We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel!”
Review of PUBLIC Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
PUBLIC Chicago
Ranked #95 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice hotel!”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed at the Public Hotel for 3 nights and only have good words!! The staff is very nice.
My room was huge,very clean with good views! The lobby is fantastic, so is the bar!
Will come back for sure!! :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRIS08006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC H, Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear CRIS08006,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay with us at PUBLIC. We are glad to hear you were able to enjoy three nights with us. At PUBLIC our staff believes in delivering a friendly, unique experience to all of the guests we serve. We are so happy you enjoyed our spacious rooms and our Library Bar where we serve our very own specialty cocktails.

We look forward to you choosing PUBLIC the next time you are in Chicago!

Sincerely,
PUBLIC Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    448
    258
    110
    61
See reviews for
263
502
91
430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

3 couples stayed here in April and I was not impressed. We arrived early and waited to check in. All 3 rooms were booked together. As they checked us in, each was offered an upgrade at a cost. The 3rd room was advised that their room was not ready and no upgrade was offered. All 3 rooms were on different floors. As we were early, it was understandable that the room was not ready, but I was advised I would be called as soon as it was ready. By 5:00, I'd received no call. When I asked at the desk, they said the room had been ready a while but they couldn't explain why no one had called as they had just gotten on shift. Most service during our stay felt like this, polite but passing the buck.
The room was small, the bed was hard, the carpet was stained, the bathroom door didn't latch, the soap and shampoo were the worst I've ever encountered at any hotel, there was no full length mirror and the only mirror in the bathroom fogged up because there was no fan (hard to get ready when someone has recently taken a shower), you can hear everything in the connecting room (which was not someone in my party but what sounded like 20 drunk men at 4 am), 2 drinks at the bar cost $27, a small pot of their "innovative" room service tea costs $9.
Any one or a couple of those things would just be me being picky but all together, the whole experience felt like being nickled and dimed. The towels and bedding were nice and the location was convenient and the staff was not rude.
I will not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC H, Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear K2511,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay with us at PUBLIC. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced checking into your room. As you know, rooms are not always available for early check-in, however, we should have provided you with a timely update on the status of your room. A shift change should never impact the level of service we provide to our guests. We will use your feedback to improve our check in process when rooms are not ready to prevent future mistakes.

We appreciate you sharing your feedback and would like the opportunity to speak with you further to discuss your experience. Please feel free to reach out to us so that we can apologize in person and also see what we can do to ensure you will choose to stay at PUBLIC during your next visit to Chicago.

We look forward to the opportunity to speak in person.

Sincerely,
PUBLIC Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

My only complaint was that bathroom was too small. Needed more counter space and space in general. Loved everything else! Location to everything was great! Restaurant and bar were great, staff was friendly and helpful, bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amcberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC H, Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear amcberry,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review on your experience at PUBLIC. We are thrilled that you had the opportunity to enjoy the Pump Room and our bar. Our staff works very hard to deliver an exceptional experience to our guests and we are pleased to hear they exceeded your expectation.

We look forward to you staying with us again at PUBLIC when you visit Chicago in the future!

Sincerely,
PUBLIC Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2014

centrally located, fabulous remodel of hotel lobby, rooms & restaurant, drinks & food outstanding only out done by the TERRIFIC STAFF who seemed genuinely pleased to cater to our every need. Charming!

Room Tip: corner suites offers views of charming Gold Coast neighborhood & city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summitBysonCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC H, Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear summitBysonCity,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent experience at PUBLIC. We are so happy to hear that our staff exceeded your service expectations.

We look forward to you choosing PUBLIC for your next visit to Chicago!

Sincerely,
PUBLIC Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My wife and I were able to get away for a Saturday night and stayed at Public Chicago. Very clean and sleek. Perfectly located. Service was professional and friendly. Very classy and modern. Perfect for a couple or a group looking to have fun stay in Chicago.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC H, Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Patrick D,

We are thrilled to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your Saturday night stay with us here at PUBLIC. We take great pride in providing a friendly, unique experience for all of our guests.
We look forward to you and your wife choosing PUBLIC for your next visit to Chicago!

Sincerely,
PUBLIC Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The former Ambassador East has been reborn as the young, hip, pretentious Public Chicago Hotel. We arrived at check-in time, exhausted from our travels to find our rooms were not ready due to "full turn around." There were, however, upgraded rooms ready for a $50 extra charge, per room, per night. We opted to wait and were told we'd receive a call when our rooms were ready. We did not receive a call. By 9 p.m. we checked back to find they had been ready for some time. The staff apologized politely but never attempted to make things right. Rooms were tiny but clean with chic,modern decor. To our surprise, our room had one queen bed, no coffee maker, very low water pressure. There seemed to be no sound proofing of rooms because when our neighbors brought a party back to their room at midnight (and 1, 2 and for the final time at 4 a.m.) it was as if the party was in our room. On the plus side, the rooms had a nice flat screen TV and wi-fi and the valet parking attendants brought our car promptly every morning. The lobby is beautiful but at night sounded like a night club.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC H, Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Tracy L,

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your valet experience and our 42” LCD high definition TVs when staying at PUBLIC.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at check-in and not being informed in a timely manner when your room was ready. This is not our standard of practice when a guest is waiting for their room. Thank you for sharing that the water pressure was low in your room. We will have our Engineering team address that issue to prevent it in the future. The sound proofing in the guest rooms is certainly a challenge that we do face since we remodeled an older hotel. We understand that it can make it difficult when your neighbors are not respecting your time for sleep. In the future, please contact the Front Desk so we can address the issue immediately and you can enjoy your stay.

Please feel free to reach out to us here at PUBLIC to see what we can do so you would consider staying with us again in the future.

We look forward to the opportunity to speak to you.

Sincerely,
PUBLIC Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Convenient location in the Gold Coast of Chicago (walking distance to the Magnificent Mile) and a very comfortable bed, though the pillows could be much better (mine were slightly lumpy). The bathroom toiletries left much to be desired (the smell of the lotion was actually off-putting, but luckily I had my own!). The bathroom was minuscule and the bathtub was high, which could present a problem for older travelers desiring to take a shower.
Attention to detail could be better--for example, the glass by my bedside was not replaced with a clean one, and I am not sure the room was carefully vacuumed. The halls were gray and the carpet in the room already showing signs of fatigue. The bill I received was wrong and had to be corrected.
The decor is stark, but the lines are clean and pleasing. Definitely more upper-scale than IKEA, generally in a very modern minimalist style.
However, my biggest gripe was that the elevator was slow and was not secured by card keys. On Friday night, the lobby was a lively scene and anyone could have gotten in the elevator and gotten to the rooms. There was a guard discreetly posted, but frankly he was not checking that people going to the upper floors were guests. As a result, I did not feel safe. As I was a solo traveler, I would not recommend this hotel to other women. Perhaps I am overly sensitive to the safety issue, but it actually felt creepy to be in the long gray halls knowing that anyone could get there with the elevator. I double-bolted the door, but really did not feel safe.

Room Tip: The standard room looking to the inside courtyard is quiet but does not have a pleasing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGrassini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC H, Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear AGrassini,

Thank for taking the time to share your experience at PUBLIC in regards to your room amenities and safety. We apologize that you did not receive the attention to detail that should be expected for an experience a PUBLIC. We will use your feedback to continue to train and enhance our service. We are sorry you did not feel safe when returning to your room due to the guests in the Pump Room and Library Bar area. We will certainly take your insight on your experience and share it with our team to ensure you and future guests will feel more secure when staying on PUBLIC.

Please feel free to reach out to us here at PUBLIC to see what we can do so you would consider staying with us again in the future.

We look forward to the opportunity to speak to you.

Sincerely,
PUBLIC Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,808 reviews
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#75 of 190 in Chicago
1,539 reviews
dana hotel and spa
#56 of 190 in Chicago
3,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PUBLIC Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PUBLIC Chicago

Property: PUBLIC Chicago
Address: 1301 N State Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610 (Formerly Ambassador East Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Chicago
#59 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#63 Family Hotel in Chicago
#74 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — PUBLIC Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a rich history rooted in Chicago’s Jazz Age, Ambassador Chicago is the city’s original boutique hotel dating back to 1926. Located in the heart of the Gold Coast, the iconic property has hosted the who’s who of the 20th and 21st centuries having served as a local beacon to countless celebrities. Uniquely individual, Ambassador Chicago is nestled among graceful mansions in a quiet, gilded neighborhood tucked into the center of the Windy City offering incredible views of Lake Michigan with easy access to Chicago’s main shopping boulevard, Michigan Avenue. With 285 spacious guestrooms, a 24-hour fitness center, two restaurants, thoughtful programming and amenities curated by local artisans and chefs, Ambassador Chicago maintains its distinct and legendary character while offering guests an authentic Chicago experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your PUBLIC Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Public Chicago Hotel Chicago
Ambassador East Hotel Chicago
Hotel Ambassador East
Ambassador East Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing