We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good location but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Ranked #86 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Heath, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The location of The Hyatt is great. But, this hotel is big. Really big. If you like that personal touch, extra attention, then don't stay here. Just too many things always going on and herds of people in and out. The rooms were nice. Although the bathrooms were ridiculously small and I felt the lighting in there was weak. I paid extra to stay in a Regency Club room...which is no different than the other rooms except for upgraded bath products and bedding. The beds were nice. But worth the extra money was access to the Club Lounge. Where you can have complimentary breakfast, light afternoon snacks, evening appetizers, and after dinner dessert. All the food and drinks were nicely displayed, fresh and it was a very nice gathering spot. I'm not sure if I would stay here again. For the money, I think I would prefer a smaller more personable hotel.

Room Tip: The Regency Club is worth the extra money. Saves on going out for breakfast, snacks, etc..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcpent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you found our location to be great and enjoyed the Regency Club upgrade. We hope to host you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,832
    2,156
    843
    317
    175
See reviews for
817
1,168
292
2,090
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
214 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I usually stay further downtown on my visits to Chicago but because of a good rate from Jettsetter we stayed at the Hyatt.

It is a great location right beside the river with a view of the city. It is right on Michigan so it was handy for shopping and places to eat. As well we wanted to take a boat tour which was right outside the hotel door.

This property is the largest hotel in Chicago and you can expect it to be noisy and it is but we chose a high floor and had no problems at all.

The room was spacious and very clean with a good view of the city.

The elevators were fast and we never had to wait very long for one to come.

The hotel staff is very good and you cannot stand still for a moment without someone asking you if they can help.

I think I will stay here again the next time I am in Chicago.

Room Tip: Stay on the higher floors because there is always a convention going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tempoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your most recent stay at our downtown Chicago hotel! I'm thrilled to hear you had a great time and found our location to be great. We look forward to hosting you again during your next visit to the Windy City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kalamazoo, MI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed on a busy Friday night in mid October and enjoyed the atmosphere of the hotel. It's happening without being chaotic, and the public areas are well kept. Our room was in the east tower and was spacious for a Chicago hotel. Very clean, updated and quiet. Have stayed at several other comparable hotels in the downtown area and would choose the Hyatt again. Easy walking to great shopping and restaurants in the Magnificent Mile area as well as down to Loop shopping. Valet Parking is $59 overnight with in and out privileges, pricey but typical for downtown hotel. Good choice hotel for couples, tourists, business. Staff helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Get a room in east tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerkalamazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your review of Hyatt Regency Chicago on TripAdvisor! I'm glad you had an enjoyable time at our downtown Chicago hotel and found our location to be ideal for shopping on the Magnificent Mile. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Sizable rooms, great location, clean, pretty quiet. Seems to cater to business travelers, which was not why I was on this particular trip, but that didn't bother me. Enormous lobby, bar and restaurant. Very friendly staff and we were able Roche k in early around 1pm which was really convenient.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationtraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for you review of Hyatt Regency Chicago! It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and we were able to accommodate your early arrival to our downtown Chicago hotel. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

First impression in the room was Musty. But oh well. When I was trying to connect to wifi it would not work. I called the help desk and they told me that is was $10 per day. Other places offer that for free. I forgot my tooth paste and they want to charge for that too. I bet other places have better service

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
632 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 465 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Quick summary: the spacious room felt very fresh with well thought-out amenities. Staff very friendly and professional, and on top of things (even dealing well with the Chicago Marathon weekend!) Very good restaurant in hotel and easy walk to Chicago Art Museum, shopping on N. Michigan Ave, restaurants, and other attractions.

I was in town for a conference, over the same weekend as the Chicago Marathon. So first off, the staff at the desks were great themselves for check in/out and other questions at the concierge desk, but the staff did a great job helping with out conference shuttles that had to alter routes as the Race interfered with typical flows. My high compliments all around!!

I stayed in room #968, a spacious king with a nice city view of the Chicago River as it near Lake Michigan. The room feels well thought-out for modern needs: lots of easy-to-access plugs on a spacious work desk; target lighting near the beds for reading; good closet and drawer space. The wifi worked well and smoothly (complimentary with my rate, but a $10 per day service charge otherwise.) All the usual amenities of a good business class hotel: coffee/tea set up; iron/board; in-room safe; overprices minibar; etc. There was also a long list of things you could ask for by request at no charge (e.g. robes, but I had brought my own.)

The bathroom was a pretty good size with enough counter space to spread out yours things. Nice quality toiletries; good towels. I was happy to see a bathtub; I'm not a fan of shower-only rooms when I've had a long day.

Excellent housekeeping throughout.

There are a number of good restaurants in the hotel, from high-end Stetson's steak house to a grab-and-go venue. I particularly liked the Craft restaurant for a late lunch, which focuses on local ingredients -- very good pulled pork sandwich,among other options of salads, sandwiches, and plates. Nice cheese board selection, wine list and craft beers.

My only complaint is that this area is near the bar, which is essentially a sports bar environment surrounded by TV's, and the hard surfaces don't help the noise level. It can get quite loud at night -- okay if you want to watch a game with friends, not if you want a quieter place for dinner or quiet drink. If you don't want to go far, try the Khyber Pass restaurant, which is accessible through a hotel lobby escalator and serves very tasty Pakistani food in a comfortable environment with excellent service, or one of the nearby hotels that have quieter bar and restaurant environments.

I almost downgraded my rating of this hotel for that noise-in-the-lobby and restaurant reason, but was too impressed by how the floor staff helped to guide us to our conference shuttles on the semi-chaotic morning of the Chicago marathon race. They handled the situation as best they could, and did a great job.

The location is very good -- easy walk to Chicago Art Institute, theater district in the Loop, restaurants and State Street, and the higher end shopping of North Michigan Avenue,

There is a Club level, but I did not book that level of room.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the Chicago River has a nice view of the river, nice cityscape, etc. They called th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mme_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your review of Hyatt Regency Chicago on TripAdvisor! I'm so happy to hear you had an enjoyable experience at our downtown Chicago hotel and found our location to be ideal. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Request Jason Jones at the front desk. He is a living example of service exemplified. Arrived very early on a Saturday morning (coming from Grand Rapids, MI area, forgot about the time change of an hour) in January 2013 for a convention from the American Dental Hygiene Association which is located in Chicago, with my artistic teenager daughter in tow. She came along to check out Columbia College and most of all, a visit to Chinatown. Upon being graciously greeted by Jason at the front desk, I inquired on what was the check-in time which is standard at most hotels late in the afternoon. The plan was for my daughter to use the internet in the lobby while I was in the seminar until we could check-in. Here is where the service stood out from all the others. He asked me "What time would you like to check-in"? My response was as soon as possible to get settled in before the seminar, my tired daughter could get some more sleep, do the internet in our room and more importantly, I could get an hour rest (grateful for the time difference) before attending the event. Impressed to say the least, we were accommodated at once with a wonderful updated room and upon request, a gorgeous view of the other side of Lake Michigan where we live. (See Photos). Thank you Jason Jones and Hyatt Regency for the excellent customer service received on January 12, 2013 making our stay in Chicago an enjoyable and wonderful memory. Recommend the Hyatt Regency to everyone visiting Chicago and would stay in a heartbeat again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your 5-star review of Hyatt Regency Chicago on TripAdvisor! I'm so happy to hear you experienced exemplary service from Jason Jones. He is certainly a valuable asset to our team and I will be sure to pass along your great comments. We hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#69 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 3,448 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#57 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 4,444 reviews
Streeterville
Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#14 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 3,809 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Downtown / The Loop
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chicago

Property: Hyatt Regency Chicago
Address: 151 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Chicago
#47 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#49 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Business Hotel in Chicago
#76 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 2019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the difference between a hotel and a Hyatt when you stay at our incomparable downtown hotel. Set within the epicenter of the city, our AAA Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Chicago is conveniently located in the heart of the city, connected to the Illinois Center and within minutes of the Magnificent Mile. We are excited to announce the completion of our $168 Million renovation! We are eager to show you our new welcoming lobby, engaging check-in pods and check out our three restaurant concepts and menus. Come see the completely transformed Hyatt Regency Chicago! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing