We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced but great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of PUBLIC Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
PUBLIC Chicago
Ranked #90 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“overpriced but great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Beautiful and classy. Everything was clean and professional. Beds comfortable, a lot of light in the rooms, nice bathroom (not much water pressure)....horrible hallways...really? The design is beautiful hut I guess they forgot those.
We booked 3 nights online and called to extend our stay but this never happened. By that time the hotel was almost full and they asked twice what we paid online for their mistake. Also when we booked online We booked a Queen but received 2 separate beds. That was an easy fix. Just $25 more each night.
I would have given this place a 4 because of the beautiful lobby and nice and comfortable rooms but the aggravation of looking for a different hotel 2 days in advance, in the middle of spring break took away from the experience (we ended up going to Villa d'Città which was so fantastic)

Room Tip: Great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip D, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and considering us to be "beautiful and classy."

I hope that you will visit us again.

Thank you.

Regards,
Philip Dailey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    411
    237
    91
    50
See reviews for
222
471
82
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great location! Beautiful lobby an bars. Friendly staff! Felt very safe in the area. Good stay for a night out and shopping on the Magnificat mile!! Rooms CLEAN! The staff were awesome!! We've stayed in Chicago many times! Public was the best for location, price, size of room, adminities, and staff! Will stay at Public again!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rsawesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip D, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you very much for the 5 Star review.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards,
Philip Dailey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I usually stay at Hyatt properties, and I usually get a "comfortable" room with a nice view. I like to wake to the sunrise, or at least be reminded of where I am each day by looking out the window.

While I wasn't initially blown away by my back side view from my room, it wasn't until later that I realized there was so much to appreciate inside the hotel, that there wasn't much time to gaze out.

I arrived at the hotel for dinner at 7pm, and the bar and restaurant was already filling up with an attractive crowd. Being from LA, I appreciated the aesthetics. It almost equaled the visual and oral appeal of the dishes served at the hotel's restaurant, The Pump Room.

My room was spacious for any city hotel, but I had an upgraded floor plan. The design touches were enviable, and clearly Ian Schrager's perfectionist influence was all over the place. The bathroom reminded me of a pre-WWII apartment, but was completely updated and blended modern touches to the nostalgic space.

The minibar was well stocked, but I couldn't find a menu of prices. My favorite touch was the amenity drawer which had snacks, and other nick-nacks, along with a quality scarf and knit cap with a subtle and classy PUBLIC label sewn in. l would've taken them both to combat the Chicago wind and cold, but I wasn't sure how much I'd owe for them.

Room Tip: The X23 rooms are GREAT, but the lower floor overlooks HVAC
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Armandaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip D, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you very much for the 5 Star review.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards,
Philip Dailey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We once again enjoyed our stay at the Public Hotel! Booking directly through a spring 2013 promo secured our room at a good rate. Upon arrival on the busy St. Paddy's Day weekend, we realized we would need more sleeping accommodations. We were upgraded for both nights to the Celebrity Suite for a reasonable upgrade fee for the spacious two room suite which accommodated our three daughters unexpected visits. All staff was top notch and service excellent. We commented that we didn't think the Floor Manager/Manager ever slept as he was always on duty and ready for great conversation. The Library Bar and Coffee Bar felt like one is sitting in their own home next to the fireplace. Valet parking service is terrific and a shout out to Sal and his crew who truly make waiting for the car or securing a taxi a pleasure. We will be back!

Room Tip: Our room was located on the street which became loud at bar time, but considering the celebrating ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arendtfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip D, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you very much for the 5 Star review.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards,
Philip Dailey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is perfect for business or a getaway. It is in the best part of Chicago, quiet but in the center of everything. The restaurant and bar are always full and the food is great. Room was modern and clean with great toiletry products and beautiful bath. Staff is friendly and professional. Only draw-back is no spa.

Room Tip: Suite with the terrace is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Proctorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip D, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for recommending that our hotel is perfect for both business and a getaway and that you thought our location is in the center of everything.

Please come back soon!

Regards,
Philip Dailey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Amazing! I was recently in a wedding and the whole wedding party as well as guests stayed at the Public for several days.
1: Service (absolutely remarkable)
The desk staff were fantastic - providing help with many details and arrangements. The door staff were great, helping transport many party essentials to the rooms. Christopher, the concergie, I love him. I honestly don't know what I would have done without him. He was always on beat and one step ahead. The restaurant/bar staff occompanied our rather large impromptu gatherings with ease. I honestly don't know if I have been anywhere with such seamless and impressive service.
2: The room
The design is modern, very sleek but still relaxing. Even my husband remarked that he usually does not like modern and he liked our room. We had a corner King room which was very roomy with a large bathroom. The large windows provided a nice view of the lake and the city.
3: The Room Service
I ordered many pots of coffee through room service (no coffee pot in room). The service is fast, even faster for their boxed lunches. The food was healthy and tasted amazing. Only minutes for a robe or toothbrush.
4. The location
The hotel was walking distance or a short cab ride to most Chigago attractions. We found that there were plenty of restaurants, shops, bars, and convenience stores within a couple block radius and felt safe walking at night.
I highly recommend this hotel for anyone planning a visit to Chicago's gold coast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coveredbridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip D, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Wow! Thank you for such an outstanding review.

On behalf of Christopher and everyone here at PUBLIC Chicago, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and we thank you for recommending our hotel.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Philip Dailey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

As you walk in to the Public, you are graced with the most elegant display of chandeliers and captured into another element with the amazing scent of the hotel. We were very lucky to have been upgraded to a Loft. The room was clean and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and not jaded. It was a wonderful experience for our "staycation". We would do it again and will recommend the hotel to all our out of town friends and family.

Room Tip: Make reservations for the Pump Room in advance. It fills up fast. Enjoy the Library Bar's cock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Advisor861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip D, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for the top notch review!

We hope to see you again soon for another great "staycation" at PUBLIC Chicago.

Regards,
Philip Dailey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Gold Coast
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#63 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
dana hotel and spa
#49 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,278 reviews
The James Chicago
#44 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PUBLIC Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PUBLIC Chicago

Property: PUBLIC Chicago
Address: 1301 N State Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610-2334 (Formerly Ambassador East Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Chicago
#55 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#63 Family Hotel in Chicago
#74 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — PUBLIC Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PUBLIC, conceived by Ian Schrager, is an entirely new class of hotel. Its fundamental attributes are innovative, sophisticated, authentic style; spot-on, personalized, empathetic "essential" service; lasting comfort with complete functionality, all at an affordable price and offering tremendous value. For the first time, this type of hotel experience will be available for everyone and anyone who wants it ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your PUBLIC Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Public Chicago Hotel Chicago
Ambassador East Hotel Chicago
Hotel Ambassador East
Ambassador East Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing