We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still one of the best in Chicago”
Review of Ambassador Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambassador Chicago
Ranked #101 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This hotel has become my go to spot when staying Chicago. The area is great, rooms are clean, food is excellent, and it's a good place to unwind after work.

My only complaint is that the rooms have very poor lighting. This may sound trivial but you will understand when you get there.

Also, the hotel has become very popular, so be prepared. The staff has always been great.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank KMKC08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC H, Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear KMKC08,

We are thrilled to hear that PUBLIC Chicago has become your go to spot when you are visiting Chicago. We truly appreciate that you have become a loyal guest of PUBLIC and enjoyed the experience our staff provided you! Thank you for sharing your feedback on the lighting in the guest room. We will pass this feedback on for our team to review.

We look forward to you staying with us again and again when you are in Chicago!

Sincerely,
PUBLIC Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,706)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

986 - 992 of 1,706 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014

You walk into a massive lobby with an incredible, relaxing bar to your right (including fireplace and couches) and the famed Pump Room to your left. We had a spacious corner room that gave us incredible views of the John Hancock building and the surrounding area. Being north of Division was a little too far for me but if you like to drink alcohol, this is your place. Plenty of bars nearby. Close to Metro and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC H, Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Peggy W,

We appreciate you sharing your experience while staying at the PUBLIC Hotel. We realize that our location in Gold Coast is more north than the downtown area, but we truly believe this historic neighborhood and property is a draw for our loyal guests. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy our Library Coffee bar that serves our La Colombe Coffee and dine in our iconic Pump Room restaurant featuring a Jean-Georges menu.

Next time you are visiting Chicago we hope that you will choose to stay at the PUBLIC Hotel!

Sincerely,
PUBLIC Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

My room at the PUBLIC hotel was clean, bright, and comfortable. Nice proximity to shopping on Michigan Ave. The staff was very professional and helpful. Brunch at the Pump Room was very tasty and they were able to accommodate my gluten free dietary restrictions. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitney p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC H, Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear whitney p,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at PUBLIC. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your comfortable bed in the guest room and you found the cleanliness of the hotel up to your expectations.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable brunch experience in our iconic Pump Room restaurant and our staff was able to accommodate your dietary needs. We truly believe in delivering a friendly, unique experience to each of our guests at PUBLIC.

We look forward to you choosing PUBLIC on your next visit to Chicago!

Sincerely,
PUBLIC Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My room at the PUBLIC was comfortable and quiet (something I am picky about). The beds were comfortable and the linens were nicely pressed. The gentleman at the front desk was very helpful and very professional. The coffee bar was cozy, the restaurant is amazing and the bar at night is relaxing. The only concern and difficulty was the elevator. I realize it is an old building but wait for the elevator is annoying. That being said, I would stay here again but on a lower floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lower levels otherwise the wait for the elevator is longer than you think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VinoGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC H, Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear VinoGal,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback from your stay with us at PUBLIC. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed not only our comfortable beds, but you also had the opportunity to enjoy coffee in our cozy Library and dine in our iconic Pump Room restaurant. We take great pride in our service at PUBLIC and it is great to hear that our Front Desk Agent exceeded your expectations. We apologize for the inconvenience of having to wait for our elevators to get back to your guest room.

We look forward to you choosing PUBLIC the next time you are in Chicago!

Sincerely,
PUBLIC Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I too, purchased an incredible deal on Jetsetter for this hotel. We arrived at 10:00 a.m. and they let us check in (two rooms) early as well! The staff is incredibly polished and professional, the hotel has been beautifully restored with comfortably cozy common areas, the food is fantastic in the Library breakfast bar and in the Pump Room Bar, and my room (5th floor) and bathroom were spacious and clean. The beds are low-profile and have a decent mattress - I would have preferred a better quality mattress, but I slept comfortably regardless. My adult children stayed in another room on another floor and they were pleased with their room as well. I was initially concerned (since it's a popular place) that it might be loud and busy on weekends, but it was not so at all. The hotel lobby and bar scene were vibrant and energetic, but our rooms were quiet. It was a comfortable and easy walk (Spring!) to every place we wanted to go. I rated the hotel as Excellent based on my experience and the great value for a hotel of this calibre. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: My fifth floor east side room (far away from the elevator) was spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC H, Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Lori330,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience while staying here with us at PUBLIC. Sounds like you and your family had an enjoyable time together while in Chicago and had the opportunity to try our Chef Jean George menu offerings in the Library Bar and the Pump Room.
We look forward to you and your family staying with us at PUBLIC the next time you are in Chicago!

Sincerely,
PUBLIC Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

A group of 8 stayed at the Public during a 3-day meeting in Chicago. We stayed there after I had highly recommended it after a previous stay earlier in the year. The rooms were great (we all had couches, you need a couch!), the library and coffee bar were cool with good food, service, etc. And the Public Express, a gourmet lunch in a bag is really cool (though expensive). The area is fun, lots of restaurants around, and easy to get around on foot! Our experience really was nice until we checked out. Two people had erroneous charges from the hotel bar and restaurant from evenings when we weren't even in the hotel, but had gone out for dinner/drinks. The hotel did clear things up and removed the charges (after we checked out and returned to the office), but it really turned the experience into a downer. Also, because of how the false charges were expensed to the rooms we were very concerned about possible future issues with personal information. To date we don't know what management found after their investigation or even if there was an investigation. This could have been such a great experience as there were so many positives, and I had such a great experience the first time, but sadly, I (we) won't go back. The people for which I set up this meeting travel extensively, internationally, and understand the ins and outs of hotels and some of the issues that one can experience while traveling, and even they will not return.

Room Tip: If you want quiet stay on a higher floor, away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quietlycool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC H, Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear quietlycool,

We are extremely disappointed to hear about your check out experience at PUBLIC. It is unfortunate that your positive PUBLIC Chicago experience ended with errors on your final bill. We are happy to hear that the charges were removed from your bill once returning home. Please accept our sincerest apology for this error. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in Chicago and had the opportunity to try our PUBLIC Express.

Please feel free to reach out to us so that we can apologize in person and also see what we can do to ensure you will choose to stay at PUBLIC during your next visit to Chicago.

We look forward to the opportunity to speak in person.

Sincerely,
PUBLIC Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The lobby and bar at the Public hotel are fantastic as is the restaurant. Our hotel room was less so - very small. The halls were dark and uninviting. There was a room service tray in the hallway for all day awaiting pickup. Our room (308) had a hole in the carpet and the lamb skin cover on the chair seemed overused and dirty. Not enough towels for 2 people even though the reservation was for two. No place to put anything in the bathroom and the sink, although it was cool to look at, was uncomfortable to use. You could barely fit your hands under the stream of water. Form+function is the design goal. This fell short.
Sunday am call for roomservice required 4 tries as no one picked up the phone
Checked out and we were charged for roomservice breakfast when it was included in the room rate. Person at the desk asked me if i wanted a receipt when we checked out. If i hadn't gotten it, I may not have realized we were overcharged. The guy checking out next to me had numerous erroneous charges on his bill.
Charging 0.69 cents to print out a boarding pass in the business center is very bad taste especially in a chic hotel like the PUBLIC.
Our friends live across the street so we would stay again, but the services and actual rooms are not on par with the lobby and restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindieNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC H, Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear LindieNYC,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are very sorry that you experienced several short falls while staying with us a PUBLIC. We strongly value each guest’s feedback as it is necessary to help us improve our guest experience. We are disappointed that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. Please feel free to contact us directly so that we may further discuss your stay so that the next time you are in Chicago visiting your friends in the neighborhood you will choose to stay with us at PUBLIC.

Sincerely,
PUBLIC Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#78 of 191 in Chicago
1,757 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#83 of 191 in Chicago
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
dana hotel and spa
#60 of 191 in Chicago
4,113 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#19 of 191 in Chicago
3,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Chicago

Address: 1301 N State Pkwy, State and Goethe, Chicago, IL 60610 (Formerly PUBLIC Chicago)
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Chicago
#61 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#74 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $100 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a rich history rooted in Chicago’s Jazz Age, Ambassador Chicago is the city’s original boutique hotel dating back to 1926. Located in the heart of the Gold Coast, the iconic property has hosted the who’s who of the 20th and 21st centuries having served as a local beacon to countless celebrities. Uniquely individual, Ambassador Chicago is nestled among graceful mansions in a quiet, gilded neighborhood tucked into the center of the Windy City offering incredible views of Lake Michigan with easy access to Chicago’s main shopping boulevard, Michigan Avenue. With 285 spacious guestrooms, a 24-hour fitness center, two restaurants, thoughtful programming and amenities curated by local artisans and chefs, Ambassador Chicago maintains its distinct and legendary character while offering guests an authentic Chicago experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassador Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Public Chicago Hotel Chicago
Ambassador East Hotel Chicago
Hotel Ambassador East
Ambassador East Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing