We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Calm Above it All”
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Hyatt Chicago
Ranked #14 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Wanted to treat my wife to a nice staycation downtown, and this was one of the hotels we'd always wanted to try. We've been lucky to stay at some really nice hotels in the last couple years, and this one was probably the best. Not just for the room, which was understated, yet larger than the usual sized room, spotless, and with a bed we could have stayed in all day. Not just for the bathroom, which opened up into the room, and gave you a great view through the room out the window, while sitting in the deep soaking tub. Not just for the service, which really was top notch. But for the sense of calm we got the moment we stepped into the room. The Missus said that the room seemed Asian inspired, and maybe that had something to do with it. The entryway was a marble floored hall that led to the carpeted living/sleeping area. We always took our shoes off in the entryway before entering the main carpeted area...never felt that inclination in a hotel before. Just very peaceful. No major siren sounds really kept us awake, but living blocks from a hospital has probably made us immune to it. I think my wife may have ordered room service once--can't remember if she loved it or not. Hotel was perfectly located for visiting downtown, bus stop is right outside the door, and the train is 1-2 blocks away. Just a beautiful place to be in the middle of everything, yet calmly removed from the craziness of it.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Javimere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH_Chicago, Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review and kind words about Park Hyatt Chicago! Your opinion is important to us and we are pleased to know you enjoyed our guest room amenities and services. We take pride in delivering the best customer service to our guests and your satisfaction is our reward. Again, thank you for taking the time to write a review in our favor and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Chicago in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Park Hyatt Chicago Management

Park Hyatt Chicago
800 North Michigan Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60611
P: 312.335.1234
communications.chiph@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,661)
There are newer reviews for Park Hyatt Chicago
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,237 - 1,243 of 1,661 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

Hands down, the best option in Chicago where you can earn points.
In addition, a strong contender for the best in Chicago.

PROS:
-- Luxurious, comfortable rooms
-- Wonderful restaurant and restaurant-quality room service
-- Fitness center and pool
-- Wonderful, soothing lobby
-- Bathrooms are ridiculously wonderful
-- Exemplary service execution
-- Views
-- One of the few hotels of this caliber where you can earn points

CONS:
-- Rooms can be small (but not out of the range of other top-tier hotels in the area)
-- Cabs can have a wait in the morning (all hotels on the Mag Mile have this problem, as the cabs are zooming past to the Loop)
-- The price can get exorbitant

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jk091980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH_Chicago, Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful remarks in regards to your past stay at Park Hyatt Chicago. Your opinion is important to us and we are pleased to know you enjoyed all of our service and amenities. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review in our favor and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Chicago in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Park Hyatt Chicago Management

Park Hyatt Chicago
800 North Michigan Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60611
P: 312.335.1234
communications.chiph@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here for recent meeting in Chicago. Excellent location for walking and enjoying Mich. avenue area. Meeting facility and food service for smallish group were excellent. Rooms outstanding and more akin to high end asian design/service. ATT cellphone service in midlevel rooms was poor however. One of two elevators out of service for half of 3 d mtg. I would certainly return however.

Room Tip: Ask about cell phone reception on various floors/sides of floor.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rstlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH_Chicago, Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for your kind words about Park Hyatt Chicago! Your opinion is important to us and we are pleased to know you enjoyed our amenities and services during your business trip. I have shared your comments about our cellular service to the appropriate individuals so that we can look into resolving the issue. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Chicago in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Park Hyatt Chicago Management

Park Hyatt Chicago
800 North Michigan Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60611
P: 312.335.1234
communications.chiph@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I read other reviews so I was somewhat concerned about the "siren" problems some travelers had. I have to say we had NO problems with them what so ever.Our family of 4 stayed overnight. We stayed on the 17th floor and our room looked toward the lake and out onto Michigan Ave. It was fantastic and just a beautiful view! We were able to see some of the Air/Water Show right from our room. The room was VERY roomy for all of us. The beds were very comfortable and had a wonderful nights rest. The staff was so friendly and inviting from the moment we pulled up to the hotel. The hotel is gorgeous and all the amenities were excellent from the Fitness center to the whirlpool/steam rooms. We are so glad we stayed and hope to come back again. The best hotel we have ever stayed at in Chicago!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lor018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH_Chicago, Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review and kind words about Park Hyatt Chicago! Your opinion is important to us and we are pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your room as well as our amenities and services! We are so glad that all of you were enjoy the Air and Water Show from the comfort of your accommodations as well as our pool and fitness center! We take pride in delivering the best customer service to our guests and your satisfaction is our reward. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review in our favor and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Chicago in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Park Hyatt Chicago Management

Park Hyatt Chicago
800 North Michigan Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60611
P: 312.335.1234
communications.chiph@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I was spending 4 days in Chicago with my wife, so I booked a park suite using a diamond upgrade and was put on the 5th floor. It was so loud from the traffic that I had to move to a regular room on the 11th floor which was still incredibly loud. In fact it is 4am, and I am up from the fire trucks going by. I was sort of annoyed that when I complained about the noise, that I wasnt moved into another suite on a higher floor even though it was available, but oh well.

Location is very good. The conciege service is terrific, although they cant get you into any restaurants that you wouldnt be able to get into without a phone call, but they were able to make some wonderful suggestions on what to see, and eat.

NoMi outdoor lounge was packed on Friday afternoon, but the indoor lounge was much better. Robert, was a really mellow guy that mixes a solid drink.

As a diamond, we did get breakfast for free, and that was pretty good.

One unique thing about the hotel is that they have some bicycles that you can borrow. It was great riding along the lakefront and seeing the sights of Chicago from the waterfront.

Rooms are fine, the sliding door that opens to the bath in the bathroom is fun for a couple. Has candles that make it pretty romatic with a lake view.

However, I cant get over the noise issue.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weiweidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH_Chicago, Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your past stay here at Park Hyatt Chicago. Your opinion is important to us and we are pleased to know you enjoyed our location, amenities and services. We are however concerned to learn of the inconvenience the street noise caused you. We will be sure to pass along your remarks to the appropriate individuals in regards to this matter. Again we truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Chicago in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Park Hyatt Chicago Management

Park Hyatt Chicago
800 North Michigan Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60611
P: 312.335.1234
communications.chiph@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We just returned after a six nights stay in Chicago, our room was on the 16th Floor but unfortunately we did not have a good view, room was a cornor room so was really spacious and very comfortable, Staff were very friendly and helpful, you could hear the sirens from the nearby fire station but the noise didnt bother me and I am a rather light sleeper, Its handy that there was an I phone charger in the room for me to use, Room service was great,The hotel is in a great location for shopping and sight seeing so I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolinekCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH_Chicago, Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Caroline,

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Your opinion is important and we are very pleased to know you enjoyed the various amenities Park Hyatt Chicago has to offer such as an iPhone Charger and Room Service. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review in our favor and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Chicago in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Park Hyatt Chicago Management

Park Hyatt Chicago
800 North Michigan Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60611
P: 312.335.1234
communications.chiph@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is one of Hyatts top hotels it is beautiful! We had a connecting door to another room & could hear everything! The hotel was booked..so unfortunately the only other room available was on the other side of the same guests! Service wasn't bad...but not equal to Trump or Ritz by any means! Overall..it was a nice stay in Chicago! If your doing tourist things definetly by a GOChicago card!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH_Chicago, Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for your great review and kind words about Park Hyatt Chicago! Your opinion is important to us and we are pleased to know you enjoyed our amenities and services as well as the view from your room. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review in our favor and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Chicago in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Park Hyatt Chicago Management

Park Hyatt Chicago
800 North Michigan Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60611
P: 312.335.1234
communications.chiph@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 191 in Chicago
1,514 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 191 in Chicago
2,440 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#9 of 191 in Chicago
2,345 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 191 in Chicago
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611-2105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chicago
#3 Green Hotel in Chicago
#5 Family Hotel in Chicago
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#9 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $350 - $693 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing