We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Romantic gem on Michigan Avenue but be prepared to walk for better dining & drinking options.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Chicago
Ranked #74 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Michigan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Romantic gem on Michigan Avenue but be prepared to walk for better dining & drinking options.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

We could not have asked for a nicer room, better service, or a better location for $125 a night. It was only a $8.00 cab ride from Union Station, too, which by the way I would highly recommend taking a train to Chicago. Parking prices seemed ridiculous & the driving was very crazy! We stayed in the Historic Tower King Room with a view of Michigan Avenue. The room was luxurious & romantic. It would have been nice to have a CD player in the room. And P.S. ladies- do not use the complimentary lotion, it smells very bad, like old playdough or something! But those are my only two very minor complaints. We didn't use the pool area but we checked it out- a very nice large pool but for lap swimming only. We didn't see a sauna or whirlpool, either. Every single staff member we encountered was extremely professional & courteous. They had 2 employees who worked right outside the door loading & unloading luggage, hailing cabs, & they even escorted me to the door under an umbrella the night we returned & it was raining! Now that's service! You must try the Passiontini at the bar by the entrance- $13 but the best drink of the weekend! Drinking is VERY expensive in Chicago- don't think you will find cheap drinks- we didn't & we went to lots of different style bars. The dining options are very limited for this being such a large hotel. We previewed the breakfast menu & they were charging $14 for 2 pancakes! Nothing with it, just 2 pancakes! We found a great diner right around the corner with unbelievable breakfast at a much better value (Mary's Cafe), pretty much every breakfast was $10.95, we had 4 different things & they were all super delicious! If you go right out of the hotel there is a set of stairs that takes you down under Michigan Avenue- keep walking straight from the bottom of the steps about 2 blocks, on the right is Mary's. You will pass the Reagle Beagle which has to be one of your nighttime stops- it ended up being our favorite bar. Very low keyed, great food, great atmosphere, great 80's decor & music. Not the songs that make you roll your eyes- the ones that make you say "I've got to put this on my ipod!!" You must try the Brady Brunch Punch, $10 each but soooo good! We had the boneless buffulo tenders one night with fries & they were great. Other than those 2 places near the hotel, nothing really stood out- you've got to walk further for more options. Couldn't ever find the popcorn shop that everyone raves about, but while we were looking we discovered that Hubbard Street would be a great afternoon bar hopping street. Someone else told me Rush Street has lots of bars, too. Unfortunately we found out about these on our last morning :( We needed a late check out & it was absolutely no problem getting it, even free of charge. So all in all this was an amazing hotel, but be prepared to walk for nightlife & dining.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmr1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,683
    1,251
    506
    199
    131
See reviews for
743
951
202
1,269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (773)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

There was slight confusion about my room, and the hotel upgraded my room. I had a truly remarkable stay and the upgraded room exceeded my expectations. They made every effort to meet my needs.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burnonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

We were excited to see a 4.5-star hotel on Hotwire for just $95, but disappointed with the hotel itself. This is barely a 4-star in facilities or service. There was a long line for check-in, with the clerks loudly announcing people's room numbers as they checked them in (so much for discretion). The rooms themselves (we asked to see more than one) reminded me of the Times Square Sheraton: probably nice at one point but now past their prime and poorly maintained, I've added some photos but unfortunately the cell phone camera isn't very clear. The carpet was worn and stained in places, the baseboards were banged up, and all the furniture was dinged and scuffed,, In the bathroom the wallpaper was peeling and the counter had permanent stains. In the second room we saw there was also a bizarre brown stain in the middle of the wall -- and this was the room that was supposed to be an "improvement." Since we were stuck here with a nonrefundable rate, we decided to make the best of it by getting a minibar drink and getting into the hotel bathrooms -- eeeeew, stained! Granted it was just a small lipstick stain but pretty icky to think the robes may not have been laundered between guests.

Judging by the crown at check-in the hotel gets heavy tourist traffic, and the wear and tear is really showing. As other posters have also noted, there are just a lot of other, better choices in Chicago, Why a vendor would rate this a 4.5-star is beyond me, but even for a 4-star I'd look elsewhere,

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jengaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

I recently stayed for 3 nights after booking with hotwire. I have been to just about all of the 4 star hotels in the area and I have to say there are many which are better than the Intercontinental and cost a little less. If you are not concerned with the quality regarding your room, this review might not be important.
First of all, valet has gone up to 53 bucks a day. Apparently, they have to run all the way to the Navy Pier to get your car so you will be waiting a little longer than usual. I waited about a half hour. Now lets get tot he real disappointment: The rooms. I was incredibly peeved when I walked into my room. It was so tiny I kept bumping my knees on the furniture when I was moving my suitcases around. Both my suitcases would not even fit in the closet so I have to cramp them in which made it a hassle to get my clothes out. I have been in 2 star hotel rooms that looked nicer than this. There was a little cat hair on a red velore like love seat, with cheap, really stiff cushions. I am not saying the room was dirty but it certainly was not spotless either. There were quite a few holes in the sheets as well. Sleeping was impossible due to the loud heating system. I called the front desk and they immediately sent someone to look at it. He sort of giggled and said that there was nothing he could do because it was supposed to be that loud. I couldn not believe it. I'm sure they get many complaints about the heating systems. All in all the staff is friendly, the food is pretty good, However, there are many other hotels with comparable prices and much better quality rooms, service, and ambiance.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Prettipetite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Intercontinental for the second time on Valentines day this year. We were celebrating both our February birthdays and Valentines day. We had been upgraded to an executive suite and let me tell you it was fabulous! The room had two bathrooms which made getting ready really convenient and the comfy couch in the outer room was perfect for relaxing and watching T.V. I actually wanted to spend time in this hotel room. My favorite part of staying at this hotel is the staff. They are truly helpful and really went out of there way to make sure our stay was enjoyable. From the bell man who first helped with our bags to the very pleasant and kind front desk staff, we were made to feel like very special guests. It is so nice to spend time in a place where people greet you with smiles and kind words even when just answering a question over the phone. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeartNurse97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

I booked package deal with airfare and hotel. I was pleased to find this hotel was right in the heart of Michigan Avenue. I thought the decor was updated in the room I was in and liked that there was a Starbucks attached in lobby. Also, check out the pool area (even if you don't swim) it is very cool architecture. I had a great trip, enjoyed the staff, the bar, the room, etc. Room service was pretty good TOO! I would recommend this for several reasons but best of all is the location. Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sawyetr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

I work alot and i'm not able to get away on vacation with my children to much. so i work in the chicago area and wanted alittle getaway just for the weekend , so i chose the intrercontental for just that. and its just what we needed for that little break. We had a great time there .went swimming ,the pool was beautiful.And everyone at the hotel was so accommodating.I will be returning for another stay .

  • Liked — the locatioin
  • Disliked — wanted to stay longer
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kimmy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#28 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,865 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#60 of 189 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 4,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#9 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,227 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Chicago

Property: InterContinental Chicago
Address: 505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-3827
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in Chicago
#46 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#58 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#64 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 844
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Chicago is a lot like the city itself: historic but hip, refined but relaxed, cultured but comfortable. A member of Michigan Avenue s architectural elite since 1929, our hotel is within easy reach of Chicago s incomparable museums, stores, theatres and restaurants. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing