We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel if you are on a holiday or business!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Ranked #91 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Check in is always quick and people at the front desk are always in a good mood. Rooms are really nice and cleaned well daily. I was impressed that the maid took the time to organize my shaver, toothbrush, cologne, etc for me. The hotel is located on the Michigan Mile and walking distance to great restaurants and shopping. If you want to take public transit, the train and bus stops are a short walk. There is also a neat little grocery store a block away from the hotel to get some fruit, soup, salad, drinks etc if you wanna eat healthy. Cab ride is about 30 from o'hare. Shuttle is about 18 but may stop at other hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saskratchurass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for your feedback! It's so good to hear you were pleased with our housekeeping staff and found our downtown Chicago location to be ideal. We hope to welcome you back to Hyatt Regency Chicago soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,123 - 4,129 of 7,178 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here 06/12/13-06/14/13. We had a partial view of the river, the rooms were tidy, nice size, and the beds were comfy. (I carry my own pillow) The hotel is large and has a great location. Parking was 52.00 a day, we never used our vehicle we walked everywhere! Great neighborhood walked around as late as 11 PM and always felt safe. AMC movie theater near by as well! I highly recommend this hotel and location is great. We booked on Hotwire secret hotel and got the Hyatt for 91.00 a night!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cabella8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for your great comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Hyatt Regency Chicago are were able to take advantage of our excellent downtown Chicago location. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The hotel, including the bars/restaurants, have been completely renovated. They took out the funky fountains on the main floor, and expanded the restaurant space. Very bright and airy feel. Rooms were also nicely renovated, but space for putting personal items in the bathroom, was inadequate. Would have been nice to get rid of bathtubs, and replace with walk in showers. Food is still quite pricey in the restaurants, but it is Chicago! Bed creaked every time you moved, which was a bit annoying. Needed to have a variety of pillows.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I recently stayed here for weekend fun. We stayed in the West Tour and had the most amazing view of Lake Michigan and surrounding buildings. The location of the hotel is perfect - down the street from Michigan Ave. Walking distance to Millennium Park, Navy Pier, boat tours, stores, dinning. Price is extremely reasonable. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: West Tower - ask for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sptaz33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for Hyatt Regency Chicago! I'm thrilled you enjoyed your weekend stay at our downtown Chicago hotel and found the location of our property to be perfect. I will certainly pass along the compliment for our staff as well. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great location! Very close to trolley stops, bus stops, water taxis, restaurants, shopping and attractions on the Magnificent Mile. Also, within walking distance of Millennium Park and Navy Pier. This is a huge hotel and the room was very clean & comfortable. Only negative during our stay in the West Tower was the elevator service. It seemed that only 2 or 3 of the many elevators were running at one time, which resulted in long waits as many full elevators stop & pass you going down.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1dearolddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enojoyed our location near public transit, shopping and attractions on the Magnificent Mile. We hope to host you again the next time your travels bring you to Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here before for conferences and the Hyatt is the Hyatt-upscale and service oriented, but the place was clearly old and dated even if upscale. Now it is sleek and modern looking. Very much familiar but clearly clean comfortable and with an eye for the 21st century as far as amenities go. Definitely, worth the bucks they've spent. Great location in a very walkable and vibrant city.

Room Tip: Highest floor available, shoot for the east facing northern most rooms in the west tower for the abs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cardiotron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor! We are so glad you were able to enjoy our newly renovated downtown Chicago hotel. Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We arrived here one evening in March and were immediately offered a room on the top floor. It had access to the regency lounge which offered complimentary drinks and food, it was amazing. The room was clean, had a very comfortable bed and had a stunning view. The staff were amazing, especially Tonya Christmas who worked in the regency lounge, she went above and beyond to make our stay welcome, she was friendly, entertaining and very polite. The location of the hotel was fabulous, and we had a wonderful time. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone else. Big hello to Tonya!

Room Tip: The top floor was fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilchicamanpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for such great feedback! I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade to our Regency Club lounge and especially enjoyed Tonya. She's awesome! We hope to have you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#106 of 191 in Chicago
5,414 reviews
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#30 of 191 in Chicago
5,030 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chicago

Address: 151 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Chicago
#47 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#56 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $128 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 2019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the difference between a hotel and a Hyatt when you stay at our incomparable downtown hotel. Set within the epicenter of the city, our AAA Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Chicago is conveniently located in the heart of the downtown Chicago, connected to the Illinois Center and within minutes of the Magnificent Mile and Navy Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing