We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Hotel Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Ranked #83 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Large Hotel Average”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Generally I don't like large hotels and this one confirms my belief.... it's like Vegas without gambling this is a huge place and being on the 22nd floor of the west tower means that it a good 5 minutes from door to bed..... That said there are some good things and some bad things

Nice location and I had a nice view of the river from my room
staff was friendly (Generally) at least checkin, cleaning and the store - not so much at the restaurant
Room was ok but getting old - tv was old I was in the hyatt place which had way more connections/tv etc. for $89 not $180+
Bed was quite good
Chair was a little 60's ish and just not that comfortable
Bathroom was modern but sink was tiny and shaped strangely causing everything to spill
Please can we just get past old nasty tubs with a shower who the hell bathes in there ? shower was clean but had soap scum when you get in that slippery feel always makes me squirm.
Food was crazy city priced food at least there is a store but still a couple of drinks, sandwich and chips was $23

Overall an average hotel - I am sure I could have found something nicer for around the same money... As it was I bid this room on Priceline for $145 a night which was for Chicago a good deal I could have done a lot worse for that

Room Tip: Ask for the east wing not the west wing they might have new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bizTaveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,341
    2,457
    982
    369
    205
See reviews for
962
1,346
315
2,694
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,345)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level Contributor
111 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed for the weekend to see a show and shop the Mag Mile, so location was perfect. We used the Millennium Garage for parking which is only two blocks away (access on Randolph) for only $30/night. This works fine if you can drop one or more of your party off first with the luggage. Our rooms were on the 30th floor, West Tower, so quiet, facing a courtyard of sorts. The rooms are a decent size with two double beds, which are hard! but the pillows are plentiful and of a variety of softnesses. The bathroom has soft lighting, terrible for grooming and there is no ventilation, but somehow the room does not get steamy. The air conditioner ran constantly no matter what temperature setting but it was easy to sleep. Curtains make the room very dark. No lighting in the rest of the room conducive to making up or doing hair either with the only mirror across from the bathroom with no table or outlet. We only ate at American Craft Kitchen for desserts, which were killer. The chocolate cake was huge, the carrot cake whoopie pie and strawberry shortcake very, very good. Our server was so friendly and accommodating and really seemed to enjoy taking care of us. She made us feel very special, but really the only standout. I thought the in-room coffee was very good but there is a Starbucks downstairs. No pool or hot tub on property though.

Room Tip: Get a room higher up, elevators are fast
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RNay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review! I'm happy you enjoyed your most recent stay at Hyatt Regency Chicago were able to take advantage of our location right across from the river walk. We hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis tn
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I was at this hotel the week ofLabor Day, and this hotel did not disappoint us. The lobby is very nice and airy, the weight room was had a lot of equipment. Our room was very spacious and the bed was comfortable. The location very nice it was the center of every thing. Chicago is a very beautiful city contrary to what we hear about in the news. If you're planning a visit there this hotel is excellent.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KCULP35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review of Hyatt Regency Chicago on TripAdvisor! I'm so glad to hear you were able to visit us over Labor Day weekend and you had an awesome stay. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was expecting much more for a name like hyatt at first don't believe when they tell you " eStandby Upgrade Request" I am staying off season and they told me they don't have suits, rooms are small and not very clean, air condition very noisy, in short i don't recommend

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samzaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Overall, I rate this Hyatt 4/5. But there are 3 drawbacks:
1. Noisy location near a Chicago Fire Department station with constant sirens
2. Rude smokers right outside the entrances and no efforts by hotel staff to enforce local ordinance
3. Fitness center is small and very crowded at peak times.
We have stayed here many times but will look for a better hotel next time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mljhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced while you were here. We are actually redesigning our fitness center very soon - hopefully you'll have a chance to come back to see the changes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funes, Argentina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was there for a couple of weeks, the room was very good, a big room, the cleaning well, I used the laundry and was on time and no too expensive, you have the possibility to take berakfast in the bar of the hotel or in a Starbucks there, the prices are reasonable and the location is excellent, near to the park, a little bit blocks from the Magnificient Mille,

I will come back

Guillermo, argentina, sept 2013

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guillermo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We appreciate your feedback for Hyatt Regency Chicago! I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay and found our downtown Chicago location to be excellent. We hope to host you again the next time you visit from Argentina!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel was in a great location to the main attractions that Chicago offers. It is steps away from the river walk, river tours and bus tours. The magnificent mile is about a five minute walk from the hotel. There is a rental car agency located in the hotel which was also very convenient. Our room was lovely and had a spectacular view of the river and the Chicago skyline. Our rate included the buffet breakfast. The breakfast had everything you could want. The breakfast was better than we have had anywhere including cruises and Sandals resorts. The service from the wait staff was exceptional. They couldn't do enough to help you. It was quite apparent that the Hyatt Chicago promotes high customer service to their staff. Everyone from restaurant staff to house-keeping staff were very pleasant and always spoke to you. We were very impressed with the hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abbeylanepam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your great comments for Hyatt Regency Chicago on TripAdvisor! I'm so glad you enjoyed our breakfast buffet at our new restaurant, American Craft Kitchen and Bar and you found our location and service to be fabulous. We look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#61 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,887 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#66 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,459 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#99 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chicago

Property: Hyatt Regency Chicago
Address: 151 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Chicago
#47 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#51 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Business Hotel in Chicago
#76 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 2019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the difference between a hotel and a Hyatt when you stay at our incomparable downtown hotel. Set within the epicenter of the city, our AAA Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Chicago is conveniently located in the heart of the city, connected to the Illinois Center and within minutes of the Magnificent Mile. We are excited to announce the completion of our $168 Million renovation! We are eager to show you our new welcoming lobby, engaging check-in pods and check out our three restaurant concepts and menus. Come see the completely transformed Hyatt Regency Chicago! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing