We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with top notch service.”
Review of Ambassador Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambassador Chicago
Ranked #101 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I share the same experience as JenniferG2011. A lot of effort and detail in every single space of the hotel. You feel as if all the staff genuinely wants to be at your service! Every request was dealt with efficiently. PUBLIC Chicago definitely has the feel and look of a modern luxury hotel but with Midwestern charm and hospitality.

My room was spacious and spotless. The hotel is in walking distance of everywhere you would ever need to be.

The food at the Pump Room (the beautifully decorated hotel restaurant) was bursting with fresh flavors and very creative. Waiters were extremely knowledgeable about items on the menu - and each had its little story. Very affordable also. I am a big fan of the Farm to table concept and appreciated that there were seasonal ramps and rhubarbs on the menu. Excellent venue for after-work dinner/drinks. It seems like the hip place to be for swanky (but friendly locals)

My favorite cocktail from the bar was the "Pump and Circumstance" Very inventive.

Overall excellent experience, and I will recommend this hotel to my friends!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natsilicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC_Manager, General Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed reading your review and reading that you enjoyed your visit! We hope to welcome you back in the near future, our Pump & Circumstance cocktails will be here waiting for your return!

Warm Regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,680)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,413 - 1,419 of 1,680 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

We spent 2 nights in the hotel and it was definitely one of the best experiences. The staff was super friendly and helpful. Downtown is a quick walk and also a few blocks from the lake. The rooms were very modern and comfortable. I really enjoyed dining at The Pump Room. The food was delicious and again, very friendly staff. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LivSF79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC_Manager, General Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience and for providing us with such a fantastic review! We hope to welcome you back again during your next visit to Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Spent 6 nights at Public in early May 2012. Definitely an "in" place but I'm not sure why. Rooms have big screen tv with Hi def service but only 30 some channels. Bath is updated but not renovated. Toilet seat is cheap plastic and hooks on the wall are dollar store quality. Comfortable bed, low to the ground with slats and no box spring, but no coffee in the room. Pump room rest is overpriced and too low chairs make for uncomfortable dining since some designer thought it would be chic to put 2" thick table tops in and make patrons feel like they are 12 again. Coffee is Starbucks priced in the lobby breakfast room. Free in room internet a plus, but lobby Macs were often not working right. Residential location a plus, a short walk from Rush St. But still a 10 minute walk to Michigan Ave. Steps up from the street to lobby means you need bellman for heavy wheelies.

Room Tip: Ask for a king room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC_Manager, General Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

Thank you for providing us with your candid feedback. It is unfortunate to read that you did not thoroughly enjoy your recent stay with us. We have taken note of your comments and will make sure to share them with our staff.

Warm Regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We were lucky enough to get in on the $1 promotion, go to there website and sign up for a chance once a quarter they give away 3 rooms a night for 90 days for $1. It is a very fun neighborhood hotel that you don't see as often in Chicago. The service was outstanding, they opened their "living room" that was closed for the night so we could watch a game. The Pump Room and Library lounge were both great.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC_Manager, General Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

We were thrilled to read that you enjoyed your experience at PUBLIC and thank you for sharing! We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Staff, restaurants, location all outstanding! A couple of blocks from the Gold Coast trail. The Pump Room restaurant is perfect for breakfast and/or dinner. Nice wine list too.

Room Tip: the standard queen rates are a deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC_Manager, General Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Thank you for such a great review! It was great to read that we have become your go-to Chicago location and can not wait for your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

We found the staff to be very accommodating and they went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The brunch in the Pump Room was wonderful. Our room was also very nice and comfortable. I also enjoyed that we were really close to Michigan Avenue, but it felt more like you were staying in a neighborhood. We definitely enjoyed our stay and would love to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NTaylor81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC_Manager, General Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

We were thrilled to read your review and to hear that you enjoyed all that PUBLIC Chicago had to offer during your visit. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The Public is exactly what is should be a well-designed hotel, run efficiently by friendly people at a fair price... nicely done.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdstowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC_Manager, General Manager at Ambassador Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Thank you for your great review and staying PUBLIC! We hope to have you as our guest again!

Warm Regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#80 of 192 in Chicago
1,669 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 192 in Chicago
3,013 reviews
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#19 of 192 in Chicago
2,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Chicago

Address: 1301 N State Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610 (Formerly PUBLIC Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Chicago
#61 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#74 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $98 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a rich history rooted in Chicago’s Jazz Age, Ambassador Chicago is the city’s original boutique hotel dating back to 1926. Located in the heart of the Gold Coast, the iconic property has hosted the who’s who of the 20th and 21st centuries having served as a local beacon to countless celebrities. Uniquely individual, Ambassador Chicago is nestled among graceful mansions in a quiet, gilded neighborhood tucked into the center of the Windy City offering incredible views of Lake Michigan with easy access to Chicago’s main shopping boulevard, Michigan Avenue. With 285 spacious guestrooms, a 24-hour fitness center, two restaurants, thoughtful programming and amenities curated by local artisans and chefs, Ambassador Chicago maintains its distinct and legendary character while offering guests an authentic Chicago experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassador Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Public Chicago Hotel Chicago
Ambassador East Hotel Chicago
Hotel Ambassador East
Ambassador East Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing