We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Downtown location not as shown on website”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown - Magnificent Mile
Ranked #157 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Arizona
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Downtown location not as shown on website”
Reviewed April 13, 2007

Room was not as featured on website. Too small for conference stay --no desk or chair -- barely enough room for the beds. Not vacuumed prior to arrival- required a call to housekeeping. Refills of daily needs had to be requested- shampoo, glasses, toilet paper. Nice folks
working there, though. Location was good for conference, shopping, restaurants. If money is your only concern, this is the place. Otherwise, we recommend that you call for reservations and ensure that the room meets your needs. There are larger rooms but paying in advance prevented us from upgrading our room, which we attempted to do.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Size of room
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RevuR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    293
    282
    207
    239
See reviews for
234
248
121
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woodlawn Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2007

Chicago: Red Roof Inn Chicago,Illinois Ontario St "Not so clean''
Date: April 6th 2007
Reviewer: Vistor

Our family just returned from our trip to Chicago. We stayed in the Red Roof Inn. The first night we stayed there it was okay. When we woke up the next morning my son had really big bumps on his leg all over! My mom went to the front desk and asked them if they clean the beds a lot.They said they change them daily. We went to sleep the next night and he still had them but worse. We asked them about it and they said they are pet friendly. When we left they wern't concered about it. We really didn't like our stay at the Red Roof Inn.

Helpful?
1 Thank WoodlawnIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Jerusalem
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2007

Receptionist was extremely nice- while we ordered a queen bedroom, she offered to upgrade us with no extra charge to a king bedroom, and also ask for our preferences whether we want upper or lower floor. Also asked if we would be using a laptop and anyhow gave us a very nice and spacious room (1002), which looked like it was quite recently renovated.
As previous posts, I concur that the location couldn't be better. On the street the hotel is located are both a good Indian ("Indian Garden") and Italian restaurant ("Bice"). Also, as recommended in previous posts- the "West egg cafe" is an excellent breakfast option.
There is also a cinema complex near by on Ohio st. (just across a "Virgin" mega store).
Our only complaint was that this red roof is a t-mobile hotspot, and it didn't function well. We bought a pre-paid weekly pass, and had a lot of problems both with the initial connection to the service and in later on usages. Still, I'm guessing the problem is more related to t-mobile service than to the red roof.
Anyhow found the red roof to be a really good deal and had a pleasant stay there.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank holydolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seward, Nebraska
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2007

There is only one reason to stay here - the location 1 block off Michigan Avenue and a few blocks from Lake Michigan is great.

That said, there are many reasons not to:
- rooms are incredibly small by American standards, and even compared to city centre hotels in a number of European cities
- there is no charm
- staff is neither rude nor customer service focused
- in the summer, you'll tend to get fellow guests in the early 20s looking for a cheap place to stay while they party in Chicago, which may or may not be desirable to you
- it's not as "renovated" as they lead you to believe
- while not dirty, the room wasn't clean

But most of all, reviewers focus on the price. Sorry, but that just isn't a sufficient reason to stay here when you can use Priceline.

If you've never used Priceline, consider Chicago a great chance to start. In April 2006 I booked a room at the Hyatt Regency on Wacker through Priceline for $75 each night and again booked the same rate during our trip in February 2007 at the Holiday Inn Mart Plaza. In addition to simply being nicer hotels, both rooms were 2 to 4 times larger than our room at the Red Roof. Literally...

So, if location is all you care about, Red Roof can be a good find. If your focus is location and price, due yourself a favor and try Priceline first. You won't regret it, even if you pay a little more. If your focus is anything else, don't think about staying here.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank SewardLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2007

My husband and I got a "VIP"pass at any Red Roof Inn because we had such a DREADFUL stay in the St. Louis location LAST year.

We decided to try the "Redesigned Rededicated " Chicago site last weekend. The ONLY thing this hotel has going for it, is the location, right off Michigan Avenue. If not for that, you would think you've landed in some tenement in a seedy side of town.

We were greeted by the desk clerk in a friendly fashion, and given our room keys to our 9th floor room. We took the elevator to the 9th floor, and found our room in the corner. The room was no larger than a small college dorm room, and was about 50 degrees! It was shabbily decorated with drab, dirty-looking bedspreads, and non-descript walls.

We turned on the heat immediately, and to our surprise the heater started buzzing very loudly. We both agreed we would NOT be able to sleep through the noise, so I asked for another room at the front desk. The clerk seemed surprised that anything was wrong in the first room, but gave us keys to another room on the 2nd floor. (I wondered why he didn't give me this room the FIRST time instead of shippng us up to the 9th)

We took our overnight bags to the "new, improved" room, to the 2nd floor to open the elevator door to the overwhelming smell of cigarette smoke. Since I had requested a non-smoking room, this did not bode well. However, once we got into our room (again in the corner) and shut the door, the smoke odor was not obtrusive. We decided this room would be "fine" for just an overnight stay. It was slightly larger, but still very small and drab.

The window curtains had to be either SHUT completely or opened to all of the other high rises around, as there was no under-liner to let in just the light, but give you privacy. The room being claustrophobicly small, we chose to leave the curtains open until bedtime.

Bathroom facilities were minimal......tiny sink, with no place to put toiletries......old tub and toilet that needed to be replumbed, since the toilet "ran on" all night long, even after several attempts to "jiggle the handle". There was a very narrow shelf over the toilet, but it leaned down toward the toilet, so nothing could be placed here unless you wanted it IN the toilet.

If all you require is a place to lay your head that is right off the magnificent mile, and are not going to be spending any time in your room, I suppose this hotel would fit the bill. It IS much cheaper than most. I will say the sheets seemed clean, as did the towels, but the bedspread was questionable at best.

We've decided we're going to steer clear of the RED ROOF from here on. It's left a bad taste in our mouths twice in two years. Like the old saying goes, "Fool me once, shame on you.......fool me twice, shame on me!"

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Serenity_Now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomington, indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2007

I travelled to this hotel with my Girl Scout troop. We were looking for the best location for as little money as we could get away with. The Red Roof Inn was perfect. The rooms are small, but we weren't in the room for more than sleeping and showers. The front desk staff was very helpful and understood that we were travelling on a tight budget. The hotel was fairly quiet for being so close to Michigan Avenue, we only heard a few ambulances. I would highly recommend this hotel to budget-minded families who want a downtown experience.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the small rooms
  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blmgtngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2007

I booked the Red Roof Inn but didn't expect all that much based on the reviews from here and other sites.

However what we got was quite surprising! It wasn't the most fabulous of hotels but it was more than worth what we paid and unless you plan on staying in the hotel all day, you don't need much more than what you get from the place!

The reception staff were really really nice. They gave us extra pillows, towels and hangers. Not just one or two like most hotels - they gave us loads. The people behind reception were helpful and friendly. We asked for a few things during our stay and they were super helpful.

The room was huge! It was basic but that's what I expected. It had a king size bed when I'm pretty sure I booked a double - bonus! The only bad thing was the fact that the window didn't open but it's to be expected. It was cleaned daily and was always spotless.

The location is brilliant. Short walk from Navy Pier, John Hancock Centre, Michigan Avenue and most importantly the Herseys shop!!!!

I was so surprised by the Red Roof Inn. I was expecting to be a bit disappointed but it was pretty cool! Would defo stay again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xmcnickyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Inn of Chicago
Inn of Chicago
#138 of 188 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,737 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#102 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown - Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown - Magnificent Mile

Property: Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown - Magnificent Mile
Address: 162 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-2809
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown - Magnificent Mile 2*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Beginning March 1, 2017, Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown – Magnificent Mile will be temporarily closing. This historic building in the heart of Downtown Chicago will undergo a 360-degree, multi-million dollar renovation; every aspect of the Inn will be touched and we are very excited to reveal this new and improved hotel. Stay tuned, as there are more magnificent details to come!* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Red Roof Inn, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown - Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Chicago
Red Roof Inn Chicago
Red Roof Inns Chicago
Chicago Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing