We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!”
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Hyatt Chicago
Ranked #15 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Our family of 6, parents 2 adult children and spouses, rented 3 rooms this weekend. Rooms were spacious, with comfortable beds and some of the best bathrooms I've seen. The location was ideal for shopping and views. We had a minor issue with the concierge being a bit unreliable, but other than that everything was great. Definitely our go-to Chicago hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,284 - 1,290 of 1,742 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

Nice hotel with nice rooms. Room lighting is a little complicated and water conservation in the shower is a little overdone. Helpful and courteous staff and a nice location. Close to restaurants and shopping. A bit of a walk to the business Loop though. Can be a business or leisure place to stay. Works well for both.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a very nice hotel. i like the lobby area touches of wine hour/ and bottled water/ coffee available at all times. a very chic hotel bar and restaurant. located easily within walking/ short cab of pretty much anything you would want to eat/ drink/ shop. and easy access to/from interstate. not sure if it is this hotel or i have not paid attention but the valet parking is obscene at $50/ day. and courtesy towncar available for short trips to dinner. beautiful modern rooms with all the amenities. and room was spacious for city hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wisc_mass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We loved it here and the renovation hasn't even begun yet. This was the Wyndham hotel that Hyatt took over. Great location and service. We ate the breakfast and it was really good. It will really be spectacular after the renovation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mercedes12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Park Hyatt is in a great location, big enough for business but small enough to delver well above average service. Great rooms, fabulous views and everyone personal but genuine. Food was excellent (though avoid room service for afternoon tea like the plague!!). $20 plus for way to fancy tea bags. Let them know it was outrageous and immediately taken off bill. Completed post stay survey and mentioned it a again got a personal email back from head of catering saying she would address the problem. I am a Hyatt Gold passport holder and love the chain to bits this just endorses the fact that I will hunt a Hyatt wherever I go!

Room Tip: high and way from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Something just clicked when I walked in the Park Hyatt. This is my place. I've stayed at the Waldorf Astoria which is fantastic but the design and the location and the vibe here is better. I stayed here on a free night promotion through my credit card, so I was expecting the proverbial view of a dumpster. But my room was amazing. Front and center view of the Water Tower and Lake Michigan, a high floor, giant bathroom with a tub you could swim in. Loved the bed. Loved the lobby and the all day espresso in the pantry alcove. So friendly. So wonderfully located. Bravo Hyatt.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Jaypowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The room was very nice as expected but the restaurant far exceeded my expectation, from the becautiful views of the water tower and Lake Michigan to the quality of the food and the large selection. My only complaint was the pool. I was looking forwarding to having a pool but I did not want to go back after the first swim. It was old and dirty, and could really use a good scrub. The gym was also a bit disappointing with few equipment to choose from.

Room Tip: Above 7th floor asking for rooms facing the water tower and the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jscdjjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#2 of 192 in Chicago
1,564 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,547 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#10 of 192 in Chicago
2,415 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611-2105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Chicago
#2 Business Hotel in Chicago
#5 Family Hotel in Chicago
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#8 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $268 - $496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing