We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect, clean, professional, well staffed, great valet parking system”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Ranked #83 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect, clean, professional, well staffed, great valet parking system”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is the place to stay in Chicago when you want to access the real Chicago. Close to all the action and great views to boot. The professional staff is everywhere and always helpful and polite. The valet parking staff are the best as well. I'll make this hotel my go to place in the Windy one from now on.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasToddness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Great to hear you had a good time at our downtown Chicago hotel! Thank you for taking the time to review it on TripAdvisor! I'll make sure our valet staff receives the compliment. Come see us again in the Windy City soon! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,337
    2,453
    979
    367
    204
See reviews for
962
1,346
315
2,680
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,345)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Contemporary furnishings and decor, and comfy bed, well appointed room. Trendy lounge overlooking the water and the city and the atrium lobby - a cool place to hang out before dinner or after shopping. I like the check-in kiosk (this may be common in Hyatt hotels, the one in Palm Springs has one too if I remember correctly.) The hotel catered to the traveling business person (no spa on site though, that is a minus.) Great location. Sitting next to the water and within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile. The shopping and dining all within minutes. I didn't rent a car or take a cab to shopping and dining. The tour bus stop is also within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
So glad you could stay at our downtown Chicago hotel and enjoy our amenities! We love our location next to the Chicago River and steps from the Magnificent Mile and I'm glad you do, too! We hope you can come back and visit us in the Windy City again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
204 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This time , our 5th , we were kindly brought up and installed in a good (as usual) room , but on the 31st level , with a superb view to Chicago river and the Lake ,

Further to it's stupendous location , Hyatt keeps its guaranty of providing the confort of a 4 stared Hotel , with the quality of service good as usual and :

For 2 consecutive nights , Hyatt was kind enough and had the attention too receive us , after our dinners at Bella Baccino's and Catch 35, with a particullary offering of good taste delivered at our room (3112) : Champagne and Chocolate covered strawberries !

A nice gesture to add to the romance between me and Isabel (My Globe Trotter) .

The only detail that for me Hyatt keeps disregarding , is my advise to bring up to the level 0 , it´s Office Center , and keep it running 24 h/day ...

For my 6th time and Raid to Chicago , from Lisbo (Portugal) or anywhere , Hyatt Regency will , once again, be my prefference !

Congrats , if you're planning on a stay at this Hotel .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaiaGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of Hyatt Regency Chicago! I'm glad you were able to enjoy the hotel's downtown Chicago location. Come back and visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were in Chicago for three nights and found a good deal at the Hyatt. Once there, we upgraded to a terrific room on the 32 floor with a fantastic view of the river and city. Really enjoyed the hotel and the city. We were consistently amazed by the staff. For a hotel that is HUGE, every one we encountered was friendly, helpful and efficient. We requested and extra lamp for our room and it was there quickly. Even the room service dinner (we never order room service but it was raining and we were tired) was surprisingly good and delivered promptly. We loved being able to walk most everywhere and were pleased that we could take public transportation to within a few blocks of the city. It's a bit of a walk from the train stop to the hotel but we discovered that we could take a bus right in front of the hotel to the train stop on our return to the airport. (The 3-day transit pass served us well!) We would definitely return to the Hyatt next time we're in town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor! I'm so glad you were able to stay at our downtown Chicago hotel and experience our authentic hospitality. It's great to hear you took advantage of our excellent location close to Millennium Park, Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue. We love being within walking distance to all major Chicago attractions. We hope to welcome you back soon! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westport,ct
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

great location...rooms with great views to the river and Lake Michigan...I would give it 5 stars but the big fountain in the lobby stinks up the entire entrance(chlorine and stale water smell)...other than that the rooms and services were excellent

Room Tip: asked for a room with water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uatweh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of Hyatt Regency Chicago on TripAdvisor! I'm so glad to hear you had a nice stay with us and hope we can welcome you back again soon. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MN
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I'd give this 3.5 stars.

Had a room on the 31st floor for a recent convention. Room was decent with large windows. The bathroom was recently remodeled and was beautiful (quartz countertops, lighted mirror, etc.). Elevators were surprisingly fast.

Someone commented on the overpowering scent of the bath products. I agree. Even the soap was really strong.

Hotel is huge and is on 2 different blocks. I found it faster to just walk across the street than to try and navigate the skyway plus elevators/stairs. Conference rooms are a maze.

Plenty of bars to choose from. Kind of expensive, but you expect that. The Irish bar not only ran out of all IPA's but even ran out of Guinness (it was Friday night). The bar manager should be fired for that one (seriously, he should be fired). The food in the Irish bar was really good (Shepard's pie).

Taxi line was really long. Perhaps a short walk to Michigan Avenue would have been faster.

Wouldn't stay here again unless with a conference.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nogophers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had never visited Chicago before and did not know what to expect and so were we surprised how beautiful it is and the Hyatt Regency hotel in East Wacker Drive was first class. Very well situated, we were able to walk to the lake front, Navy Pier and many restaurants and coffee shops.

From check in to check out, the staff were courteous, friendly and so efficient. The location of the room was quiet.

We were allocated a stunning king size room on the 11th floor with a view of the city and river, it was truly a pleasure staying there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up overlooking the River
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise-Hermanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor of Hyatt Regency Chicago! I'm so pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and found our downtown Chicago hotel to be great! Our location is convenient to all area attractions including Navy Pier, Millennium Park and the Magnificent Mile and I'm so glad you were able to enjoy that! We look forward to welcoming you back! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#61 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,883 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#66 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,457 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#99 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chicago

Property: Hyatt Regency Chicago
Address: 151 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Chicago
#47 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#50 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Business Hotel in Chicago
#76 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 2019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the difference between a hotel and a Hyatt when you stay at our incomparable downtown hotel. Set within the epicenter of the city, our AAA Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Chicago is conveniently located in the heart of the city, connected to the Illinois Center and within minutes of the Magnificent Mile. We are excited to announce the completion of our $168 Million renovation! We are eager to show you our new welcoming lobby, engaging check-in pods and check out our three restaurant concepts and menus. Come see the completely transformed Hyatt Regency Chicago! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing