We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, huge rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Ranked #69 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“clean, huge rooms”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel is clean and the rooms are huge! Absolutely love the open area with the sinks and the large mirrors. The wifi is awesome. Only complain is that it's a little far away from downtown. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vilevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizJaquez, Reservations Manager at Hyatt Regency McCormick Place, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear vilevan,

It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you will stay here again! Be sure to use the #3 bus to get to the Loop and the Magnificent Mile. It stops right in front of the hotel and runs up and down Michigan Ave for $2.25/ride. It stops by the hotel every 10-15 minutes. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,
Liz Jaquez
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,115
    1,385
    518
    233
    103
See reviews for
693
570
162
2,302
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (803)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parkland, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have stayed here before, but this is my first stay since the renovation. The rooms have been refreshed and updated, the bathrooms completely overhauled and the furniture is new. Bed is plush and comfortable and the lighting is good. There is a refrigerator in the room and new large flat screen TV along with an ergonomic desk with several outlets. The in room WiFi was not very good - it frequently disconnected and, on one evening, did not connect at all.
The convenience of staying here while attending a convention is phenomenal. However, if you are here on a pleasure trip or if you have business downtown, this is probably not the best choice due to the distance and cost ($15 cab ride each way) getting to downtown. The convention I attended overwhelmed the property, caused long lines at restaurants and created a mass of people overflowing the lobby. Luckily, the room provided me an oasis of tranquility and comfort.
Bottom line, aside from the very spotty WiFi service, if you are attending a convention in McCormick Place, there is no better place to stay, but if not, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Try to get a room far from the elevators. I could hear the whine of the elevators from my room whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizJaquez, Reservations Manager at Hyatt Regency McCormick Place, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear RichJW,

Thank you for staying with us again. We're so excited for return guests such as yourself to experience our newly renovated guest rooms! I apologize for the spotty Internet service. As of June 5th, we doubled our bandwidth with our Internet service provider to avoid any other guests experiencing what you described. We hope to welcome you back again the next time your travels bring you to Chicago!

Best regards,
Liz Jaquez
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful and I stayed in the brand new North Tower. The bed is great, love the decor and the over abundance of pillows. Had a chance to use the health club which has new machinery and enough treadmills for everyone. The staff was great as well.

My view is not so great so I just kept my curtains closed.

Attending a conference so access is great to the center but not much to do in the immediate area at night. It's located in the south loop and not much you can walk to at night or if you want to grab lunch outside of the building. The facility does have a restaurant and McCormick has a cafeteria but they get real crowded quickly. Nice thing is that there is always a cab waiting to take you to the wonderful places in Chicago.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfostertol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizJaquez, Reservations Manager at Hyatt Regency McCormick Place, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear dfostertol,

Thank you for staying with us! How exciting to be one of the first guests to stay in our new North Tower this weekend! I'm glad to hear your enjoyed your room, the staff, and the health club. To save money on cabs, you can also try the #3 CTA bus. It stops right in front of the hotel and runs up and down Michigan Ave to the Loop, Millennium Park, the Mag Mile and can connect you to all city trains. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon!

Best regards,
Liz Jaquez
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very nice hotel in high quality, spacious and clean. Nice beds and great amenities in room. Big beds and huge selection of channels. Hotel is approx 1.5 mile walk from interesting parts of city so long walk or bus ride. No options for breakfast in surrounding area so you easily gets ripped off at hotel cafe and restaurant. We enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: As high as possible, and view toward north, we were on 28th and view was spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Salttoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizJaquez, Reservations Manager at Hyatt Regency McCormick Place, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Michael N,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience with us as well as the tip on our views. We have some incredible skyline views and I'm glad you got to enjoy one! We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Liz Jaquez
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, New York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We had booked our room for 3 nights while in town for the rolling stones show. We got a great price because there is some renovation on site, though we had no issues with noise or inconvenience.
my husband had purchased a $20 gift card for a coffee spot and sent it to the manager saying how excited we were to stay there. When we checked in they had put us in the executive suite! It was beautiful! Very stylish, LARGE, great toiletries, and being a corner room, we had an unbelievable view of the whole city skyline and lake.
We will definitely be back as we have business in Chicago often.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nurse1sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizJaquez, Reservations Manager at Hyatt Regency McCormick Place, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear nurse1sue,

What a fun reason to come to town! We hope you enjoyed the Rolling Stones concert! I'm so pleased that our staff took care of you and you enjoyed your room. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Chicago!

Best regards,
Liz Jaquez
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Fantastic remodel on an already terrific hotel. The staff was so professional. I arrived as one major convention was ending and another was starting. The bell staff, front desk crew and even management was on the floor helping all of the guests. They really acted like they cared that I got to my room fast and that I made my meetings on time. Suggestions on short cuts to locations and places to eat were perfect. May be a tad more expensive because it is connected to the convention center but well worth the stay! Great Stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizJaquez, Reservations Manager at Hyatt Regency McCormick Place, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Joe H,

Thanks for visiting all the way from Dallas, TX! Customer service is extremely important to Hyatt, and I'm so happy that our staff took great care of you.

Best regards,
Liz Jaquez
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for the Chicago Shamrock shuffle. As the official hotel, not only was it convenient to get to shuffle with their free shuttle and free overnight parking in rate , but the room rate was very reasonable and better than other hotels. The rooms were nice,spacious and updated. Although pricey the food options were great as well. The only issue we had was redeeming the parking voucher. We kept putting it in the machine outside of the lobby and going to desk for new one. Finally the third time someone informed us you redeem it as your leaving the garbage not in pay box! Lol but the friendly demeanor of the entire staff from front desk, to concierge , to restaurant.. made it okay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelerchiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizJaquez, Reservations Manager at Hyatt Regency McCormick Place, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Travelerchiq,

We hope you had a good race and enjoyed our special rate for the Shamrock Shuffle. We appreciate your business and taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to seeing you back for the Shuffle next year or hopefully for another stay before that.

Best regards,
Liz Jaquez
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
South Loop
Wheeler Mansion
Wheeler Mansion
#144 of 190 in Chicago
112 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#101 of 190 in Chicago
5,030 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 190 in Chicago
6,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Chinatown
Jaslin Hotel
Jaslin Hotel
#135 of 190 in Chicago
56 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#137 of 190 in Chicago
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency McCormick Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency McCormick Place

Property: Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Address: 2233 South Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, Chicago, IL 60616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > South Loop , Near South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Chicago
#36 Business Hotel in Chicago
#37 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#53 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency McCormick Place 4*
Number of rooms: 1258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your ideas about convention hotels will instantly disappear when you stay at Hyatt Regency McCormick Place. Here, chic yet inviting décor welcomes you from the moment you enter our newly renovated Chicago Hyatt hotel, turning our expansive space into a welcoming retreat. Take in the incredible views of downtown from contemporary guestrooms, savor a variety of delicious cuisines in our popular restaurants, or relax in our indoor pool and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelPower, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency McCormick Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Mccormick Place Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Mccormick Place
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing