We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Ranked #90 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during a mini break to Chicago. I found an excellent deal for a weekend's stay at the Hyatt and it worked out great as the hotel is in a perfect location. It is within reach of the Magnificent Mile and a buzzing shopping scene. I'd definitely stay at this hotel again!. For a Hotwire deal, one can't go wrong with this choice and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Techyling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you for your review of Hyatt Regency Chicago on TripAdvisor! We are glad you were able to enjoy our downtown Chicago hotel and found our location to be perfect for your Magnificent Mile shopping needs. We hope you choose us again the next time you're in the Windy City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,238 - 4,244 of 7,145 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

Check in was a breeze at this grand Hyatt in the heart of downtown Chicago. My room had 2 double beds and overlooked the Michigan Ave intersection. The room was ready early thanks to the online check in feature. It was well appointed and clean and had a good selection of mini bar items if you needed them. I enjoyed the convenient location and various dining and snack options available. Great place to stay and feel comfortable while away home.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you for your review of Hyatt Regency Chicago on TripAdvisor! We are glad we were able to accommodate your arrival arrival at our downtown Chicago hotel. We'd love to host you again the next time your travels bring you to Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I spent four days/three nights at the Hyatt for a large conference. My check-in was flawless and I was offered early check-in if I didn't mind a handicap/accessible room (fine with me). The room was nice and included many accessible features including a lower king-size bed, a large shower with no tub or obstructions, wide doorways, lower hangers, moveable mirrors, two levels of "peep holes," and other features that seemed well thought-out. I ate at two of the hotel's restaurants for quick meals and was pleased both times. The large conference area took a little while to figure out, but the hotel provided a map of the multi-leveled, two towered area that makes up the conference center. The biggest issue with the conference area was the crowded rooms -- this related more to the size (5000 +) of the conference, which was probably a little too big for this venue. The elevators on the east tower to my room on the 26th floor were very slow at times (only six elevators). The hotel is about six blocks from Navy Pier and very convenient for runs or walks either north or south along Lake Michigan (Navy Pier is sort of the dividing point). Ask the concierge for a running map that shows mileage. The hotel is also very convenient to Michigan Avenue and all of the shopping, eating, and site-seeing that's available in Chicago. Taxis are always waiting at the door and Union Station's about a $7 cab ride away. The hotel, conference area, and my room were all very clean and well-maintained. All of the staff that I encountered were very nice. Prices for food and other things in the hotel were high...but convenience always comes at a cost.

Room Tip: Accessible rooms available and seem well thought out (but I'm no expert).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you for your review of Hyatt Regency Chicago on TripAdvisor! We are glad you were able to enjoy our new restaurants and found our downtown Chicago location to be convenient and ideal. We hope you can come back to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed here whilst on an eas cost tour of the USA! Although being the coldest city in the world - the staff and rooms at the Hyatt are fantastic, concierge was super helpful and insightful! Being clost to the mile and right next to millennium park was excellent! A great way to see a greate... cold city!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Liam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you for your review of Hyatt Regency Chicago on TripAdvisor! We are glad you found our downtown Chicago location to be excellent and our concierge staff was so helpful. We hope to host you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Was concerned about some of the TA reviews relating to sheer size of this place. while the lobbies are overwhelmingly loud, buzzing and busy with bars, restaurants, cafes, etc once you get up to your room and floor all of the noise disappears. Found the room to be quiet and comfortable. Parts of the hotel seem dated and in need of a refresh, but in general the room was spacious, comfortable and clean. East Wacker location very convenient for business or tourism.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you for your feedback for Hyatt Regency Chicago on TripAdvisor! We are glad you found your guestroom to be quiet, spacious and comfortable during your stay. We hope to host you again the next time your travels bring you to the Windy City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This Hyatt does have good access to Wacker and Michigan Avenues. It is also connected to the pedway system, so you can walk inside during bad weather all the way to Michigan and Lake.

During my stay, the hotel was still being renovated, which meant at least one-third of the elevators in the east and west towers were out of service - not good when there are thousands of people there for a conference.

Rather than label the main lobby floors 1,2,3, etc., they are "Blue", "Green", "Bronze", etc. That was the most confusing system of naming floors I've encountered. Was "Blue" for sky or for views to the Chicago River? Very misleading and confusing for your first visit.

There are two guest towers - East and West. If you check in using one of the electronic kiosks, be aware that it does not tell you which tower your room is in. I found out the hard way that lower numbers were in the West Tower, higher numbers in the East. If you are unsure, ask one of the hotel staffers standing around the check-in area,

My guess is both towers were older but updated. While the furnishings and bathrooms are good, the walls remain very thin between rooms. You can very easily hear what is going on in your neighbor's room. I could clearly hear conversations in the adjoining room with no trouble. Also - and this was a first - I could hear the person in the next room SNORING in the middle of the night. Hyatt should have taken the time to add acoustic treatments to the rooms to cut down on this.

As for dining, do yourself a favor and avail yourself of the many good area dining choices in Chicago. You need not be limited to what is in the hotel. The Hyatt had a relatively new mid-priced dining option called the American Craft Kitchen & Bar (it opened just before I got there), but the staff was poorly trained. I was seated but never could find anyone to take my meal order, even though others were being served around me. After 30 minutes I walked out. Even if it is new, there was absolutely no excuse for this lack of service.

Also in the hotel are an expensive steakhouse (Stetsons) and an "Irish pub" (Daddyo's) weirdly located at the end of the skybridge. One good thing - a 24-hour market selling a variety of prepared foods. Over-priced but convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is one of the very best the city of Chicago has too offer. It sits on the Chicago River, right at the entrance to Michigan Avenue, the shopping mecca of the city. Every year we stay here for the Festival of Lights parade, the Saturday before Thanksgiving. We arrive early Saturday and luxuriate in our room on one of the top floors and enjoy a delicious meal from their terrific restaurant before venturing down to Michigan Avenue to watch the years best parade. The Festival of Lights Parade, lights up Michigan Avenue from Wacker Drive all the way to the Hancock Building. The street comes ablaze for the weeks leading up to Christmas. We watch as some of Chicago's local celebrities and infamous characters travel up Michigan Avenue bringing us joy and warmth to open the holiday season. This hotel makes the weekend extra special because at the end of the evening we go up to our room and see the sparkling lights below. The hotel is Chicago at it's best, classic, well decorated, incredible staff and the beauty of helping you with whatever you need. It's not cheap but it's the best money I spend all year!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noname121227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you for your review of Hyatt Regency Chicago on TripAdvisor! The Festival of Lights Parade is one of our favorites and we are thrilled that you were able to enjoy it with us! We hope to see you back again this year for the magical parade and to see our newly renovated hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 191 in Chicago
5,002 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#105 of 191 in Chicago
5,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chicago

Address: 151 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Chicago
#47 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#55 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $134 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 2019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the difference between a hotel and a Hyatt when you stay at our incomparable downtown hotel. Set within the epicenter of the city, our AAA Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Chicago is conveniently located in the heart of the downtown Chicago, connected to the Illinois Center and within minutes of the Magnificent Mile and Navy Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing