We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best employees ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Ranked #84 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best employees ever!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here for a dance competition and the staff was so friendly helping to find locations within the hotel, around the hotel and staff was so attentive! I left behind belongings that were valuable to me and the staff was able to find them and return to me untouched! That says it all to me!! Not every hotel can boast that! Kudos Hyatt, you have trained your staff very well!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmackey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your review of Hyatt Regency Chicago on TripAdvisor! I will make sure our front desk staff is aware of your accolades. I hope you are able to stay with us again at our downtown Chicago hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,393
    2,480
    991
    375
    207
See reviews for
978
1,362
317
2,746
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,354)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Another great experience at The Hyatt. Excellent location downtown Chicago, good restaurants and impressive bar. The only thing I did not like was that parking was not included in the reservation price, they charged $60 a day for parking; but parking was high everywhere in Chicago.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hyatt Regency Chicago! I'm glad you were able to come back and visit us again and we look forward to your return trip. Our parking rates compete with other area hotels in downtown Chicago and know that if you mention our word on the week featured on our Facebook page, you can receive $15 off parking for 24 hours! I hope you are able to stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have had the great pleasure of staying at this hotel a few times in the past 8 years; however, my most enjoyable experience was last week for several meetings in the hotel and local area for business. From hotel staff to food quality to location, it would be hard to find anything better! The front desk associate, Kevin, was very pleasant, friendly and helpful. He made sure I knew the hotel is undergoing "improvements" (renovations) and informed me of detours to access certain public areas and outlets. The banquet staff and convention services management (specifically we worked with Bradley Spear) were outstanding, providing anything we needed in an timely fashion. Our organization will be hosting 2,000 attendees for our annual meeting with the hotel in July and look forward to returning. Whether business or pleasure in Chicago, I would definitely book a guestroom at the Hyatt Regency Chicago!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your review of Hyatt Regency Chicago on TripAdvisor! I'm so glad you had a great stay and meeting with us! We hope you choose to stay with us and book your next meeting at our downtown Chicago hotel location. We loved having you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I had airline trouble so United put me up in the Hyatt overnight. I was only there for about 14 hours but it was long enough to experience the beauty of this hotel, the quality of the rooms, the food and the staff. The hotel was gorgeous, the rooms were clean, the food in the hotel bar was awesome and the staff was super nice. The front desk staff, bar staff, restaurant staff - everyone was super nice. I wasn't there for long but I wanted to be there longer!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CityGirlAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor for Hyatt Regency Chicago! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you choose to stay at our downtown Chicago hotel location the next time your travels bring you to the Windy City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koszalin, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We got a room in this hotel, when our flight operated by Spirit Airlines was cancelled. The location is very good, there are shuttle buses travelling to the O'hare Airport 24/7. Room are clean, beds are very comfortable. The restaurant isn't cheap, but the quality of food and service is just excellent. The construction of the building is pretty old, but the whole was renovated a few years ago.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank szyn3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I hope you choose to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the Windy City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

got this hote on priceline for long mlk weekend getaway. large,clean room on 14th floor of east bldg with partial city view. front desk was very friendly and accomodating on every opportunity to serve us. used the exercise center but missed an indoor pool. walking distance to art museum & shopping; even in winter. did not use the hotel restaurants but plenty to choose from in the loop.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inds_flames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor of Hyatt Regency Chicago! We hope you are able to come back and visit our downtown Chicago location again and experience one of our five new outlets with reconcepted menus! Renovations will be complete in early April and we hope to see you again! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

My partner & I stayed at this hotel from the 17th to the 22nd of January. We travelled from England & booked the hotel as a package with flights with British Airways. The dates of our stay were put back a day by BA but they seemed to have forgot to let the hotel know! One look at our documentation & it was sorted professionally with a minimum amount of fuss thanks to the friendly & efficient girl on check in. Due to renovations the lobby isn't anything special but is still clean & tidy. The check in procedure was very quick, we checked in at 1430hrs & were the only ones checking in at that time. It was the quietest the lobby was for the rest of our stay! Due to the numerous conferences that are going on the hotel is very very busy. That isn't a bad point, just at times a long wait for the lifts. We wanted to speak to the concierge but didn't due to the vast amount of people around the desk at all times! With that in mind the staff are still polite, friendly & welcoming.

Our room was on the 15th floor with a view of Navy Pier which was lovely! The room was very clean & tidy. There was a TV with a few channels to choose from & an iPod docking station. The room was cleaned daily & clean towels left, toiletries topped up to. Being English I missed my cup of tea in the morning (!!) & the coffee was drinkable but nothing brillian, the milk was powdered which was a shame.

We had a couple of drinks one afternoon in the 'saloon bar' which I think I was right in thinking was part of 'Daddy O's'.The bar staff/waitress were polite & friendly, & the food looked nice. Due to renovations (& how busy the hotel was) we didn't journey in to the other tower to see what was there.

The hotel is ideally located for Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier. There is a bus stop near by, we got the 151 one day & went to Lincoln Park Zoo which was fantastic (& amazingly, free!!). The bus cost $2.25 p/p each way, which is the same for all public transport. (We got the train from the airport which was so easy! (& $2.25). Blue line out of O'Hare to the Clark/Lake stop, then a 10min walk to the hotel. No problems!)

With regards to eating out, we tried Houlihan's which is connected by the underground walkway. Drinks were good, food was nice, fresh, reasonable & the bar staff, waitresses were all very efficient & friendly. It was a great place to go as the weather was down to -15'c & after being out walking all day it was nice to not have to brave it again!

Another place I MUST mention for breakfasts is Yolk. Absolutely fantastic. Instead of going across Michigan Ave bridge walk right out of he hotel & across the next one (Columbus), keep going to East Grand Ave then turn right & you will see it. It is amazing, great food, typical American style breakfast, pancakes, waffles, French toast & all sorts of other options. Yummy!

All in all a brilliant hotel, perfect location. Thank you Hyatt Regency for a fantastic stay :)

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your review of Hyatt Regency Chicago on TripAdvisor. It's so nice to see that you had a pleasant stay with us and were able to enjoy downtown Chicago. We hope you are able to stay with us again when renovations are complete in early April 2013. We'd love to have you back as our guest again! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 189 in Chicago
4,518 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#58 of 189 in Chicago
3,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#67 of 189 in Chicago
4,914 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chicago

Property: Hyatt Regency Chicago
Address: 151 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Chicago
#47 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#51 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Business Hotel in Chicago
#76 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 2019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the difference between a hotel and a Hyatt when you stay at our incomparable downtown hotel. Set within the epicenter of the city, our AAA Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Chicago is conveniently located in the heart of the city, connected to the Illinois Center and within minutes of the Magnificent Mile. We are excited to announce the completion of our $168 Million renovation! We are eager to show you our new welcoming lobby, engaging check-in pods and check out our three restaurant concepts and menus. Come see the completely transformed Hyatt Regency Chicago! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing