We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and perfect location for outtings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Ranked #88 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My family of four stayed at the Hyatt Regency Chicago in June. The location is perfect for families who want to explore Chicago. The boat rides were just across the street. We enjoyed our short walk to the Navy Pier through some fantastic neighborhoods. It was a short walk the Cloud Gate, and we were able to catch a bus a few streets down to go to the Field Museum. Chicago is a beautiful city. The staff at the hotel had smiles on their faces, and the concierge was fantastically helpful. The Hyatt even has a Hertz rental car rep on site. Not to mention that our room had a beautiful view of the river and the lake. It was a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanchezFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for your comments about your stay at Hyatt Regency Chicago! I'm so glad you were able to enjoy our downtown Chicago hotel and found our location to be perfect. It sounds like you had a great time exploring the city, Navy Pier, Cloud Gate and the Field Museum! We hope to have you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,065)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,925 - 3,931 of 7,065 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Very central and a few minutes walk from the Magnificent Mile. Excellent service and helpful staff. Spacious lobbey. Nice rooms though the ones next to lifts can be noisy. Chicago is a beautiful city. Make sure you take the sightseeing double decker bus which is not expensive and ticket valid for 3 days. Go on a cruise with dinner/lunch on Lake Michigan with Odyssy. Very reasonable price and worth every penny

Thank Fair2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your most recent stay at Hyatt Regency Chicago and found our location to be great. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you're in the Windy City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Got a one night room with an online bidding service. Basically this is a huge hotel with lots of rooms. The lobby has free water near the check in counter and the restaurant/bar area is super airy and cool looking.

No complaints about the room at all. Roomy, clean, and very serviceable. The only thing is that there's no free wi-fi, which is standard in U.S. hotels these days.

They let me have a free USA Today to join their rewards program. Good deal if you like free newspaper but I don't really read it much.

They front desk was super helpful too. I left my laptop charger on the plane and they tried to find a similar one in the lost and found for me to take. No dice but super nice of them to offer to help.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UsedToSmallSpaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for your feedback for Hyatt Regency Chicago and thank you for joining Hyatt Gold Passport! It's a very rewarding program and I'm sure you'll enjoy all the benefits of being a part of the Hyatt family. I'm so glad to hear such nice comments about our staff and hotel. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night at the Hyatt Regency as a fun get away. Wasn't impressed by what you get for your money. The room is nice and the staff was friendly. The room doesn't have a fridge or microwave which is inconvenient if you bring food back to the hotel. The package I purchased included wi-fi and it wouldn't work at all. The AC seemed to not work very efficiently, it was hot most of the night. The TV worked but it was an extremely grainy picture. Also I found a dirty sock just laying on the floor when I got there. Not impressed.. Would find somewhere else next time

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oyveyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Checked In room just closed door there is a knock. Someone from hotel asking why I was still in room? Informed her we just walked in Oh this room is on the discharge list. Called front desk they were nice and apologized stating it was a mistake, lady at door not so much. Our room is at the end of the hallway there is a dirty glass right outside our door. Went to front desk on way out. I was informed that it is a room service issue. No offer to take care of it and as I walked away they laughed at me. Very disappointing!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Are you still currently staying at our hotel? If so, please send your contact info to hrcemarketing@hyatt.com. We'd love to have an opportunity to turn this around for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Location is central. The staff were helpful and upgraded us on check in. The facilities are fantastic.
THis is a large hotel so if you are looking for intimacy - no way. Because of it's size there can be a considerable wait for an elevator to your room. I enjoyed the well equipped gym and the 24 hour cafe/shop on the east wing.
You are on the river and can run the trails and see the attractions all within walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jem2000_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for your great comments for Hyatt Regency Chicago! I'm thrilled to hear you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and our location to be ideal and central to top downtown Chicago attractions. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed in the Hyatt for 5 days and enjoyed it very much. Our hotel had a great view of downtown Chicago and the lake. (Good for pictures) There is free wi-fi in the room, nice bed and bathroom, and overall good accommodation. The staff is very friendly and knowledgable about the hotel and city. If you have a rented car, choose to self park, as Valet is more expensive. My only complaints are that the pool is an indoor lap pool with too much chlorine. It would be nice to have another big and outdoor pool for the summer. Also, when you left your room service to be taken away outside your door, it took much too long for them to get it and we had to call because it was taking to long. I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#76 of 192 in Chicago
5,131 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 192 in Chicago
4,930 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#104 of 192 in Chicago
5,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chicago

Address: 151 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Chicago
#47 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#54 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Business Hotel in Chicago
#76 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $122 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 2019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the difference between a hotel and a Hyatt when you stay at our incomparable downtown hotel. Set within the epicenter of the city, our AAA Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Chicago is conveniently located in the heart of the downtown Chicago, connected to the Illinois Center and within minutes of the Magnificent Mile and Navy Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing