We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great conference location & service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
InterContinental Chicago
Ranked #73 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Great conference location & service”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Truly enjoyed my stay this September during a work conference. Excellent food at the dinner, breakfast and lunch provided. Most impressive was the service of the valet, bellhop & banquet staff. Clive (bellhop) took the time to review my agenda with me, giving me the floors for each meeting and banquet room to save me time. Very courteous staff!

Room Tip: I stayed on the 39th floor in a uniquely shaped room (had 3 separate views of the city, only two roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMagMile, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank for your feedback and comments about Clive. He will certainly appreciate the positive comments as do I. Thank you for staying at the InterContinental Chicago and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,989
    1,417
    548
    217
    149
See reviews for
866
1,060
220
1,516
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (872)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I had to take a one day, one night trip to Chicago to get a French visa. My boyfriend was with me, so I wanted something kind of nice. Chose Intercontinental because I'd stayed there before with my family.

It was $150 for the night. The room was very clean, bright, and attractive. Front desk people were kind and sweet. The location is perfect and it's right next door to a very cool restaurant called Eno- where they pair wine, cheese, and chocolate :) There's also a great place for breakfast about 3 blocks down called the West Egg.

WARNING: Don't remove anything from the friges- even to store food. They're computerized and automatically bill the room. Had to go down to the front desk to clear that one up.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alm1sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMagMile, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We recently installed new minibars and have provided some space in the minibar for personal items. Thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I don't think you could be more centrally located - a historic hotel and landmark among the very best of the Chicago landmarks. Good facilities and a great wine orientated bar called ENO.

very busy Hotel - lifts are a little old and get congested at peak times.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamvdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMagMile, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate the 5 Star Rating and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2012

"Excellent experience. Great location and friendly staff…especially guys at the door-Vince & Hassan ---always available to answer any question with a smile. Oh and my massage treatment was absolutely incredible. Highly recommended. "

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martins B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just there for one night at the end of Sept. Very good location near the the south end of the magnificent mile. It was quite, close to the red line and to many attractions. Got a great rate at hotwire! The room was small, but good enough for my wife and I. The room was clean, and modern with a small red couch. The hotel does have a buffet for breakfast, but we did not try it. Also have M. Jordan's restaurant attached to the hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the 11th floor but the ice machine was on the 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bdutra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMagMile, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
146 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Return visit to the Intercontinental Chicago after about 3 years. I've been staying at the Four Seasons in the interim, but needed to be down by the river this trip. The IC Chicago is perfectly located on Michigan Ave's "Miracle Mile", in easy walking distance of just about everything - stores, restaurants, clubs, and the river. I've become a fan of IC hotels in recent years in other cities; the last time in Chicago, this one was a bit quirky, but it's now up to snuff. Easy check-in and excellent room facing the lake on the 34th floor (thanks, Trent at the front desk!). Bed check all clear with no critters, but that formerly pillow-top mattress is going to need replacing soon. Huge bathroom with separate glass-enclosed shower stall, excellent shower head, plenty of hot water. Big closet, plenty of hangers. Good-sized desk with good lighting. The room itself was of reasonable size, too, and had windows on two sides. This is a solid 4-star hotel. I could have easily been comfortable there for a week. And, it was affordable ($180/night). The only ongoing peculiarity, not limited to IC hotels, is the ridiculous daily charge for wifi. One can get around that by prepaying to join the "Ambassador" program ($200/yr) if one is going to stay at least 12 nights annually in a hotel. But why do hotel chains annoy their good customers? IC could set itself yet one more level above the rest by raising the rate $5 and offering "free" wifi. But I will be back. The Four Seasons is nice, but the value for money makes the IC a better alternative.

Room Tip: Always ask for a high floor, and for a lake view if available, although the views are excellent from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMagMile, Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and pleased to see you have chosen InterContinental hotels for your future travels. Trent is a rising star and will make sure to share the feedback with him. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located on the magnificant mile.and the doormen Willie and Stan are very friendly and helpful in giving you directions to all the various sites in Chicago.I live part -time in Chicago, next door to the hotel,and the front desk manager ,Simon has been very gracious in getting very favorable rates and upgrades when my family comes to town.If I were a tourist I would always stay at the Intercontinental Chicago.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 604Lew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMagMile, Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate the 5 Star Rating and look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#12 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Chicago

Property: InterContinental Chicago
Address: 505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-3827
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in Chicago
#45 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#58 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#64 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 844
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Chicago is a lot like the city itself: historic but hip, refined but relaxed, cultured but comfortable. A member of Michigan Avenue s architectural elite since 1929, our hotel is within easy reach of Chicago s incomparable museums, stores, theatres and restaurants. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing