We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Ranked #89 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 20, 2009

I had booked the room through name your own price, Priceline and got an awesome deal. I know the economy is down but this deal was a great one. I called after I made the reservation and requested a King room. Because on Priceline you really don’t know what your getting. You just know you got the room. Check in was smooth and the staff was very friendly. We got the King room we had requested. It was room 2401. The room was located on the end, so we had no problem with noise. Some people are commenting on the walls being paper thin. We heard no additional outside noise. The room was great. No complaints at all. Valet is 48 dollars a day but there is a parking garage right next to the hotel which has the standard 34 dollars for 18 to 24 hours, as im sure that is where your car is going anyway if you use the hotel. Taxi service was great; we had no problems getting one. Once we got back to the hotel after our evening out we went to the BIG BAR. It was crowded but we found a table no problem. Service there was good as well Server was very friendly. As far as drinks being expensive as some people have noted. It’s a hotel, in the middle of downtown Chicago. You’re not at the Holiday Inn in Madison Wisconsin people. Once back to the room we ordered some room service and it also came in a timely manner, and was very good. When it came time to check out the staff was great. Quick and efficient. I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank yenots88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,075)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,071 - 6,077 of 7,075 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2009

Okay, the location is great. And I asked to be up high, so they put me on the 25th floor with a lake view. The staff was really nice. But I was disappointed in the hotel itself. My room was artsy and attractive, but the walls were extremely thin. I could hear normal conversations in the rooms on either side and also in the hallway quite loudly. In fact the entire hotel is very loud. Usually in a 4-star place there are options for quiet, like at least one classy upscale restaurant in which to have a fine meal. Not here. The finest on-site restaurant is the Chop House, which had a noisy crowd. The atrium has another restaurant, a bistro, and a bar, but the cavernous space makes everything sound like Disneyland. The only other small restaurant is Pronto Mama's, where the deli cases and fridges hum at a frighteningly high volume and the loud overhead music can't be turned down (I asked, the waiter was helpful but apparently the volume is fixed). So the meal was accompanied by Volare and Frank Sinatra blasting overhead. But then let's talk about the food. I ordered grilled salmon on a bed of pesto pasta. The pasta, instead of being lightly tossed with pesto was drenched in it, with cheese so thick the pasta glommed together, all swimming in an olive oil soup. The salmon was so coated in pepper that my mouth burned -- there was no warning on the menu that this dish would be spicy or "picante," plus it's pretty hard to mess up salmon -- but that's what they did. Note that they also nickle and dime you at this hotel with extra charges such as high-speed internet for the exhorbitant rate of $16 per day. If you want a room that's *visually* attractive but you don't mind paper thin walls and you plan to eat elsewhere, this hotel would be fine. But I wouldn't call it 4-star, and I don't think the price is worth what you get. Altogether I was disappointed in this property.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mayalibre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2008

I was looking for a hotel close to Michigan Avenue that was around $100. I was able to get a $89 rate through the Hyatt web site. The Big Bar was cool but the drinks were very expensive. I guess you are paying for the view. Our room was decorated nicely and clean but the walls are paper thin. I could hear conversations clearly outside our room. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Especially the concierge.
If I had remembered my earplugs, I would have given this hotel an above average rating. All in all the hotel was worth the $89 per night. One plus is the free trolley stops outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lookinforsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2008

This hotel is fine if your idea of service is a particularly nice Holiday Inn in the late 1970's. The only trouble is, they think they deserve 2008 rates.

The place is a huge mess architecturally, With a dated, ugly lobby that is either too hot or too cold, depending on Chicago's weather. The staff is friendly, but poorly managed: Apparently no one has ever instructed the housekeepers not to shout down the hall to each other, and a used room service tray sat in the hall across from my room, unattended and unlovely, for a day and a half, until I finally called Room Service and asked them to take it away

The "Big Bar" is an expensive, incredibly mediocre establishment where you can expect to wait 15 minutes with a dirty glass from a previous customer in front of you before you are approached by a bartender. The one bright spot is Stetsons: The resident steakhouse, which has a nice staff, and at least a bit of an idea of service.

Seriously, Hyatt is not doing themselves any favors by keeping their name on this thing. I'm sure it's a cash cow, as they have plenty of convention space here, and something like 2000 rooms, but you'd think Hyatt - with their corporate headquarters around the corner - would think twice about this blight on their brand.

Tear it down, rebuild it, and start over with a well-trained and well-managed staff.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dalangdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2008

I stayed there for six nights and the only major problem I encountered was when they gave me a 4th floor room where the bathroom sink was broken. I called them and was put on hold for 20 minutes, then waited an hour for the service maintenance to come in. The maintenance said that it was going to take him a couple of hours to fix! When he said this, I packed my luggage and asked the reservation desk to give me another room --they knew I was not happy and didn't question my room change request. So I ended up on the 22nd floor and had a great view of the river.

Other than that, the rest of my stay was pretty good. The location couldn't have been better as the hotel property is in the heart of Chicago downtown, just a block away from the Magnificent Mile. Getting taxis were pretty easy as they lined up in front of the hotel almost all the time.

There were about three different conventions going on in the hotel during my stay, so every morning was a hustle and bustle --if you're looking for a serene atmosphere, this hotel is not what for you. There's also lines at the concierge most of the time so make time for that.

I had breakfast there for one morning and wasn't too impressed but I do love the fact that there is a Starbucks inside the hotel.

I wished they had free Wi-fi because I travel with my laptop all the time and had to pay for connectivity per day.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lolaluv03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2008

We've stayed here before, so we knew what to expect. Great location if you're staying in the Loop and hitting Michigan Avenue. No issues at all with the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank islandexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2008

Got a great deal for a 500 square ft room on the 22nd floor for $95 through Orbitz. Would go back there is a second. They had a perfect location and great staff. ASked the concierge about a good sushi restaurant. He gave us directions and the name of his sister who worked there, who would take care of us.

Room was perfect to relax and sleep. I woke up at 930 saturday morning thinking it was still the middle of the night it was so dark and quiet in there.

We were out on the town most of the time so we didnt eat at our hotel, but friends told us they were very good.

Dont let negative reviews steer you away from here. They are 1 in a 100. Get a good rate, go to the Hyatt to sleep, but go enjoy Chicago instead of complaining about taxis and noise.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darko31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#78 of 192 in Chicago
5,132 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,939 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#104 of 192 in Chicago
5,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chicago

Address: 151 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Chicago
#47 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#54 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $115 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 2019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the difference between a hotel and a Hyatt when you stay at our incomparable downtown hotel. Set within the epicenter of the city, our AAA Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Chicago is conveniently located in the heart of the downtown Chicago, connected to the Illinois Center and within minutes of the Magnificent Mile and Navy Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing