilities in-room. However, you can get woken up by noisy guests in the corridor and door slams. Ask for a room with a view.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

To remembering my name to surprising us with a driver to take us to our favorite restaurant in Chicago (in a benz, no less) despite them previously saying the car was taken, this is a top notch hotel in Chicago. The bathroom was a dream come true, with candlelit baths and rain showers. My body has never "melted" into my sleep before. Oh? And the bed is heaven.

Room Tip: Standard doesn't have the open bathroom view to the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenc842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We booked our room thru AMEX Fine Hotels & Resorts program so we had some perks. This is for a business trip. Wonderful program via AMEX. Lots of amenities: a. Room upgrade (facing the Water Tower & Lake Michigan); b. Noon early check-in upon availability; c. Daily continental breakfast for two at NoMI (beautifully cooked Brioche French Toast with port wine blueberries & candied pecans); d. 4pm guaranteed check-out; e. $100 F&B credit which we blew off at NoMI for our first dinner in Chicago; f. use of the hotel car within 1 mile of the hotel which I reserved to bring me to work all 3 mornings on those really cold Chicago mornings &; g. Complimentary 3rd night with 3 consecutive nights. We loved the location. The bed is probably one of the best beds we've had in a hotel. I love the black-out shades. The WIFI works great. The hotel housekeeping staff is very responsive. (I wish the front desk people could be a little bit more warm.) And the hotel felt really safe. Being in a nice hotel does make a difference especially when you are out of your usual environment to manage an important project. We hope to be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juju811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Everything in this hotel is perfect. The staff is helpful always with a smile on the face and ready to assist you no matter what. The service is excellent and the amenities outstanding. Big and very clean rooms with comfortable beds that you forget to wake up. I would definitely come back to this hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christopher Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Enjoyed our long weekend here very much. The hotel is feeling not quite where it SHOULD be for the price we paid and could use some attention to detail. The towels were in poor condition and threadbare, but otherwise the rooms felt a little like they needed a refit. Views from the breakfast restaurant are amazing and worth the price of breakfast. Friendly staff and concierge helpful. FANTASTIC indoor lap pool for swimmers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 189 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,789 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,265 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#3 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,505 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#7 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Property: Park Hyatt Chicago
Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611-2105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chicago
#2 Green Hotel in Chicago
#4 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#5 Family Hotel in Chicago
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing