We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Nearby Hotels
The Peninsula Chicago(Chicago)
$442
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$186
$167
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$394
$297
Thompson Chicago
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$308
$269
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Kinzie Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
$221
$199
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Chicago South Loop Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$167
$134
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$229
$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$158
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Talbott Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$329
$237
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (7,281)
Filter reviews
7,281 results
Traveler rating
2,774
2,741
1,117
418
231
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,774
2,741
1,117
418
231
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswest towerbig barthe rivernavy pierhuge hotelconvention hotelmillennium parkwacker drivethe magnificent milewrigley buildingmichigan avemini barthe loopvalet parkinghigh floorart institutefitness center
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,611 - 4,616 of 7,281 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2012

With so many hotels to choose from in Chicago, the decision of where to stay can be overwhelming. This is a great place to conduct business. The rooms are nice especially the suites overlooking the river. Keep in mind this is a large hotel so the feel is very metropolitan. Walk into the lobby and you'll notice a beautiful atrium lounge area. The restaurant also centrally located serves food all day and it's quite tasty. Starbucks is also on site. The escalators from the entrance take you up to the registration desks and where you'll be assigned to one of two towers. The central location is very good, with views along the river and shopping right around the corner. If you need a multitude of conference rooms you can't go wrong at the Hyatt Regency.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

I hope you hustle your bustle back to see us soon! Thank you so much for the review of Hyatt Regency Chicago on TripAdvisor! It's so nice to hear you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our atrium lobby views and delicious dining options! We hope you choose to stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to the Windy City! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here on a mix of business and pleasure. It is a great location. This is not the place to stay for a spa kind of experience. It is also not the greatest for coducting quiet business. This is a great big hotel for high standardized quality, large conferences. I only mention that, so that one is aware of what it will feel like. Once you get that into your system. You can enjoy a host of other activities nearby, boat rides on the river, the deep dish pizzas, hard rock cafe and the park - all within walking distance (a mile or less). Overall good quality and standardized hotel with no surprises - leads to a very comfortable stay .

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, very good ones are available
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freq_Traveler_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Thank you for your review of Hyatt Regency Chicago! I'm glad you had a comfortable stay and found our downtown Chicago location to be quite accommodating to your trip. We love being in the heart of the city next to Michigan Avenue and Millennium Park. I hope you choose to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Like many other trip advisor reviewers my "review" began the moment we arrived. I am glad I waited a few days until I commented because the hotel did grow on me a bit.
For one the location is great. Easily within walking distance to many things including the Magnificent Mile, Starbucks, Corner Bakery, a small grocery store, Millenium Park, Wildberry's Pancakes and the River.
Rooms are surprisingly small and the bathrooms are really poor even though they are new in design. There is no counter space and zero storage space so your toothbrushes, etc are dangling on to the sink ledge.
We upgraded our room for the view which we really did enjoy and while it was an extra $20 it was worth it.
Gym is decent but sadly there is no pool. They do have many services on location such as hair salon, dry cleaners and store. Parking is pricey at $50+ overnight.

This is a very large hotel spread between 2 towers. We stayed in the West tower due to our view upgrade which meant that you have little interaction with the main hotel & restaurants. They do nothing to lure you over to the other tower & thats a missed opportunity for them I believe. Most times that we crossed through our lobby in the west tower there was not even a single person from the hotel to greet us or assist us. That made us question the safety issue even though there were no problems for us and you do need your room key to enter the elevator after 10:30pm.

We had great sound proofing & really thought this to be a huge benefit of the hotel until our last night when we had a couple of lovebirds rent the room next to us with a less than sound proof adjoining door.
We expected more from this hotel & with so many hotels to choose from we were somewhat disappointed. I think when you are choosing to stay in a hotel over a holiday to some degree you want to feel welcomed, wanted & important.
**I also want to mention that we checked with the front desk staff on Thanksgiving dinner upon our check-in 3 days prior to the day and they were "not sure" if a Thanksgiving meal was even being offered.

Room Tip: Go for the view!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Four Lone Stars B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at this Hyatt last year for our quick Thanksgiving day trip and we stayed at the other Hyatt on Ohio Street on the Magnificent Mile this year. Both times we booked via Hotwire and paid under 160.00 for two nights for a party of four. The service is very good and accomodations are great. I will say this Hyatt was probably my favorite of the two. The one this year, which is better for the shopping was a smaller room (they upgraded us last year just because). Tracee at the front desk was awesome when we needed assistance with the train system to get to a less than desirable location of Chicago (you can't pick where you breakdown on the highway - but it wasnt the cars fault it was the Christmas Tree that was dropped on the highway). Overall good service.

Room Tip: Our room was ok... there is a hospital a block away so I did hear sirens at night.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 81JenniferB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Thank you for your review on Hyatt Regency Chicago! I'm so glad to hear you had a great stay at our downtown Chicago hotel and enjoyed our sister property down the street, too! We love our frotn desk team and am so glad to hear you received great service. I hope you choose to stay with us again soon! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This Hyatt has a great location and we plan to return to it on our next visit to Chicago. We checked in Thanksgiving evening and encountered very helpful staff members such as Ashlee at the front desk. We had the Costco rate of $125/night. I saw another reviewer state a $65/night rate on Priceline. Compare and you'll see these prices are very good for such a great location in downtown Chicago. Our room was clean, adequate, had a partial river view and the beds were comfortable.

The location is hard to beat. Millenium Park is just four blocks away, Art Institute is at the south end of the park, Cultural Center across the street from the park. Michigan Ave. and the Water taxis are a short walk. We purchased the day bus pass and found it helpful to get to places like the Hancock Center, Macys, Chicago Theatre, quickly, but those places were within walking distance, too. Shedds is a short cab ride away. Because we were in such a great location, we were able to see a lot in a short amount of time.

If you are a business person with an expense account, the convenience of eating at the hotel will trump the cost. However, if you are visiting Chicago for a fun weekend, plan to eat away from the hotel to save some money. The food costs tend to be high-as you would find in most downtown major hotels in any city.

For example, plan to spend about $8 for a cup of coffee and a muffin at the Hyatt coffee bar. By contrast, one of Chicago's best restaurants, Wildberry Pancakes and Cafe, is just a few blocks away for a much better value. Also, a few blocks away is Giordanos Chicago-style pizza which is another good value and they deliver. A little food market, Bockwinkel's, with a deli and fresh produce, is just around the corner on Stetson St.

Please know, if you are traveling with young children, that this Hyatt does not have a pool. It is a place focused on the convention-business markets. Even on Thankgiving weekend, the Hyatt was sold out part of the weekend for a convention.

We did experience some "quirkiness" with the housekeeping staff as they geared up for clearing the rooms in anticipation of the incoming convention crowd. At 8:30 in the morning on a Saturday, hours before check-out, there was a knock at our door from housekeeping. The sole purpose of the intrusion was to verify we were checking out that morning.

Room Tip: There is a fire station on Columbus Ave. Light sleepers on lower levels might find this to be a problem.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaterfordMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for your great review of Hyatt Regency Chicago on TripAdvisor! I'm so glad to hear you had a great stay and found our location near Millennium Park, Shedd Aquarium and Michigan Avenue to be so convenient. I'll be sure to pass along your kind notes to Ashlee at the front desk. I hope you choose to stay at our downtown Chicago hotel again! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews