We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Chicago
Ranked #72 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We get to Chicago often, but this was our first stay at this hotel. We were very impressed. We stayed in room 3105 which was had great views of Lake Michigan and the downtown loop. The staff here was excellent, the room was very nice and the overall experience was great. The rooms are well done and very well kept. The bed was great! I liked the fact they had a Starbucks attached to the lobby and we enjoyed appetizers and drinks at Michael Jordan's restaurant. I'd recommend this hotel. The location on Michigan Drive was excellent!

Room Tip: We had room 3105, it was a nice room on the south side of the hotel. The east window offers great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 87Twins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_CHI, Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
We appreciate the 5 Star Rating! Great room tip, we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,110
    1,477
    571
    230
    157
See reviews for
934
1,106
228
1,602
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (913)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Homer Glen, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My husband surprised me with a memorial day weekend stay at the InterContinental to celebrate my birthday.This was our first time ever staying at this property. When we checked into our room, I was surprised with a birthday cake alongside a note from the hotel staff wishing me a happy birthday. The room was spacious and comfortable. We had an amazing view of Michigan ave. The hotel has a great location, nestled in the heart of downtown Chicago. We had wonderful service as the hotel staff catered to all our needs. We will definitely be coming back to the InterContinental!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_CHI, Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
We look forward to hosting you and your husband again soon! Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

i have been to this hotel 4 times already the past 3 years because my company keeps booking it, and every time i get surprised by the low quality of the rooms. one phone wasn't working, the rooms are generally old and need renovation, and the michael jordan restaurant us substandard. the only good thing is the pool. i would not recommend it, if you're looking for a nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcarys2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_CHI, Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
We are sorry to hear your room did not meet your expectations, but would like to ensure we retain your loyalty. Please email me so we can learn the specific details of your last visit.

robert.deluca@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I can't think of a better location to stay in Chicago - on Michigan Ave and our room had a view of the lake. Service was wonderful, from check in, to the concierge, to meeting the manager. Rooms were beautiful and comfortable. We didn't try the restaurant, so can't comment on that. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mingle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I spent a quick overnight here this past weekend for a medical conference. The hotel is nice enough and conveniently located on Michigan ave. The rooms are very small however and I would take the Park Hyatt any day over this hotel. Service was just so-so. I pulled a bottle of wine out of my mini bar but no wine glasses or corkscrew. Called to have them sent up and they never arrived. I had to leave for my dinner meeting so I called and spoke with the same gentleman who I ordered the items from and asked that the bottle of wine be removed from my bill (once you pull anything from the mini bar it is automatically charged). He apologized and said he would handle it. Of course, it showed up on my bill the next morning and I had to go to the front desk to handle it which they took care of.

All in all OK hotel but I wouldn't choose this hotel when coming into town for a fun weekend. Small rooms and bathrooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RP8133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_CHI, Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
We thank you for your feedback and apologize for failing to deliver the superior service you rightfully expect from our brand. Please email me so we can make this right.

robert.deluca@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We recently went to the Intercontinental Hotel in Chicago for a girls weekend and had an amazing time. The rooms were lovely, modern feel for a classic hotel. The location is unbeatable - can walk to everything we did, including Navy Pier, shopping, restaurants and the boat tours. The staff is incredibly warm and welcoming. We would love to go back sometime soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new england
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

recent stay at the intercontinental was very nice. the rooms are nice, bathroom a little small but certainly manageable. the lobby is beautiful. enjoyed having the starbucks right there and centrally located with easy access to downtown, the pier etc. would def stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#33 of 190 in Chicago
3,446 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 190 in Chicago
2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#22 of 190 in Chicago
4,682 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#69 of 190 in Chicago
5,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Chicago

Property: InterContinental Chicago
Address: 505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-3827
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in Chicago
#44 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#58 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#64 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 872
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Chicago is a lot like the city itself: historic but hip, refined but relaxed, cultured but comfortable. A member of Michigan Avenue s architectural elite since 1929, our hotel is within easy reach of Chicago s incomparable museums, stores, theatres and restaurants. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing