We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The Best of the Best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Hyatt Chicago
Ranked #7 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
virginia beach
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Best of the Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I travel weekly on business and must say that this hotel was absolutely the best of the best. The staff was very helpful and friendly at every turn! The rooms were clean and very modern. Loved the blackout curtains. Will definitely return!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carmendownes01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,121
    240
    66
    18
    9
See reviews for
249
488
81
440
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Woods, Michigan
Level Contributor
150 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

My mother, husband and I decided to make the trip to Chicago as an early Christmas present.
I've done my fair share of traveling around the world, but I was floored by the beauty of the rooms and the ambiance. Chic yet not too modern. The restaurants are wonderful, the service is great and you obviously cant beat the location.
I could not believe the view from my room. I looked directly at the water tower and just beyond was Lake Michigan.
It beats the pants off the Peninsula, who I found to be rude and extraordinarily unhelpful.
If the Park has a downside.....kinda spoils you for staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: Ask to face Lake Michigan
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Although you'll find the Park Hyatt farther down on this list, it is still a great place to stay. The views of the Chicago River and Lake Michigan from the rooms are awesome. There are two towers, with a concierge at the top of each of them where you can enjoy a free breakfast. Or you can opt to eat at the lovely restaurant in the lobby surrounded by water. The service throughout the hotel is nice, making the Hyatt a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 17jwalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This hotel has it all going on, great staff, some of the nicest rooms in Chicago and great restaurants all wrapped up in the center of Michigan Ave. To tell the truth even when I don't stay here I love stop by the hotel's outdoor patio. It's great place to stop for lunch or a little drinkie and the staff here rocks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seastripie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silicon valley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We all know how Chicago Park Hyatt is the flagship of Park Hyatt, since Hyatt's HQ is in Chicago and PH brand is the flagship brand of Hyatt. WIth that being said, this property has the disadvantage of being one of the oldest PH. Even though it was probably one of the best hotels in the world when it was built, it definitely has been caught up in term of newer hotel design. For example, while it pioneered the open bathroom (shutter that open from the tub to the bedroom, its sink area was very typical two-sink setup with nothing special. Sure it looks normal and nice, but I didn't come to Park Hyatt to expect normal and nice. It felt like any other Grant Hyatt with its black marble counter top. Plain and business-savvy. I would like to see more creativity or details going into the design of a bathroom counter top.
The toiletries were also unremarkable. At PH properties, I expected to see name brand stuff like Bvgari or Hermes, but what they provided were pretty typical for a 5-star hotel.
The breakfast was very nice. It was included in the rate, and I could basically order off the menu anything I wanted (not a buffet). The restaurant was pretty, overlooking Water Tower and Michigan Ave. This hotel really shines at its wonderful location and beautiful exterior. I do not believe there is better hotel at Chicago except Peninsula and maybe Waldorf Astoria (both way more $$$).
Sorry I didn't write anything positive, but trust me, the hotel was nice like all Park Hyatt. I feel there is no need to talk about top-of-the-class amenities because you have to expect them as standard at PH properties. If you are reading my reviews, all you need to read are the areas for improvement. Anything I didn't mention = Great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valleyworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH_Chicago, Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback in regards to your past stay here at Park Hyatt Chicago. Your opinion is important to us and we are pleased to know you enjoyed our location, amenities and services. We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Chicago in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Park Hyatt Chicago Management

Park Hyatt Chicago
800 North Michigan Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60611
P: 312.335.1234
communications.chiph@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Loved room, lobby and restaurant. Excellent restaurant. Would love to come back for more than one night.

The service by the bellman and front desk was terrific.

What a beautiful view over the lake!

Luxurious but not opulent.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH_Chicago, Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Park Hyatt Chicago. Your opinion is important to us and we are pleased to know you enjoyed your accommodations as well as your dining experience in NoMI. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review in our favor and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Chicago in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Park Hyatt Chicago Management

Park Hyatt Chicago
800 North Michigan Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60611
P: 312.335.1234
communications.chiph@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at the Park Hyatt on my recent business trip to Chicago and was uograded to an Executive Suite. Wow! The suite was elegant and understated, as is the whole hotel. There is a quiet and gracious sensibility to this hotel, from the modern simple aesethetic of the decorating to the professional and yet warm staff to the simple quiet of the space. The fitness center is modern, well equipped, and impeccably clean. Room service food was beautifully presented and very high caliber. My new favorite hotel in Chicago and one of my favorites anywhere. An exceptional place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH_Chicago, Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful remarks in regards to your stay at Park Hyatt Chicago! Your opinion is important to us and we are pleased to know you enjoyed your room as well as our hotel's amenities. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review in our favor and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Chicago in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Park Hyatt Chicago Management

Park Hyatt Chicago
800 North Michigan Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60611
P: 312.335.1234
communications.chiph@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#11 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Property: Park Hyatt Chicago
Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611-2105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Chicago
#2 Business Hotel in Chicago
#4 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#5 Family Hotel in Chicago
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing