We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super close to downtown, internet connectivity unclear, nice hotel, expensive parking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Ranked #70 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
97 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Super close to downtown, internet connectivity unclear, nice hotel, expensive parking”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We paid $115 a night from Priceline. When I asked upon check in if a King size room was available (I always ask, half the time they say yes) the gal curtly replied "no we don't", and promptly put us in a room next to the elevator. We heard a faint whizzing every few seconds the whole time - all night long. The elevator was literally right around the corner, so the elevator walls were up against the walls in our room. I was too tired to argue. So that was that. They weren't rude, but they made it pretty clear they don't appreciate everyone's business. However, the beds were comfortable and the room itself was really nice. Bathroom was huge. Coffee maker, safe, fridge, iron, blo dryer, all in room. You can also borrow from an extensive list - free weights, yoga mat, curling iron, etc. The internet situation wasn't apparent, I almost input my credit card number so I could get access, but my husband stopped me because he noticed on the TV that we could either pay for high speed or use the wifi at no charge. My ipad defaulted to the high speed pay as you go option so I assumed they charged for Internet access. Glad he turned the TV on and noticed the instructions! Parking was $34 a night, come and go as often as you want, use your key card to swipe in and out. Would I stay here again? Probably. The location is more toward the south side of Chicago and is very easy to get downtown and back.

Room Tip: Maybe ask if you can take a look at the room first before you accept. I have read other reviews that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBPackerFan4evah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizJaquez, Manager at Hyatt Regency McCormick Place, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear GBPackerFan4evah,

I'm so very sorry to read about the way our front desk team made you feel! We appreciate everyone's business, no matter what means they use to make their reservation. I will make sure that the Front Office Manager as well as entire Front Desk Team sees your review so that we can use it as a training tool. I really appreciate your taking the time to share so that we can improve for the next guest. I will also ask our IT Manager and Internet Service Provider to look into our Wifi splash page, as the free Wifi option is supposed to come up first. I'm happy that you didn't pay for the premium speed unnecessarily. We're happy to hear that you would come back and stay with us again, and we look forward to it!

Best regards,
Liz Jaquez
Social Media Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,052
    1,354
    508
    223
    103
See reviews for
680
560
160
2,220
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (794)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

As a loyal Diamond member, I admit that I have high standards when it comes to CLEANLINESS and QUIETNESS. I am pleased that the staff including the GM take these concerns as well as others seriously and consider my suggestions for improvement. As a frequent hotel guest, it makes me feel like family!

Room Tip: If you like a city line view, choose a room at the West end of the main building. If you like more o...
See more room tips
Green Features: No air freshener to mask unpleasant odours. No bedbugs.The down side to taking apart the bedding to check is the potential discovery of a soiled mattress pad. A proper duvet cover would be more clean than a duvet to be sandwiched between two loose sheets that come apart.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank GD566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizJaquez, Manager at Hyatt Regency McCormick Place, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear GKD888,

Thank you very much for being a loyal, Diamond level Hyatt Gold Passport member! We appreciate your business and comments and look forward to your next stay.

Best regards,
Liz Jaquez
Social Media Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night for the On The Run Tour (JayZ & beyonce). All staff was very friendly, hotel was nice and clean, view was amazing of the city!!
Walk to Soldier Field was so close and convient. Will stay again for sure.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Akuna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizJaquez, Manager at Hyatt Regency McCormick Place, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Akuna M,

I heard the Jay Z and Beyonce concert was amazing, and I hope you had a great time. Thank you for making us a part of your concert-going experience. Many travelers and even Chicago locals don't realize how close our location actually is to Soldier Field, so thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor. We can't wait to welcome you back for future concerts or games.

Best regards,
Liz Jaquez
Social Media Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

I stayed at this Hyatt recently and I enjoyed every minute of my stay there. The trip was for work but we had a great time. I was able to upgrade to one of their Eexcutive Suites which was amazing. The staff is very friendly from the front desk to M/X Lounge. The water views were a treat as well as the view of downtown.

We held our meetings in the adjoining convention center, so there was a lot of walking. This was much needed since we had a lot of great food and drinks. :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Summer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizJaquez, Manager at Hyatt Regency McCormick Place, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Summer M,

I'm so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially the upgrade to one of our luxurious Executive Suites! Thanks for sharing the photo of the great view from the room, a picture truly says a thousand words. Thank you for your business!

Best regards,
Liz Jaquez
Social Media Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cedar Rapids, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2014

My teens and I had a great stay at the Hyatt. The staff was very helpful with helping us locate a venue that the kids were attending a concert. Everyone was very friendly and kind. We would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Jana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizJaquez, Owner at Hyatt Regency McCormick Place, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Jana N,

Thanks for staying with us for your recent concert. We're just a quick walk from Soldier Field and Northerly Island where many summer concerts take place. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will back and see us for future concerts or family trips to Chicago!

Best regards,
Liz Jaquez
Social Media Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
Level Contributor
377 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We purposefully those this hotel because my wife was attending a large conference at the convention center, reachable without having to go outside. We upgraded to a "view" room on the 33rd floor, for about $30 extra night. Total cost was over $300, which is high, but not super high for Chicago in the summer. Due to the location and conference, we ate most dinners in the hotel's Shor restaurant or M/X lounge. Actually pretty good. We walked 2-3 blocks to a small market to buy breakfast items we stores in the room's refrigerator. We also made use of a nearby dry cleaner with same-day or overnight service. There is a small number of smaller eateries, including White Castle, within walking distance. The neighborhood is not the best, but I never felt unsafe walking around, at least during the day. Saw lots of people jogging, and using bicycles.

It was about a 15 minute max walk to the nearest light rail station, which I used a couple of times to go downtown for shopping. My wife had to go to Midwest Orthopedics at Rush University a few times for physical therapy sessions, and cab ranged from $14-17 each way. Trip downtown was about $12, as I recall.

View from our room was excellent when there wasn't fog from Lake Michigan obscuring it. Pool was a bit cool, but indoors and nice. Fitness center large.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizJaquez, Manager at Hyatt Regency McCormick Place, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Sutter,

As someone who clearly travels a lot, we appreciate your taking the time comment on your experience. To save money on cab fare, the #3 CTA but stops right in front of the hotel and will take you up Michigan Ave to the Loop, Mag Mile, Millennium Park, and all other CTA train and bus stops. The METRA rail also stops next door in McCormick Place. I apologize if these public transportation options were not explained to you. The El is not the only public transportation option in town :) Thanks for sharing all the great pictures from your top floor guest room. We hope to be able to welcome you back the next time you are in Chicago!

Best regards,
Liz Jaquez
Social Media Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West St Paul, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2014

I stayed at the Hyatt MP for a 3 day conference. Overall, this is an excellent hotel for conference attendees. Everything is immaculate and the rooms were pristine. If I were just going to Chicago for leisure, I do not think this would be the ideal hotel to stay at. There isn't really anything in the neighborhood that you can walk to (bars, restaurants, convenience stores). It'll cost you about a $20 cab ride plus tip to go into downtown Chicago. Free wifi and fitness center were added bonuses as you never see this amenity included anymore. The cable selection was great. As a sports fan, I've never seen NBATV included in a hotel TV package like there was here. Plus the channels were all in HD. Again, something I rarely see at hotels yet.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizJaquez, Manager at Hyatt Regency McCormick Place, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Michael D,

Thank you for staying with us for your conference. We recently completed a complete renovation including all our public areas and guestrooms, so I'm glad you enjoyed our space. To save money on cab fare, try the #3 CTA bus. It stops right in front of the hotel every 10-15 minutes and will take you up MIchigan Ave to the Loop, Millennium Park, the Mag Mile, and more. Please keep us in mind for future visits to Chicago, even for leisure, as we are walking distance to Soldier Field (since you are a sports fan) as well as Museum Campus. Thank you again for your business!

Best regards,
Liz Jaquez
Social Media Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
South Loop
Wheeler Mansion
Wheeler Mansion
#139 of 189 in Chicago
112 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#99 of 189 in Chicago
4,946 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Jaslin Hotel
Jaslin Hotel
#135 of 189 in Chicago
54 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#84 of 189 in Chicago
6,438 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#129 of 189 in Chicago
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency McCormick Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency McCormick Place

Property: Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Address: 2233 South Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, Chicago, IL 60616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > South Loop , Near South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Chicago
#36 Business Hotel in Chicago
#37 Family Hotel in Chicago
#42 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#53 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency McCormick Place 4*
Number of rooms: 1258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your ideas about convention hotels will instantly disappear when you stay at Hyatt Regency McCormick Place. Here, chic yet inviting décor welcomes you from the moment you enter our newly renovated Chicago Hyatt hotel, turning our expansive space into a welcoming retreat. Take in the incredible views of downtown from contemporary guestrooms, savor a variety of delicious cuisines in our popular restaurants, or relax in our indoor pool and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency McCormick Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Mccormick Place Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Mccormick Place
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing