We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown - Magnificent Mile
Ranked #161 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed January 30, 2013

my husband and I stayed here for the yearly UFC on Fox that hits chicago in jan. and we had a wonderful stay. It was very close to everything, and the room was so nice. Updated and clean. The bed was very comfy and the whole experience was amazing!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandyv463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIChicago, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown - Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you for the good review! We agree that our updated look is a great improvement, and we are receiving complements on our new beds. It is our goal to provide our guests with clean, affordable lodging and friendly, helpful service. Hope to see you again!

Heidi Cordes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

486 - 492 of 1,141 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have nothing much to say for this inn, except for the tiny little room and hairy bed.
It has an excellent location near Michigan, and the fare compared with other hotels are affordable. Nearby there is a seven-11 convenient store and other restaurant to get some breakfast if you like.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Austin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIChicago, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown - Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

I am very sorry that your room was so far under our standards. You have every right to expect a clean, comfortable and affordable room when you stay in a Red Roof Inn. Did you let the Front Desk know? They would surely have changed your room, because the room you describe is totally not acceptable. I will be investigating how this could have happened. Again, I regret that your room was not up to our standards.

Heidi Cordes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed for the Academy of Ophthalmology meeting. Am a Chicago native and have stayed at this property in the past. What a mistake!! Location is great, but so is the alley behind Water Tower Place. The carpet stinks and is stained, the exterior hallways are awful, bathrooms barely function, no water pressure. I thought my rate of $180 was good. I went on Hotwire and was able to get a room at the Allerton (Wonderful in all regards!!!!) for $180 and moved. Stay away from this property. It is a slum like property.

Room Tip: Consider ANY other hotel. The location is great but so is the alley behind Water Tower Place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KnownTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIChicago, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown - Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

I appreciate your comments and sincerely apologize your stay was not a pleasant one. I realize you stayed with us last year, but since then the hotel has completed some major upgrades. Most of our guest rooms have received new floor coverings. All of our hallways and common areas have new carpet installed, as well, and much more.

I am confident if you visited us again you would be pleased with the changes.

Heidi Cordes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

David was one of the best employess who provided excellent service during our stay by ensuring comfort in our rooms and guidance to local attractions when we left. He gave us directions to and information for a department store I needed by asking questions regarding what I needed so that I went to the right place, and gave my friend and I easy directions by foot to the Chicago art museum which made for an excellent stay and visit to the Chicago city area. Kudos to David!

Room Tip: ask about which area rooms might be more quiet. I woke once or twice to ambulance or police sirens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherrae b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIChicago, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown - Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! We try hard to provide good service for our guests. We know that having helpful, knowledgeable staff can make a real difference to a guest’s experience in Chicago. It is our goal to provide affordable, clean lodging for frugal travelers, so they will have more money to visit department stores and art museums! Again, thanks for taking the time to write.

Heidi Cordes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stumbled across this place when looking for a cheap place to stay in Chicago. I wasn't expecting much and got something great. Perfect location, helpful staff, mostly clean rooms and a price which was outstanding. When I go back to Chicago, this is the first place I will look to stay

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeremyJazzlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIChicago, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown - Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Thank you for writing this nice review for our Red Roof Inn. Yes, we are an inexpensive hotel, but we intend to assure guests get a friendly, helpful reception and clean rooms with comfortable beds. Our location speaks for itself… 1 ½ blocks from the Magnificent Mile. Thank you for visiting, and we are very pleased that you expect to stay with us again.

Heidi Cordes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Relocating to Chicago, looking for a job and a place to stay isn't easy. First of all location. I could have easily paid at least double what I did for a room just off the Magnificent Mile (Michigan Ave) so Red Roof's price was excellent. Also, there are at least 50 restaurants (5-star to greasy burger joint and everything in between) within a stones throw of the front door. And shopping? I doesn't get any better, so bring your plastic! So, I was pleased to find such a bargain. Hidden Gem; the Fourth Floor of Nordstom on Michigan has a cafe...GO VISIT!!! Now for the staff. Having a friendly, knowledgeable and professional staff made it so much more relaxing. Each time I passed through the tiny little lobby, they were always quick with a smile and greeting. Although the housekeeping staff starts their rounds much later than what I'm accustomed to, they were excellent too...always assuring I had anything I needed. They were great! Special shouts to my new Chicago friend that works the front desk, Ms. Vanessa! As she knew I was seeking employment, she always had kind words...and even an occasional hug! The only knock is the lack of a fitness center. Otherwise excellent! Anyone visiting me from out of town will get a nod for the Red Roof Inn.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIChicago, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown - Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and positive review for us! It is very helpful to other travelers to give specifics about what is available around our Red Roof Inn. And we are delighted with your description of our Front Desk staff. Vanessa is a real asset to our hotel, as you have noticed. Our goal is to create a friendly atmosphere and provide affordable, clean rooms to frugal travelers and people staying a while in Chicago. We were glad to be your “home” while you looked for a new one in Chicago.

Heidi Cordes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Love the location of this Hotel and the price.This Hotel sits right off Michigan ave. and Ontario st. Making just about every thing within walking distant. Would like to give a big thanks for the great hospitality fom David, Brenda and all of the staff that makes my stay complete. You are always greeted with a smile and they will try to accomodate you in any way they can. The rooms are clean and they just remodeled he hotel in 2012.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indycindy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIChicago, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown - Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel! Yes, our Red Roof Inn is well located and our new remodeling looks good. We are especially pleased you found our Front Desk staff friendly and helpful. Good service to our guests is a high priority for us. We will be sure to let our staff know that you noticed their efforts. We hope to see you again in the future!


Heidi Cordes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Roof Inn Chicago - O'Hare Ai...
#6 of 10 in Arlington Heights
392 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Inn of Chicago
Inn of Chicago
#146 of 192 in Chicago
1,881 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown - Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown - Magnificent Mile

Address: 162 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-2809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $231 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown - Magnificent Mile 2*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Beginning March 1, 2017, Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown – Magnificent Mile will be temporarily closing. This historic building in the heart of Downtown Chicago will undergo a 360-degree, multi-million dollar renovation; every aspect of the Inn will be touched and we are very excited to reveal this new and improved hotel. Stay tuned, as there are more magnificent details to come!* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown - Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Chicago
Red Roof Inn Chicago
Red Roof Inns Chicago
Chicago Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing