We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown - Magnificent Mile
Ranked #158 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Deal”
Reviewed June 17, 2005

Stayed here for 5 days. Decided to get the business 17" TV and got a pretty spacious room. Suspect by paying a little extra got a slightly bigger room which was more than adequate for the price and well worth it.

Location is extremely good. The only down side was that the toilet was "wedged" against the wall meaning it was uncomfortable to use. Not sure why this was done as there was plenty of space to move it out a little.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank wilytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    293
    282
    208
    239
See reviews for
234
248
121
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2005

My friends and I stayed at the Red Roof Inn from June 3-6. I had trouble deciding between 2 and 3 stars. The room was very clean, which is wonderful, but it was SO SMALL!!! We just could not get over how small the rooms were. I had read reviews in which they said that, but thought, "How small could they REALLY be?" and booked there anyway. The answer: SMALL!!! :) There was hardly anyplace to store our luggage or anything, no room to walk at all, and the bathroom was tiny too. It reminded me of some of the tiny hotel rooms you see in Europe or something. The front desk staff was nice enough. This is definitely a no-frills hotel, and you get what you pay for. So, the good things were that it was a clean hotel, but if I had to do it all over again, I would pay a little more money and stay someplace nicer.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank STLgirl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chicago hotels

St. Louis, MO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2005

Great place, location, and price! If you want to go to the windy city for a couple of nights, this place is perfect. You are just a few steps away from Michigan Ave. My room was clean when I arrived, and was cleaned every morning. My only complaint is with the heat in the room. It was about 10 degrees outside, and the heater was blowing cold air. I went to the front desk to ask for a blanket. (I'm thinking for the rate I'm paying at this place, asking for an extra blanket is fine. I could be paying $400/night across the street at another hotel, and still have the same problem.) Not a big deal to me. When I came back to the room the next day, they had replaced the heating unit in my room! The staff was very friendly. It is not a place for those looking for the treatment you receive at some other hotels. There is no free breakfast, no bellhop, no room service, and no USA today paper delivered at your door. (I think a free paper might have been available at the front desk though, as well as free coffee) Valet parking is available. I paid $24 for it. If I chose to park the car myself and carry my stuff to the room, it would have been $22. 2 extra bucks well spent in my opinion. Best value in downtown Chicago!

Helpful?
23 Thank Eblank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2004

You probably cannot find a hotel with a better location in Chicago at a rate anywhere nearly as reasonable as the Red Roof Inn. The rooms are small and somewhat out of date, but if you are in Chicago, why are staying in your room anyway? Get out, eat the great food and have fun. We asked the staff for recommendations, and received great advice on restraurants and cafes. Although I consider this a good place to stay when you are in Chicago for fun, I could not recommend the Red Roof for a business stay, unless your goal is to save money.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank GeorgeX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Inn of Chicago
Inn of Chicago
#144 of 189 in Chicago
1,756 reviews
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hotel EMC2, Autograph Collection
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown - Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown - Magnificent Mile

Property: Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown - Magnificent Mile
Address: 162 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-2809
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown - Magnificent Mile 2*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Beginning March 1, 2017, Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown – Magnificent Mile will be temporarily closing. This historic building in the heart of Downtown Chicago will undergo a 360-degree, multi-million dollar renovation; every aspect of the Inn will be touched and we are very excited to reveal this new and improved hotel. Stay tuned, as there are more magnificent details to come!* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown - Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Chicago
Red Roof Inn Chicago
Red Roof Inns Chicago
Chicago Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing