We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Below Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Ranked #155 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Clarkston, mi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Below Average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2006

Why is this hotel such a great deal for being just steps from Michigan Avenue? Because the rooms need serious attention!
Housecleaning vacuumed, but didn't bother to go into the corners or next to the bed (we found skittles, M&M's, Advil, and dust bunnies on the floor). They must have used a dirty rag to clean the bathroom. Hair on the walls in the soap tray and top of toilet. The toilet seat was falling off, and when we arrived, there was no soap or extra toilet paper (OOPS!). The bathroom smelled like urine which made us wonder if they even bothered to use disinfectant cleaner. We realized that it was Halloween, but did not appreciate the REAL spider webs all over the windows.

Last, but not least, there is a hospital nearby and Ontario is the one way street that the ambulances use to race to the scene with loud sirens and honking horns. Remember, accidents happen at ALL times of the day and night, even at three in the morning. Bring your earplugs!

We stayed at this hotel because it was one of the cheapest near MIchigan Ave., and we were just looking for a place to sleep. Now we know why it was so cheap and NOW YOU KNOW WHY ALSO.

If you are bringing children, do not even think about staying at this dirty, unsanitary, siren screaming hotel.

Buyer beware! You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bbgirl525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    293
    282
    206
    239
See reviews for
233
248
121
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2006

Nine friends and I decided to stay here while we were in town to run the Chicago Half Marathon. We all wanted to be near shopping and good dining, too , so I suggested the Red Roof Inn Downtown based on other reviews I had read on Trip Advisor. Great Location and great value! Rooms were clean and the staff was okay (some more accomodating than others). After reading about the small rooms, we booked double deluxe rooms (four women / room) . The size was just fine for our needs. However, we could not get rooms next to each other as there is only one doulbe deluxe room per floor. We were able to get a late checkout (so that we could shower up after the race before the long ride home). The staff seemed hesitant to grant this request, but when we explained the reason why, they relented. I would not hesitate to stay here again or to recommend this place to buget-minded travellers.

  • Liked — location, value
  • Disliked — check in, requesting late checkout
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hollybel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2006

My husband and I just got back from a weeklong trip to Chicago.I was adamant to stay in the downtown or Mag Mile areas despite the high room rates because I wanted us to be in the middle of everything. But we were on a budget.

The pros:
Rates about half of those for hotels just across the street.
Clean rooms and quiet, considering the location of downtown.
We had the choice of several king size rooms on different floors - getting a 5th floor room was ideal as it kept noise to a minimum.
Location - just a short walk to Water Tower and Hancock. Michigan one block over.
A great breakfast place just down the street - the West Egg Cafe.
Free coffee, hot water for tea and hot chocolate available at all times
A 24 hour Dunkin Donuts/Baskin Robbins is across the street
Patient staff who answers questions of first time visitors instead of brushing them off

We will definitely recommend them for anyone on a budget who wants to stay in downtown/Mag Mile Chicago.

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location
  • Disliked — Small elevators
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for high floor room for less street noise
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PhilliePhanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2006

On the advice of other TripAdvisor members, I requested a king size bed. The room was small, but there was enough room for one person. With two people, it would be quite cozy. Three people - e.g., parents and a child - well, it's probably best to pick a location and stick with it.

The elevators are a bit on the slow side. The hallways are narrow and tired looking, but the rooms are fine. The mattress was in good shape, not too soft, not too hard. There are reading lights over the bed and a desk and lamp. The bathrooms are small and the door will not stay open. And if you had the door open you couldn't use the toilet, anyway. There was plenty of hot water. There is no extra counter space. My sink and toilet top slanted forward, so anything not carefully place would slide into the sink or toilet. The tub is not low sided nor does it have grab bars, so if you have a disability plan ahead to get a room that is accessible. The tub does have some texture on the bottom so it is not slippery.

Wi fi is available for a fee. If you are only there for a day or two you might want to get day passes ($9.99). One month's access is $39.99. I lucked out and got an end room, which had two windows, so connection strength was excellent. The desk clerk said it was not very good in some rooms, in which case the guest has to come down to the lobby.

The lobby is nice with places to sit, a TV, and tourist info. There are two machines that offer a variety of coffees, hot water, and hot chocolate all day. There are no steps to deal with, an automatic door, and valet parking available.

But the shortcomings of this place are overlooked by the great value and great location. It's cheaper or as cheap as any other place downtown. With an AAA discount, my rates ranged from $80-$98/night (depending on whether it was a weekday or weeknight). It's within easy walking distance of many restaurants, some of which are recommended in travel guides. There are small food stores, drugstores and a laundromat within a few block radius. There is a subway station about 4-5 blocks away, but Michigan Avenue is but a block away and you can catch many buses there. While the room is average, the problems can be overlooked. I rate this property above average because of price and location.

Helpful?
3 Thank Violet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2006

I was a bit worried about this place from some of the reviews....but I needn't have been. The staff was courtious, the hotel was clean (albiet small), and the location could not be better. If you like luxury hotels and spend most of your time on vacation in your hotel room...splurge and stay somplace else. But if you intend to spend your time experiencing Chicago and just sleeping in your room at night....this is the place for you (and you'll save yourself a good $100 per night!) I paid $140/night.

  • Liked — cheap!
  • Disliked — small!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank pumisimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2006

We stayed at the Red Roof over the July 4th holiday, we have stayed in Chicago before and have paid more than $220 for a nice hotel, this cost us $110 a night inclusive of tax. The rooms are very clean and whilst reviews on this site state the rooms are tiny I would say they are smaller than a standard motel room but not tiny(we were travelling route 66 and this was our first stop on a 3 week stay so we had plenty of luggage). The location as most reviews have stated is superb and cannot really be beaten. The free coffee in the foyer is a nice touch in a morning although it is available 24 hours. Overall we were impressed with the Red Roof and would have no hesitation whatsoever in staying again,

  • Liked — Location
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a free coffee in the morning (French Vanilla)
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vegasking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2006

Stayed for 3 nights. Originally rqstd one bed-got two (booked on-line 3rd party). Room quite small w/two beds. Have to shift body sideways to let other person by, though rooms/bath (tiny) are very clean. Went to front desk that evening and spoke w/Allyn who was incapable of a securing a next day room change and was told to speak to anyone the next morning. Valerie the next morning, was quick and courteous to help locate a one bedded room. Rm804 queen. Though it was a smoking room, what a difference! Much roomier room and bathroom; figured out it was a handicap room, complete w/writing desk and chair. Definitely made the stay more enjoyable. Thanks again to Valerie who was kind and helpful! Erica was great at c\i & c\o, and w/local brkfst. recommendations. Go to West Egg Cafe for breakfast 'til 3pm, if your a late sleeper, two blocks away. All $hopping w/in walking distance. KING TUT exhibit 'til Jan.30 is disappointing-no sarcophagus. Get tickets in advance, sells out quickly for the day.

  • Liked — second room- roomier
  • Disliked — first room- small and allyn @ front desk incapable of simple room change
  • Tips/Secrets — valerie and erica @ front desk for help
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bjeffreym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Inn of Chicago
Inn of Chicago
#138 of 187 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#102 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Property: Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Address: 162 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-2809
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile 2*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Chicago
Red Roof Inn Chicago
Red Roof Inns Chicago
Chicago Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing