We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant, beautiful and great location! Hotel but poor service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
InterContinental Chicago
Ranked #74 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Elegant, beautiful and great location! Hotel but poor service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in the top floor. We had a common lounge room with free internet and aperitifs to enjoy during the day. The location was great, our room had a view to the Lake Michigan! which was awesome! we could see the Pier from there.

Everything was perfect, until we went to sleep. There was a strong noise coming maybe from the walls (maybe the piping system?) we never knew what was it. We reported it three times from our room and we never were contacted back or the issue was not resolved. We had hard time going to sleep.

Let me say, that we rented three rooms, and our family who stayed on those other rooms, did not have any noise issue. Their experience was much better than ours.

Overall, I loved the comfort and location of the hotel but disappointed of the lack of attention to our complain. That is it.

Room Tip: Have a room on the east tower and on the east part of it, looking at the Lake Michigan! or looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Almendra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,902
    1,370
    541
    211
    143
See reviews for
842
1,038
211
1,436
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (836)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 7 nights, so I had a complete experience with it.

The good thing about this hotel is its relatively convenient location - its less than 10 minutes walk away from the Metra station. Nordstrom is just across the street and there are other shops & restaurants nearby. They also have a Starbucks right in their lobby.

Unfortunately, that was overshadowed by many negatives:

- The check-out staff was very unfriendly and impatient. He did not smile the whole time, nor did he greet us when we approached him. Actually, he did not even look up once at us and kept his eyes glued to his computer screen the whole time while he was communicating with us. He basically just printed out the receipt and shoved it to us without saying anything.

- Be careful not to move anything in the mini bar!! It is based on a weighting system so anything that is moved is automatically charged to your account. We did not consume anything from the bar but ended up being charged $30 for it. (We were actually charged more like $70+ for each single item in the fridge but they changed it to just a "restocking fee" of $30 although we did not consume anything). We called concierge to ask if they could waive the charge for us but the woman on the line was very rude and said it is not "possible" to waive the fee. Actually, we saw another unfortunate traveler on Tripadvisor had experienced the same thing and got their charged waived, so obviously what the concierge lady told me was NOT true. (Note: Yes there is a warning sticker on the fridge but basically its a black sticker on a black fridge that you can barely see, especially in a dim room.)

- Basically the price you pay for this hotel is the bare minimum. There is no water kettle and no toothpaste/toothbrush, so bring your own if you need it. You need to pay to use the gym and pool. You also need to pay about $20/day for wireless Internet access - I paid for it as I needed to do work and the Internet speed was so slow, it crashed on me multiple times. I have never had this problem with other hotels I have been to, and I travel quite often for work.

Overall, I was very disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiana, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Vicki W.,

We apologize your experience did not exceed your expectations during your stay. Your feedback has been forwarded to the appropriate department(s) for further review. Please rest assure your response is appreciated. If your schedule permits, please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience. Thank you again!

Malcolm Moore
Guest Services Manager
malcolm.moore@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

The hotel has two towers: one modern, the other historic. We stayed in the historic tower (bigger rooms and has more character).

The hotel was walking distance to almost everything we had on our itinerary: from the Chicago Art Institute and Architecture Foundation River Cruise to Millennium Park and all the restaurants we visited while in town.

The olympic-sized pool looks like a Greco-Roman baths and is oozing with character! Oh and make sure you check out the themed floors – from the Renaissance Room to King Arthur’s Court! If they're not hosting an event, ask them if you can use the lounge in the historic tower (on the 32nd floor). It has incredible views of the city.

Parking is pricey ($63.50/night) so you may want to look into other options. The Millennium Park Garage is a 10 min walk, safe and $30/night. Internet is also expensive ($18/day). We used the free WiFi at Starbucks (attached to the hotel).

Room Tip: The hotel has two towers: one modern, the other historic. The rooms in the historic tower are older...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCuriousCreature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Lawn, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

I took my 2 children and parents downtown at Christmas time to enjoy the city and we had a wonderful time. The kids enjoyed swimming in the beautiful pool in the middle of winter and we saw all the sites, had dinner under Macy's tree and enjoyed some shopping. The staff and hotel personnell were absolutley wonderful. You can't find a better location to stay!! I would highly recomend the Intercontinental for pleasure or business. Thanks also to Dana Solomon for all she did to make this a very enjoyable stay!! She went above and beyond!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
133 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

I've never been to Chicago and came for a convention. I was happy to be at this hotel since it was easy walking distance to shopping, restaurants and bars. The hotel itself was fine, no major complaints. The gym was nice and the historic pool is a must see even if you don't swim. Our room was small but sharply decorated. The meeting and convention area was very nice. One piece if advice, even though it's posted I didn't see it: the mini bar is on a weight system. I had bought my own bottle of wine and rearranged some things in the fridge to make room for it. I ended with A LOT of mini bar charges. I went to the front desk and explained and the charges got taken off but the bottom line is if you put your own items in the fridge make sure to check your bill for charges.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Allo602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Our daughter was married at the InterContinental Chicago this past weekend. Our fourteen months of planning with their staff came together flawlessly on the night of her wedding.

First impressions are always important. When my wife and I arrived at the front door, we were greeted with a big smile and a friendly hello by Will, the doorman. He became the "go to guy" when you needed any information about where to go in the city or how to get something done. Thanks Will, for all your kindness. Additionally, the bell captain, Vinco, seemed to work 24 hour shifts every day. He was always available to provide quick and friendly service. The housekeeping staff did a marvelous job. The honeymoon suite was used as a dressing area for the bridesmaids. About twenty people were using that room for 8 hours before the wedding. Needless to say, it was a mess at the end of the day. The Housekeeping Staff turned it around into a spotless Honeymoon Suite during the wedding ceremony. Thanks for the super service.

The hotel itself is historic and well maintained. The staff is polite and well trained. Every time we called for something, we were asked how the wedding plans were going. The Manager of Guest Relations personally came out to introduce himself and make himself available if we had any questions.

Chris Schmidt, the Director of Catering, went out of his way during the planning to make sure that everything was done to perfection. The banquet staff flawlessly provided excellent service. The wedding dinner was served hot to everyone; and looked and tasted as good as it did during our small "tasting session" several months prior to the wedding. Chris remained on site for over 16 hours that day, and prior to leaving, made sure to ask me (the Father of the Bride), if everything was to our satisfaction. He would not leave until he was personally assured that we were 100% satisfied.

If you are looking for an historic venue in a wonderful downtown Chicago location, backed by a classy staff and people who care, look no further than the Intercontinental Chicago.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffreyF715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Illinois
Level Contributor
180 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I attended a two day conference for work at the Intercontinental in Chicago and found it to be a nice hotel for business travel. The conference facilities were especially nice.

Check in had been pre-arranged for our large group and the front desk was very efficient. I liked the large screens behind the front desk that showed video of what was happening on the streets outside. My room (1700) was room and fairly standard for a hotel of this price range. The bed was comfortable and there were nice amenities. I had a great room that was just behind some stone carvings so it was a cool view out the window.

The conference rooms were also pretty standard, but all had nice views of the city skyline out the windows. The ballroom was very beautiful with lots of gold gilting and chandeliers. The food was pretty good for conference fare.

Every employee I encountered was friendly and helpful. Even on the last day with a glut of people picking up luggage from the bell stand and cars from the valet, they worked efficiently and politely, never losing their cool.

Room Tip: A room above the 10th floor will get you a decent view of the city skyline from any angle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blueiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,158 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Chicago

Property: InterContinental Chicago
Address: 505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-3827
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in Chicago
#46 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#58 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#64 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 844
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Chicago is a lot like the city itself: historic but hip, refined but relaxed, cultured but comfortable. A member of Michigan Avenue s architectural elite since 1929, our hotel is within easy reach of Chicago s incomparable museums, stores, theatres and restaurants. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing