We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice conference hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Ranked #86 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New york
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Nice conference hotel”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is my second time in the past two months staying in this hotel. Both incidents were attending conference/meeting at the hotel. The hotel was chic, modern, and clean. The room is spacious with view of the lake and/or the river. The fitness center is well equipped.

There are two towers which are connected on the second floor and several basement levels. Trying to find the meeting rooms can be quite confusing especially if it is your first time attending conference in this hotel.

I like the location of the hotel. It is less than 5 minutes walk to the Michigan avenue and is within 15 to 20 min walk to most of the nearby attractions such as the Museums, Shopping, etc.

I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidNYC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback for Hyatt Regency Chicago on TripAdvisor! We're so glad you were able to make it back to visit us again and enjoyed our 24hr fitness center during your recent stay. We look forward to the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,465
    2,526
    1,019
    383
    208
See reviews for
1,014
1,384
319
2,820
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,367)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

spent five nights here in October Great hotel very clean, spacious and a very central location. Buffet breakfast a little pricey but really good, fantastic selection. My only complaint is the air con quite cold in all public areas they need to turn it down. If they sort out air con we will be back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MarieOC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of Hyatt Regency Chicago! I'm glad you were able to enjoy your recent stay at our downtown Chicago hotel and found our hotel to be very clean, spacious and in a very central location. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself was fine. Room was clean and attractive, bed was comfortable, and service was average.

However, my husband and I brought our own pillows. They were expensive memory foam pillows. We unfortunately left them in our room. Now, I do realize it's our fault for leaving them, however, we realized our mistake when we were about 30 min away and called immediately. We were told the hotel would look into it. In the end, after several days of calling, pillows were never recovered. Not sure if this is because they never actually looked, if they were taken by an employee, or they were taken by the next guest because the hotel staff didn't look for them soon enough.

Whatever the case, this shows a lack of trustworthiness and effort on the part of the Hyatt. We will never stay at this hotel again, or any other Hyatt.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy T, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention. Please accept my sincerest apologies for this experience. I have passed along your information to the appropriate staff. Can you please send your contact information to hrcemarketing@hyatt.com so we can reach you directly?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Okay, full disclosure: I had a friends and family discount, which allowed me to stay in such a nice place. But, in all honesty, for the single night we stayed here, I was very impressed with the staff and cleanliness of the establishment and will definitely return if the chance arises.

I was given a 3pm check-in time online, and expected to leave baggage in the storage room until the room became available. When we got there at 10am, the patient and friendly agent behind the counter informed me the room was all ready and answered some questions I had about the card payments. The experience was high-tech, painless, and really easy.

The room was clean and functional, had a great view east towards Lake Michigan, and was well-lit and large. The Hyatt is split into two buildings, East and West, with a walkway over Stetson. In the East building, there is a huge lounge and restaurant, several gift stores and coffee shops, and helpful employees who could direct us to city hotspots and even other restaurants. Everyone was friendly and helpful, and I couldn't have asked for a better experience.

The hotel is a block from Michigan Ave, and a half-mile from the Navy Pier, and in

Room Tip: Rooms high up on the north side will offer an amazing view of Michigan Ave and a wider angle of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattchimento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience at Hyatt Regency Chicago! I'm so glad you enjoyed your most recent stay at our downtown Chicago hotel and I'm thrilled to hear we were able to accommodate your early arrival. We look forward the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

11-2-3013 They were very slow. Give me a very dry beef sandwich . I asked for a bag the said they were out. When I came back with the old sandwich they had bags. I was staying at the Hyatt on south wacker. The walk from the hotel no safe by yourself. There were alot of drunks there as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ave0329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We appreciate your feedback! I'm glad you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, and offers nice views of the river. However, their check-in is rather slow, and their staff could a bit more courteous . Because the hotel was full, we were given a disabled persons room. That same evening we asked if we could move to a regular room. They said no problem, but we couldn't move until tomorrow. They next day we stood in a longer line 15 minutes or more to re-check in. The clerk tried to convince us that the rooms are all the same, including the disabled room. We had already checked out of the room several hours earlier, and we were not happy with the disabled person's room, so I'm not sure why the clerk continued to hammer this point. Other rooms do not have a sliding glass bathroom door that allows light to flood into the room at night, nor do they have magnified mirrors hanging a few inches above the already low sinks. We paid $289 per night (after taxes), yet there is still a charge for WiFi, unbelievable. They do however, offer 15 free minutes in the lobby, wow.
The rooms are a little noisy, but the hotel does have signs posted to be courteous when walking through the halls. The noise is from guests and not the hotel staff.
The beds are comfortable, and the rooms are both clean and spacious. As I previously mentioned, the hotel is in a great location close to great restaurants, the Magnificent Mile, the Navy Pier, and river cruises.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbidinginHim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your review! I'm glad you found our beds to be comfortable, the rooms to be clean and spacious, and our downtown Chicago hotel to be in a great location close to great restaurants, the Magnificent Mile, the Navy Pier, and river cruises. We hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I bid this hotel from priceline.com. It has a great location and very friendly staff at the front desk. The room is huge for the price I paid. However, you must pay for in room Internet if you are not a member. In room Snacks are a little bit expensive. Also, they do not allow restaurants to deliver food to your door, so you'll have to go to the lobby to get it. Overall, very pleasant experience. I will definitely book Hyatt again when I'm going to Chicago.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank MafiaS0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Hyatt Regency Chicago! I'm thrilled to hear you had an overall very pleasant experience at our downtown Chicago hotel and that you'll be staying with us again during your next trip to Chicago. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,609 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#64 of 190 in Chicago
4,077 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#72 of 190 in Chicago
4,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#18 of 190 in Chicago
2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chicago

Property: Hyatt Regency Chicago
Address: 151 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Chicago
#47 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#52 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Business Hotel in Chicago
#76 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 2019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the difference between a hotel and a Hyatt when you stay at our incomparable downtown hotel. Set within the epicenter of the city, our AAA Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Chicago is conveniently located in the heart of the city, connected to the Illinois Center and within minutes of the Magnificent Mile. We are excited to announce the completion of our $168 Million renovation! We are eager to show you our new welcoming lobby, engaging check-in pods and check out our three restaurant concepts and menus. Come see the completely transformed Hyatt Regency Chicago! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, HotelPower, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing