We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only mildly worn in, but service is impeccable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Hyatt Chicago
Ranked #6 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Only mildly worn in, but service is impeccable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

To remembering my name to surprising us with a driver to take us to our favorite restaurant in Chicago (in a benz, no less) despite them previously saying the car was taken, this is a top notch hotel in Chicago. The bathroom was a dream come true, with candlelit baths and rain showers. My body has never "melted" into my sleep before. Oh? And the bed is heaven.

Room Tip: Standard doesn't have the open bathroom view to the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenc842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,000
    218
    56
    16
    7
See reviews for
210
429
75
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We booked our room thru AMEX Fine Hotels & Resorts program so we had some perks. This is for a business trip. Wonderful program via AMEX. Lots of amenities: a. Room upgrade (facing the Water Tower & Lake Michigan); b. Noon early check-in upon availability; c. Daily continental breakfast for two at NoMI (beautifully cooked Brioche French Toast with port wine blueberries & candied pecans); d. 4pm guaranteed check-out; e. $100 F&B credit which we blew off at NoMI for our first dinner in Chicago; f. use of the hotel car within 1 mile of the hotel which I reserved to bring me to work all 3 mornings on those really cold Chicago mornings &; g. Complimentary 3rd night with 3 consecutive nights. We loved the location. The bed is probably one of the best beds we've had in a hotel. I love the black-out shades. The WIFI works great. The hotel housekeeping staff is very responsive. (I wish the front desk people could be a little bit more warm.) And the hotel felt really safe. Being in a nice hotel does make a difference especially when you are out of your usual environment to manage an important project. We hope to be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juju811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Everything in this hotel is perfect. The staff is helpful always with a smile on the face and ready to assist you no matter what. The service is excellent and the amenities outstanding. Big and very clean rooms with comfortable beds that you forget to wake up. I would definitely come back to this hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christopher Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Enjoyed our long weekend here very much. The hotel is feeling not quite where it SHOULD be for the price we paid and could use some attention to detail. The towels were in poor condition and threadbare, but otherwise the rooms felt a little like they needed a refit. Views from the breakfast restaurant are amazing and worth the price of breakfast. Friendly staff and concierge helpful. FANTASTIC indoor lap pool for swimmers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san Diego
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This has to be the best Five-Star Hotel in Chicago. The Park Hyatt is just the right size, about 200 rooms which gives the staff the ability to personalize the service. The rooms are the largest in town and very modern. Great views looking out on the Water Tower and Michigan Avenue. Nomi bar and restaurant are first class and the spa, workout room and pool are a delight. Have stayed at the Park Hyatt probably five times over the past eight years and it just keeps getting better.

Room Tip: Get an east facing room for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I enjoy staying at upscale hotels, but this hotel outshines them all. Fantastic service; the staff always have smiles on their faces and drop whatever they are doing to be of assistance. The amenities are also outstanding. The rooms are spotless and the decor is gorgeous! I can't wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nature45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

What a wonderful place. Have just spent three nights at the Chicago Park Hyatt. The location is terrific. The staff is welcoming and so helpful. The rooms are spacious - they have walk through closets, enormous tubs, soft pillows, beautiful views and big windows (we faced the Water tower). The workout facilities are adequate. I would highly recommend a stay at the Park Hyatt Chicago. This is an absolutely lovely place to relax (even if you're in town on business).

Room Tip: Really liked the view of the Water tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 849Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,652 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,217 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#2 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 2,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#7 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Property: Park Hyatt Chicago
Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chicago
#2 Green Hotel in Chicago
#4 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#5 Family Hotel in Chicago
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing