We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice iconic hotel in the centre of Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #68 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed 2 weeks in this hotel, and I liked it very much. Excellent location, profesional staff, good room service, beautiful view from ny room on the Michigan lake. Everything you could expect from Intercontinental. I was in a junior suite, so the place was quite a good size. Excellent bed. Totally recomended place in Chicago.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotteurmonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,628)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,622 - 2,628 of 4,628 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

On September 27,2013,we checked into the hotel. We discovered one of the beds was unsatisfactory. We called housekeeping and May Caldwell came to our rescue within minutes of our call. She made an executive decision to replace the mattress which was done with haste. Then Maria Guzman came in to make the bed again which was done beautifully. These two employees are outstanding.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong by choosing this hotel. From check in to check out we were blown away with ho...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Only two negatives about this hotel, the air-conditioner in the room sounds like a Boeing 747 and I am not a big fan of the 'rain' like shower heads, it is like taking a shower and not getting wet! Apart from that this is great hotel. The pool on the 12th floor of the historic tower is worth a visit, so is the gym. Location can't be beat and the bellstaff are very helpful.
Beds are very luxurious with plenty of nice pillows!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HRHofOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed at the Intercontinental Hotel for a conference. Rooms are clean and well kept and have all the modern amenities. Located on the famous magnificent mile, close proximity to lots of stores and restaurants. Arrived early and the room was not ready but got a call as soon as it was ready.

Room Tip: Streets were busy at night, no need to be afraid to go out.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The location can't be beat - downtown Chicago's Michigan Avenue, steps from a row of well-known shops, and you can walk to a hundred great places. At a rate of $300 a night, you'd think in-room internet would be included but it is not. You can pay extra or get dressed and schlep your electronics to the Starbucks on the first floor, but anyone off the street can do that. Don't bring a car unless you want to pay over $60 a night for hotel parking. Don't get hungry for bacon and eggs for breakfast unless you want to pay well over $25 a meal for room service. Dated decor. Paper thin walls allowed me to hear what my neighbor was watching on TV. Small lobby, which would not have mattered if check-in was smooth. Still waiting on a constructive response from the hotel manager to an issue raised.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenJohn316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiana, Manager at InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear KenJohn 316

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service and the location of the hotel. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced over the service rates. We are hospitality professionals who work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we strive to provide service rates that are competitive in the area. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. However,I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you and with the noise complaint.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and while we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Aravind Gudidevuni

Assistant Front Office Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

this hotel was so central to all the places we needed to get to for business and a little sight seeing . the hotel was great and offered a good choice of services and even vouchers for the starbucks that we used daily just to the side of the main walk in hallway. i had a stroller to roll in and out of the hotel daily and the bell men were all very prompt and helpful. Arron settled us into our room and helped us check out he was very informative about the hotel and the city - great to be met with a smile at the door each day thanks for that Arron. All the staff were most helpful .the pool was a bit of a let down for using with young children but we had so much else to see it didnt really matter. We stayed in the old tower and with only fours rooms on each floor it was very quiet.The beds were comfy and we had a crib for our little one which was perfect. we loved the city and if we return we would come back to this hotel again for many reasons - all positive. thanks for helping make our stay a memorable one.

Room Tip: the tower rooms were very quiet
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aat33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel is centrally located" along the miracle mile in Chicago- Convenient to all areas downtown. We stayed in the old tower - quite an elegant lady she was - but our room was complete with all the modern amenities. Service and staff were extremely accommodating as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camguy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#29 of 191 in Chicago
3,497 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 191 in Chicago
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#70 of 191 in Chicago
5,057 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 505 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3827
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#30 Green Hotel in Chicago
#40 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#58 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#64 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $212 - $563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile 4.5*
Number of rooms: 872
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Chicago is a lot like the city itself: historic but hip, refined but relaxed, cultured but comfortable. A member of Michigan Avenue s architectural elite since 1929, our hotel is within easy reach of Chicago s incomparable museums, stores, theatres and restaurants. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing