We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place, Great Staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Ranked #154 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Nice Place, Great Staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Relocating to Chicago, looking for a job and a place to stay isn't easy. First of all location. I could have easily paid at least double what I did for a room just off the Magnificent Mile (Michigan Ave) so Red Roof's price was excellent. Also, there are at least 50 restaurants (5-star to greasy burger joint and everything in between) within a stones throw of the front door. And shopping? I doesn't get any better, so bring your plastic! So, I was pleased to find such a bargain. Hidden Gem; the Fourth Floor of Nordstom on Michigan has a cafe...GO VISIT!!! Now for the staff. Having a friendly, knowledgeable and professional staff made it so much more relaxing. Each time I passed through the tiny little lobby, they were always quick with a smile and greeting. Although the housekeeping staff starts their rounds much later than what I'm accustomed to, they were excellent too...always assuring I had anything I needed. They were great! Special shouts to my new Chicago friend that works the front desk, Ms. Vanessa! As she knew I was seeking employment, she always had kind words...and even an occasional hug! The only knock is the lack of a fitness center. Otherwise excellent! Anyone visiting me from out of town will get a nod for the Red Roof Inn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIChicago, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and positive review for us! It is very helpful to other travelers to give specifics about what is available around our Red Roof Inn. And we are delighted with your description of our Front Desk staff. Vanessa is a real asset to our hotel, as you have noticed. Our goal is to create a friendly atmosphere and provide affordable, clean rooms to frugal travelers and people staying a while in Chicago. We were glad to be your “home” while you looked for a new one in Chicago.

Heidi Cordes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    293
    282
    206
    238
See reviews for
233
247
121
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Love the location of this Hotel and the price.This Hotel sits right off Michigan ave. and Ontario st. Making just about every thing within walking distant. Would like to give a big thanks for the great hospitality fom David, Brenda and all of the staff that makes my stay complete. You are always greeted with a smile and they will try to accomodate you in any way they can. The rooms are clean and they just remodeled he hotel in 2012.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank indycindy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIChicago, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel! Yes, our Red Roof Inn is well located and our new remodeling looks good. We are especially pleased you found our Front Desk staff friendly and helpful. Good service to our guests is a high priority for us. We will be sure to let our staff know that you noticed their efforts. We hope to see you again in the future!


Heidi Cordes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great location with plenty of great restaurants and shops in the area. Michigan Avenue right down the road makes it very convenient to discover the city. A great hotel for the money you pay. Try to get a room with a microwave and a fridge, they are not much more expensive, but make your stay more pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anwart312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIChicago, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Red Roof Inn. Yes, we do have a great location, just 1 ½ blocks from Michigan Avenue. In fact, we have some rooms that look out over the Magnificent Mile. We are a budget hotel and work hard to provide affordable, clean, comfortable rooms and friendly and knowledgeable service. Chicago can be an expensive city, so we are glad frugal travelers like you choose our Red Roof Inn as your home base while you are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

For our first trip to Chicago we were so glad we choose the red roof inn as our hotel. David, Brenda, and Vanessa were all very welcoming and helpful. They took such great care of us and made us feel comfortable. The inn is a wonderful location and the staff are fabulous. We just want to say thanks and we will definitely be back. Thanks again so much!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monique g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIChicago, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! We work hard to take care of our guests, and we are delighted to have such positive feedback. I will certainly make sure Brenda and Vanessa know that you thought they were helpful. We are very lucky that our Red Roof Inn has such a good location, just steps from the Magnificent Mile. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Definitely not for the last time, my partner and I stayed at the Red Roof Inn of Downtown Chicago this past August.
I've written reviews of this hotel before, giving the facts about it's excellent location,clean and comfortable accommodations, and free amenities. These are expected in any similarly priced hotel. You expect to get what you pay for, and with The Red Roof Inn we always do!. What I have not often written about is what they offer that many other establishments fail to deliver.Most hotel staff are professional and many are even polite, but few are also kind and personable. These are qualities that can't be bought. In particular I'm referring to Michael, the manager and all of his reception desk staff. They remembered my partner and I, and treated us like revisiting royalty when we checked in! Michael also thanked us for the review we wrote, and allowed me to take a photograph of him. Everyone has their own personal experiences when they travel, but what I remember and appreciate most are not the free WiFi or shower gel but how we were treated! It's the people who go that extra distance to make your stay feel like a welcome homecoming.That's a service that money can't buy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StvnWllms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIChicago, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you very much for not only your review, but also for staying with us again. It is always nice to hear from a loyal guest. The Red Roof Inn may not be a five star hotel, but Michael and the rest of the staff can certainly deliver five star service. I am very glad we met this goal while you were with us.

I look forward to your next trip to Chicago and the opportunity to be your home away from home. We will be ready and waiting for you.

Heidi Cordes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We love this hotel because its cheap and it has a great location. Period. Its not the Four Seasons, so if thats what your used to, then stay away. The building is old, the elevators are slow and the service is sometimes slow and inadequate. If you're willing to put up with these things then you are in luck b/c the location of this hotel can't be beat. You are one block off of Michigan Avenue. There is a Starbucks AND Dunkin Do-nuts/Baskin Robins across the street. There conveience stores a block away and Walgreens 2 blocks away. Walking to Millenium park, Buckingham Fountain and the Loop are easy from here. We usually get a king suite when we stay here. You get a living room with a tv, refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave, sofa, chair, coffee table, desk and a half bath! In the bedroom you get a king size bed, chair, bathroom w/shower/tub and another tv. The convenience of having 2 toilets and 2 tv's cannot be beat. The most I have ever paid for a room here is $125.00 per night. Like I said, if you are ok with a no frills hotel and you are willing to overlook a few shortcomings, then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get the king suite. It gives you more room to spread out and you get 2 tv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boerboelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIChicago, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you have stayed with us in the past and had a pleasant stay. It is always nice to see a familiar face. The Red Roof Inn will continue to offer our guests not only a great location, but also a great value.

I look forward to the opportunity to serve you again the next time you travel to Chicago.

Heidi Cordes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We checked-in last month with my family at the Red Roof Inn to take advantage of their 'red deals" to save some money. However, they have made my family feel unwelcome, that we felt we were more of a hassle to them rather as a guests they should be happy providing service. We requested for towels when we got home at night, and we were blatantly told we have to get it downstairs. When we were picking-up a pen and paper (which by the way should have been available in the room), they they gave the items with coldness and for us to just go back to our room because they seem busy. Their front desk does not even smile at all. Rooms are disorganized and not as clean and fresh you would expect from a hotel especially in that part of town.

Room Tip: Do not presume all their rooms have all the amenities stated on the website. Make sure you reiterate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIChicago, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize your stay was not an entirely pleasant one. I am very disappointed in our lack of service to you. You are a valued guest and it is our responsibility to ensure you are not only welcomed, but appreciated. I will share your comments with the entire staff and take the necessary steps to improve the level of service in every department to all of our customers.

The Red Roof Inn does offer various room types, some are equipped with micro-fridges and some are not. If the room type reserved does not come equipped with one, we are happy to provide one for a small fee.

I hope you will give us the opportunity to show you that your recent stay was an exception. I value your feedback and your business.

Heidi Cordes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Inn of Chicago
Inn of Chicago
#138 of 187 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#102 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Property: Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Address: 162 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-2809
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile 2*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Chicago
Red Roof Inn Chicago
Red Roof Inns Chicago
Chicago Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing