We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location / Amazing Decor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Ranked #86 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Had a little issue finding where to go after I parked but I had a great time. The front desk agents were super professional and had a great first impression. Loved the room, very spacious. BEST bar ever in terms of décor! It was a one night stay with family but we packed our fun in. The hotel is perfectly located, theatre district, restaurants, navy pier etc. Love!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank fresh4yphe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review of Hyatt Regency Chicago. We happy you enjoyed our hotel, including the spacious new guestrooms, as well as our newly renovated BIG Bar. We are also glad you appreciated how centrally located we are to all of downtown Chicago. Can’t wait to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,025)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,225 - 3,231 of 7,025 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

The hotel offered a very good deal on Hotwire. It is recently updated and the lobby has a busy, upbeat feel to it. We appreciated the second floor Market store being opened late at night for grabbing a snack at the end of the evening. The room was a standard 70's or 80's hotel room but it was nicely updated and very comfortable. Service at the front desk and at the restaurant/lounges was excellent. With being on Wacker and Columbus, the hotel is close to most major attractions, including Millenium and Grant Parks, the Art Institute of Chicago and Miracle Mile shopping on Michigan Avenue. My only beef would be the pricey drinks in the lounges; $13 for a margarita.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brezzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you for your hotel review. We are glad you appreciated our recently renovated property and the upgrades we have made. We are so thrilled to hear about the excellent customer service you received. Your comment will not go unnoticed, we’ll share it with our team. We look forward to you staying with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

First off this hotel is huge. It is two buildings connected with a walkway. It is right by the canal which is a very pretty view at night. The rooms a a bit small for a family like we had but you can make due. The bathrooms were on the small side but again you can deal with this seeing that it is in Chicago and not many rooms are very large without a very large price tag. The fitness center was pretty basic bit will due if you are needing a workout. It is very convenient to north Michigan, Navy Pier, and good places to eat. We were able to walk everywhere we went including the aquarium. The hotel staff are very friendly and accommodating. They were always willing to do what they could to help us with any problem we had. It is a great hotel in a great location with a good price for Chicago. I am planning on staying again this year and I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAIDANCE02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you for your review of Hyatt Regency Chicago and for your loyalty. We’re glad you enjoyed our pleasant staff as well as the prime location to many top attractions in the area. We can’t wait to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed late June 2014 in town for a conference...it's the perfect location. A short walk to lots of fun stuff...Michigan Ave, all the bars/restaurants in the Loop, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, Blues Bars, good food, the awesome museums if we'd have had the time, nice weather, perfect location.

HUGE hotel, however there is staff everywhere ready to direct and answer questions, concierge was able to make us dinner reservations, Wacker Drive is perfectly located. Expensive, but not as pricey as many other nearby hotels, comfy bed, we had an amazing river/Lake Michigan view...Very, very nice.

Would stay here again in a heartbeat. It was just me and my husband but I would not hesitate to bring back the kids, there were plenty around...but not at all disturbing, etc.

In room free Wi-Fi would have made it more perfect, but it was nice to unplug too.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank home2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you for your review of Hyatt Regency Chicago. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to you visiting us again soon and we’d love to meet your kids

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I love this hotel. It's a great location close to so much. I have taken my mother and my niece. Only downside is the cost to park your car, but isn't that most of the hotels in Chicago :p It's always clean and modern and the staff are so friendly. Had a great breakfast in the beautiful lobby restaurant before seeing the sights.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank tandrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you for your review of Hyatt Regency Chicago and for your loyalty. We appreciate your comments and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

In Chicago for a major AAU basketball tournament. The entire team and parents were booked at the Hyatt Regency Chicago hotel on East Wacker Drive. First time at this hotel and I was amazed at its size. It has two towers (east and west) spread across two blocks. I was informed that it was the largest hotel in Chicago. It also host many conferences so it’s always busy with tons of people roaming around. As it’s located in downtown Chicago, the parking costs at the hotel’s garage is ridiculous; $61 day….just for parking! There’s a public parking garage right next door for $40/day.

Pros:
• Hotel is in great shape and looks modern. Foyer is beautiful and huge. Big open restaurants on the lower levels. Carpets all looked to be new or in good condition
• Rooms were clean and spacious.
• Clean spacious bathroom
• Right off of Michigan Avenue (Magnificent Mile).
• Walking distance to just about every notable downtown attraction
• Kiosk for checking yourself into the hotel. It distributes your keys and statement as well.
• Public parking garage right new door that costs $20/days LESS than hotel
• Walgreens is very close so you can pick up bottled water, snacks, etc. without having to pay the hotel's high prices (at their Market store).

Cons:
• Mini fridges are small and fully stocked with expensive items. We pulled out some items to put our water bottles in there. The fridge is connected to the network and lets the front desk know what’s been removed (by weight). When we received our bill, there were charges for 4-5 bottles of wine/beer. We put their wine/beer back in and they were able to check via their network that the items were back in place. They did remove those charges. It would be nice to have a fridge that we could actually use.
• Elevators were terrible. We were on the 10th floor so the stairs were not a good option. Most times we waited 5-10 minutes for an elevator. There are six of them too!
• Breakfast is expensive. Better to go out and get breakfast.
• Market shop within the hotel are expensive
• No free Wifi
• Parking $61/day
• Our room’s view faced a high rise office building. You could see everyone working at their desks. Lots of noise too. Even on the 8th floor you could hear construction noises and sirens all day.

This hotel was price gouging us at every turn. Nothing was free or included and everything was overpriced. It was all about making money off the tourist. If I stayed here again, I would locate better priced parking areas. I heard there were $30/day garage just a few blocks away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river. Some of the towers sides face office buildings and those vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank gwevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

We appreciate your comments. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel’s recently renovated guestrooms and lobby, as well as our convenient location. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We recently stayed 3 nights at the Hyatt Regency in Chicago. I would not recommend staying there. Here are the problems we experienced:
1. The wait for the elevators was totally unacceptable. We waited 10-15 minutes everytime we needed to go up or down. The lines were long as everyone was waiting. We had to plan to leave our hotel room extra early just to make sure we could wait the 10-15 minutes and still get to our event.
2. The lines for bag check were ridiculously long -- did not have enough support staff to actually provide support for the guests.
3. The counter space in the bathroom is too small. It is sufficient for 1 person, but if you have 2 or more people in the room there is not enough space to put your stuff.
4. The TV signal in the room is horrible -- it is like watching TV from the 1970s. There is this new invention out called HD TV -- Hyatt maybe you should look into it for your guests.
5. Despite being told there were free newspapers for guests, we asked everyone morning and got the same response -- there are no newspapers left. One morning we were told to ask the bell hop for a paper -- he was simply rude and told us he didn't have any newspapers.
6. Parking rate in the hotel is $60 for overnight -- guests in the hotel should not have to pay this much to park overnight at the hotel.
If I have a choice, we will not stay at the Hyatt Regency in Chicago again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank JWS1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Our elevators have been under renovation, which can cause delays during a busy weekend. We will absolutely note your comments and work on ensuring these are dealt with immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#75 of 192 in Chicago
5,121 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 192 in Chicago
4,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#103 of 192 in Chicago
5,310 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chicago

Address: 151 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Chicago
#47 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#53 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Business Hotel in Chicago
#76 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $115 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 2019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the difference between a hotel and a Hyatt when you stay at our incomparable downtown hotel. Set within the epicenter of the city, our AAA Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Chicago is conveniently located in the heart of the downtown Chicago, connected to the Illinois Center and within minutes of the Magnificent Mile and Navy Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing