We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for sight seeing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Ranked #88 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel was a great location for local sightseeing. It was 1.2 miles from Willis Tower, around a mile from the Navy Pier, and right along the River Walk. The hotel was clean and there were several places within the hotel to eat and drink. We happened to be there right before their remodel was complete so there was some construction and we didn't get to experience all the new bars, eating facilities; however, it was still a good experience.

The only negative experience was that the first day or two was confusing to navigate because the hotel has two "towers," and two main floors. Sometimes it was difficult to find where to check in vs. concierge vs. eating, etc; however, this would not prevent me from returning or recommending it to another traveler!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank breanna_rae_slp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for your review on Hyatt Regency Chicago on TripAdvisor! We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our downtown Chicago hotel and found our location to be ideal. Our renovations are now completed, we hope you can come back to see all of the changes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,827)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Chicago
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,988 - 3,994 of 6,827 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here for spring break. Check-in is easy. Room is clean and comfort. We got 35th floor on West Tower and great view. There is no two beds room available at the time we checked in. This is a drawback for a family with a teenage daughter. Didn't try any food in the hotel and from breakfast menu, it seems expensive. no free internet.

Michigan Ave is a few blocks away. Also the millennium pack is two blocks away. About 15 mins walks to Blue line to airport.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side has the great view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnsmith2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for your review of Hyatt Regency Chicago on TripAdvisor! We appreciate your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your most recent stay with us and your great view from the 35th floor. We hope to host you again the next time your travels bring you to the Windy City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The best part of this hotel is the lobby, or it was prior to remodeling. The hotel is still undergoing renovations and has suffered as a result. The temporary lobby is crowded and the front entrance is a tangle of traffic. The renovated rooms are nice and the staff is friendly, but that is typical for hotels in this category in downtown Chicago. I would avoid this property until the renovations are complete.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UDSL05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

NEVER, EVER, NEVER, EVER, EVER AGAIN! Horrible Customer Service!!

:( My wife, son and I had reservations for an Easter weekend stay at the Hyatt Regency, 151 E. Wacker Dr in Chicago. We left the hotel and returned home after 4 hours. Why, you might ask? We had a room with 2 Queen beds, and one had a SERIOUS sagging problem across 80% of the bed, perhaps 6-8 inches deep. Given the fact I have 2 bulging discs, that is a major problem. After informing management of this, we were told the beds were recently changed because of the ongoing renovation. Really? Well it is sagging now and unusable. We asked to be moved to another room and were told they were sold out. As an insult, we were offered a rollaway bed instead. ("Did I not say I have 2 bulging discs?"). We informed management we were leaving instantly and asked for a complete refund and reversal of a free night I had used for one of the nights. Upon checkout, the front desk associate was very concerned about our experience, and asked if there were anything she could do or possibly book us in another hotel. We thanked her and said no. We never saw a manager and apparently they could have cared less. This was an appalling, annoying and totally unsatisfactory experience.

To add insult to injury, the free night expires today, March 31 2012 and of course they put the day back in my account with the same expiration date.

Cancelling my Hyatt Visa, burning the rest of my Gold Passport Platinum points and moving back to Starwood. There are too many choices of hotels in Chicago, and I didn't expect encounter a YMCA bed at a Hyatt.

if I could rate Zero, I would do so without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank HaroldM1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd C, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for your review and for bringing this to our attention! I'm sorry to learn of the mattress being of discomfort to your back with little to no follow-up from our management team. If you are able to email me personally at hrcemarketing@hyatt.com, I can look further into proving you the points that expired.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The location is central to Millennium Park, museums, and within walking distance of the restaurants and shops on the Magnificent Mile. For our personal tastes, the hotel was a bit too large and boisterous. Stepping past the crowds of guests, jamming into small elevators, navigating the labyrinth of hallways and color-coded floors, finding valet parking a crazy experience -- this made the hotel seem like an airport/convention center.

The service -- at the front desk, the valets, and the bellhops -- was almost always helpful, attentive, and friendly throughout our 2-night stay. We requested a "view," and the woman was kind enough to find us a view of the water and city lights in the West tower.

The room was modern, clean, and simple (essentially a bed, an armchair and footstool, and one desk-TV-minifridge combo), a bit dim both during the day (the window was small) and in the evening (which is fine). And the bathroom was in very nice shape (though very sparse amenities and towels). The bottom line, though, was that the walls were thin (we were woken up each morning by toddlers next door) and the king-sized bed might have been the least comfortable hotel bed I've stayed on, leaving us exhausted each day -- which feels counterproductive for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank behb61910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Nice hotel, the same high standard expected from Hyatt Regency. The room is spacious and nice. There was some renovation in the east tower in March 2013, so the Wacker entrance and the lobby of the easter tower was blocked off. But it is the same great hotel.

The location is perfect. Right at the center of downtown Chicago. Magnificent Mile starts from the doorstep to the north, steps to Millennuim park, the rest of downtown to the south, beautiful view of Chicago river and the skyscrapers right at Wacher and Michigan Ave. If you are staying in downtown Chicago, you can't go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank collector_hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for your review of Hyatt Regency Chicago on TripAdvisor! We are glad you were able to enjoy our downtown Chicago hotel and found our location to be perfect. Our lobby renovations are now completed, we hope you can come back soon to see all of the exciting new changes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Although the hotel is currently under construction, it is still a great place to stay. Located downtown, it is a short walk to many attractions such as the Maginificent Mile and the Water Tower. The room in which we stayed had already been remodeled and was nicely appointed with dark woods. The bathroom was roomy, but did not have any towel racks/hooks by the sink. Ambient, motion-sensored lights and under the side table and offer soft lightening in case you need to get up in the night. The bed was comfy and the room was spacious.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissyDTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for your review of Hyatt Regency Chicago on TripAdvisor! We are glad you enjoyed your most recent stay at our downtown Chicago hotel. It's great that you found our location to be ideal and our rooms to be comfy and spacious. Our renovations are now completed, we hope you can come back soon to see all of the changes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#69 of 191 in Chicago
5,051 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#23 of 191 in Chicago
4,769 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#64 of 191 in Chicago
4,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chicago

Address: 151 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Chicago
#47 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#53 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Business Hotel in Chicago
#76 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $136 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 2019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the difference between a hotel and a Hyatt when you stay at our incomparable downtown hotel. Set within the epicenter of the city, our AAA Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Chicago is conveniently located in the heart of the city, connected to the Illinois Center and within minutes of the Magnificent Mile. We are excited to announce the completion of our $168 Million renovation! We are eager to show you our new welcoming lobby, engaging check-in pods and check out our three restaurant concepts and menus. Come see the completely transformed Hyatt Regency Chicago! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing