We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully...disappointing.”
Review of Ambassador Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambassador Chicago
Ranked #101 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2014

A group of 8 stayed at the Public during a 3-day meeting in Chicago. We stayed there after I had highly recommended it after a previous stay earlier in the year. The rooms were great (we all had couches, you need a couch!), the library and coffee bar were cool with good food, service, etc. And the Public Express, a gourmet lunch in a bag is really cool (though expensive). The area is fun, lots of restaurants around, and easy to get around on foot! Our experience really was nice until we checked out. Two people had erroneous charges from the hotel bar and restaurant from evenings when we weren't even in the hotel, but had gone out for dinner/drinks. The hotel did clear things up and removed the charges (after we checked out and returned to the office), but it really turned the experience into a downer. Also, because of how the false charges were expensed to the rooms we were very concerned about possible future issues with personal information. To date we don't know what management found after their investigation or even if there was an investigation. This could have been such a great experience as there were so many positives, and I had such a great experience the first time, but sadly, I (we) won't go back. The people for which I set up this meeting travel extensively, internationally, and understand the ins and outs of hotels and some of the issues that one can experience while traveling, and even they will not return.

Room Tip: If you want quiet stay on a higher floor, away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quietlycool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC H, Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear quietlycool,

We are extremely disappointed to hear about your check out experience at PUBLIC. It is unfortunate that your positive PUBLIC Chicago experience ended with errors on your final bill. We are happy to hear that the charges were removed from your bill once returning home. Please accept our sincerest apology for this error. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in Chicago and had the opportunity to try our PUBLIC Express.

Please feel free to reach out to us so that we can apologize in person and also see what we can do to ensure you will choose to stay at PUBLIC during your next visit to Chicago.

We look forward to the opportunity to speak in person.

Sincerely,
PUBLIC Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,680)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

967 - 973 of 1,680 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

The lobby and bar at the Public hotel are fantastic as is the restaurant. Our hotel room was less so - very small. The halls were dark and uninviting. There was a room service tray in the hallway for all day awaiting pickup. Our room (308) had a hole in the carpet and the lamb skin cover on the chair seemed overused and dirty. Not enough towels for 2 people even though the reservation was for two. No place to put anything in the bathroom and the sink, although it was cool to look at, was uncomfortable to use. You could barely fit your hands under the stream of water. Form+function is the design goal. This fell short.
Sunday am call for roomservice required 4 tries as no one picked up the phone
Checked out and we were charged for roomservice breakfast when it was included in the room rate. Person at the desk asked me if i wanted a receipt when we checked out. If i hadn't gotten it, I may not have realized we were overcharged. The guy checking out next to me had numerous erroneous charges on his bill.
Charging 0.69 cents to print out a boarding pass in the business center is very bad taste especially in a chic hotel like the PUBLIC.
Our friends live across the street so we would stay again, but the services and actual rooms are not on par with the lobby and restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindieNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC H, Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear LindieNYC,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are very sorry that you experienced several short falls while staying with us a PUBLIC. We strongly value each guest’s feedback as it is necessary to help us improve our guest experience. We are disappointed that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. Please feel free to contact us directly so that we may further discuss your stay so that the next time you are in Chicago visiting your friends in the neighborhood you will choose to stay with us at PUBLIC.

Sincerely,
PUBLIC Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stayed here for a girls weekend with a total of four women. We did a two bedroom suite (king size bedroom and pullout couch). When we went to take down the pullout bed, we realized there were no sheets. We called down to the lobby and the concierge immediately sent up two people to make our bed with fluffy sheets and pillows. Beds were comfortable, room was incredibly clean and the service was fantastic!

In the morning, we went down to get cappuccinos in the coffee bar and I hate to say it, but they were even better than Starbucks (my usual coffee spot). I definitely recommend this hotel and the location truly cannot be beat!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newmanm500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC H, Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Newmanm500,

We are thrilled that you and your friends enjoyed your girl’s weekend while staying at PUBLIC Chicago. We apologize for the pullout bed not being prepared in advance, but we are happy to hear that our staff took care of the situation immediately. Yes, we couldn’t agree more about our La Colombe Coffee. Our Library Coffee Bar is a perfect spot to grab a cup of coffee to relax next to our cozy fireplace or grab cup on your way out the door.

We look forward to you and your friends choosing PUBLIC the next time you are visiting the city!

Sincerely,
PUBLIC Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

I got a deal on JetSetter.com and it was a perfect stay! We arrived very early in the day and they let us check in early (like 7 hours early!). The hotel & rooms were gorgeous with a clean/fresh feel with modern decor. I'm definitely staying here when I return to Chicago.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Micah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC H, Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Micah L,

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at PUBLIC! We are always very happy when we can get our guests checked in early to begin enjoying their experience with us at PUBLIC.

We look forward to you choosing PUBLIC the next time you are in Chicago!

Sincerely,
PUBLIC Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The website makes Public Hotel look way fancier than it really is. The lobby and common spaces are actually quite nice and enjoyable, but for $200/night in a deluxe room (an upgrade to the standard), the room really had nothing special to offer. The shower was a step-in bathtub, the bed was super low to the ground (but comfortable), views of surrounding tall buildings that were definitely nothing to brag about even though the front desk girl sold me on the upgrade because of the "view," the woodwork was dated, and it was was clear that the painters just slapped on tons of extra coats of paint that make everything look "thick" of paint. The walls were also very thin. I could the very casual conversation in the room next to me very well. Also, the desk and bed furniture looks like it came from IKEA. Honestly, I would have rather stayed at a Marriott. I had hoped to discover something unique which is why I opted for a non-chain this time, but I was let down. The staff, however, was friendly and the hotel was clean. I just wasn't "wow'd" like I should have been at $200/night, especially since the hotel is off the beaten path and not particualrly close to anything that you wouldn't need a taxi for. I would have been happy if this was $125/night or less.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RFrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC H, Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear RFrankie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We strongly value each guest’s feedback as it is necessary to help us improve our guest experience. We are disappointed that you were not completely satisfied with your room accommodations. We are pleased to hear our staff provided a friendly service to you during your stay and you were able to enjoy our lobby and restaurant area.

Please feel free to contact us directly to further discuss your stay so that the next time you are in Chicago you will choose to stay with us at PUBLIC.

Sincerely,
PUBLIC Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Fantastic and chic hotel. Great neighborhood , close to but not in the middle of the busy area of the Gold Coast. Many wonderful restaurants and shopping walking distance and very close to the lake for a walk or bike ride. Free bikes for guests too. I love staying there and have stayed there many times. My daughter lives in Chicago and the Public is my home away from home. Food is great , a little pricey. Coffee bar is great with comfortable and chic seating. Some of the upholstered furniture needs to be redone as they look a bit shabby, but, all in all, the Public Hotel is the most chic hotel in Chicago

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjr1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC H, Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear bjr1120,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at PUBLIC Chicago and were able to enjoy our Library Coffee Bar near our warm, cozy fireplace. We love that we are located in the Gold Coast neighborhood within walking distance of many great Chicago attractions. We look forward to seeing you soon for your next visit to Chicago to see your daughter!

Sincerely,
PUBLIC Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The food in the Pump House was excellent --we had brunch on Sunday and it was delicious! The beds were super comfortable. A nice hotel in a wonderful residential neighborhood! We loved the express breakfasts:)

Room Tip: Quiet rooms and great firm beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennyP316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC H, Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Penny P,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us here at PUBLIC. Our Pump Room Sunday Brunch features our Jean-George “farm to table” menu and has become one of Chicago’s favorite brunch locations. We are happy that you were also able to enjoy our PUBLIC Express which combines gourmet meals at a great value with a quick delivery time.

We look forward to you staying at PUBLIC again the next time you are in Chicago!

Sincerely,
PUBLIC Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#80 of 192 in Chicago
1,666 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 192 in Chicago
3,011 reviews
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#19 of 192 in Chicago
2,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Chicago

Address: 1301 N State Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610 (Formerly PUBLIC Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Chicago
#61 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#74 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $98 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a rich history rooted in Chicago’s Jazz Age, Ambassador Chicago is the city’s original boutique hotel dating back to 1926. Located in the heart of the Gold Coast, the iconic property has hosted the who’s who of the 20th and 21st centuries having served as a local beacon to countless celebrities. Uniquely individual, Ambassador Chicago is nestled among graceful mansions in a quiet, gilded neighborhood tucked into the center of the Windy City offering incredible views of Lake Michigan with easy access to Chicago’s main shopping boulevard, Michigan Avenue. With 285 spacious guestrooms, a 24-hour fitness center, two restaurants, thoughtful programming and amenities curated by local artisans and chefs, Ambassador Chicago maintains its distinct and legendary character while offering guests an authentic Chicago experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassador Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Public Chicago Hotel Chicago
Ambassador East Hotel Chicago
Hotel Ambassador East
Ambassador East Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing